We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (5322)
360
Panoramas (4)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Earn points toward free nights.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 16 resorts in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Find historic, oceanfront luxury at Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, a Waikiki Beach. Our Honolulu, Hawaii resort is located in the heart of Waikiki near shopping, dining and entertainment. Visit Moana Lani Spa; host a wedding on our rooftop terrace or plan a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. We offer a beautiful and amenity-filled oceanfront setting right on Waikiki Beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Patio
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Hand massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.
6789Reviews159Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,410
  • 1,821
  • 800
  • 386
  • 372
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Maryam wrote a review 25 Feb
1 contribution
I’ve stayed here three times now and every time I’m more and more disappointed in this place! I asked for and reserved a quiet room one not facing the street where it’s like the Fourth of July ! $2800 for four nights for a courtyard room where I have Las Vegas inside my room instead! This is what I got when I specifically asked for a room because I’m on a business trip, and I need some peace and quiet! This is literally the last time I will stay here, I’m so disgusted by this place, its old windows have no soundproofing the walls have no soundproofing… it’s a miserable place to stay and you get to pay through the nose for that privilege!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay as far away from this place as you can! Stay anywhere else in Waikiki, except the Moana...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded yesterday
Aloha maryamees, Mahalo for your loyalty to our resort and for taking the time to leave a review. We truly regret not meeting your expectations, and we sincerely apologize for the noise disturbances you encountered in the guestroom assigned to you. We can understand your frustrations and are grateful for your patience. Feedback like yours gives us valued insight to improve our accommodations and guest experience; therefore, we appreciate your comments. We hope you will consider us again so we can provide you with the relaxing stay you deserve. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lisa J wrote a review 21 Feb
1 contribution
Perfect location for our honeymoon. The hotel has such charm and history. View from our room in the tower was breathtaking! Staff was helpful and friendly. Craig, bartender at the beach bar was the ultimate gentleman!! Be sure to check out the shops.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha lisajN6404HL, Mahalo for choosing Moana, Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach for your honeymoon. Known as the "First Lady of Waikiki," our resort opened in 1901, and we enjoy hearing from our guests about how much they love the historic architecture and convenient location. It is also nice to read you liked our well-appointed accommodations featuring spectacular views and the thoughtful service provided by our associates. We will surely share your kind compliments with our team, especially Craig, for a job well done. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return soon. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karen C wrote a review 20 Feb
1 contribution
My SO and I were upgraded to this hotel so my review comes from that perspective. We had a wonderful time! The location cannot be beat - it was so convenient coming downstairs and having the amazing ocean view and prime beach location right outside the back door. We spent a whole day just relaxing on the beach & going up to the room to change right before the sunset/dinner. Right outside the front of the hotel is lots of restaurants and shopping so it was easy to run out for a snack/lunch, etc. Plus the view from the hotel bar was amazing! The hotel had this nice scent whenever we entered. Also the man at the front desk sent us a nice welcome gift, which was much appreciated. We also liked the live music Wed-Sun both outside and in the lobby. It was fun to come back from dinner to some piano music and "dance party". The staff was really thoughtful - always inquiring if we needed anything or giving us a nice greeting. Though our bathroom was small, how much time are you really spending in the room anyway?? We had a great time at a wonderful location!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Irene wrote a review 15 Feb
Redmond, Oregon13 contributions3 helpful votes
All balconies closed. Beautiful hotel and great rooms but in Hawaii I would like to open a window. To get one of the 8 lounges w umbrella be down by the pool by 6:30am! Beach bar food sub par. Great location but the Outrigger is a better bet. Great restaurants
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Blomgrentravel, Mahalo for your review of our hotel. We are pleased your overall stay was satisfactory, and we also appreciate you mentioning that you liked our rooms and location. However, we apologize for not meeting all of your expectations with regard to the pool/beach area and for any inconvenience caused due to the lack of balcony usage during your stay. Your feedback will be shared with our team as we are continually working towards strengthening our guest experience on all levels. We hope you will revisit so we can show you our commitment to providing enriching experiences. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elizabeth P wrote a review 13 Feb
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My shower didn’t drain and the water temperature was out of whack. And despite asking to change rooms to somewhere more quiet I was still stuck listening to bad music blaring from the pool at night. Overall not a nice experience. I would not come back here for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha D5044LUelizabethp, Mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We are committed to delivering a memorable, rejuvenating experience in all aspects for our guests. Therefore, we want to extend our apologies for any frustrations caused due to noise issues you experienced while you were here. Please know our front desk associates are always available to help make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is also disappointing to learn about the inconveniences caused due to the maintenance issues you encountered during your stay. These will be addressed with the appropriate team to ensure any necessary improvements are made promptly. Mahalo once more for your patience, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance to make a better impression in the future. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CNV wrote a review 13 Feb
Carlsbad16 contributions24 helpful votes
I absolutely love the Moana Surfrider and frequented the hotel growing up. After staying here just a few days ago however, the rooms are in desperate need of updating. Our room, 455, smelled damp and dirty. We were lucky enough to be facing the courtyard which was a huge bonus, but it was pretty shocking to see carpet being used throughout a hotel room in 2024. Not only that but the carpet felt...wet. The room itself was a good size and the bed comfortable but I noticed the AC vent in the room area had black mold on it (see photo). It's kind of insane we paid what we paid to stay in a room with black mold. Of course I considered switching rooms but after reading reviews here and on other sites it seems that the rooms are just run down. For one night we grinned and beared it and made an effort to be out of the room as much as possible (easy in Waikiki). The lobby, banyan tree, poolside and beach area are magical but I do hope they keep the integrity of it the hotel when they do a remodel. As is, the room prices are sadly nowhere near worth it
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha ChanelB_11, Mahalo for your honest review and your continued patronage. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay; however, we are sorry you had some cleanliness and upkeep issues in your guestroom. We aim to exceed your expectations and go above and beyond for our guests, so we regret that was not your experience. We have shared your comments with our associates, and taken proper action to ensure any necessary improvements are made promptly to make sure we are well-poised to serve you moving forward. Again, we apologize, and we hope you will consider us whenever you return to the area in the future. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sue S wrote a review 12 Feb
1 contribution
We booked for 11 days in Waikiki in the Diamond section of hotel. We had a beautiful ocean view for our anniversary. This is the historic and oldest section. We were shocked on first night how thin the walls are and heard adjoining room guests fighting and closing bathroom doors and drawers. We also had little or no access to umbrellas and chairs at the beach this visit. The food was good but pricey. And the valet cost $65 USD a night and no self parking option. The maid and valet and restaurant service was excellent however. A major disappointment was the loud noise in the courtyard from events that continued until 10 pm. Check if events are on before booking.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check if loud events happening during your trip. Also, the rooms in diamond section not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha suesQ2219UE, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us on your anniversary. While we are glad you loved the views from your guestroom, we regret not meeting all your expectations during this visit. We hope you will accept our apologies for the noise disturbances that impacted your comfort. While we know this cannot change your recent experience with us, please know for future visits our front desk is available at any hour to help make you as comfortable as possible. We are grateful for your valuable feedback and hope you will consider giving us another chance to prove we are up to the task of delivering a seamless, outstanding stay you deserve as a repeat guest. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lande H wrote a review 12 Feb
8 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel and staff were great and friendly. The location was great as well. Only problem I had was we had 3 rooms ocean front suites with balconies. This room upgrade is about $400 per room per night. It was so worth it if we had access to balconies. Unfortunately, all the balconies were locked off for maintenance. That is understandable but the reimbursement of $100/night per room was a rip. We lost $900/ night in their policy. The $100 wasn't even $100. It was approximately $60 in hotel credit only plus the taxes equaling $100. They didn’t say that until checkout leaving even a larger balance. When I questioned the policy the clerk simply said he hears that complaint every day so I should just move on. Might never stay at a Westin again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha lande H, We are committed to providing our guests with a fulfilling stay; therefore, we are disappointed to learn we did not meet your expectations and regret your dissatisfaction with the refund issued. We will address your comments with the appropriate individuals, and mahalo for your patience during this time. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michelle M wrote a review 9 Feb
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Worst experience ever. Booked 3 oceanview rooms. Only 1 available on check in. No options provided except stay at another hotel. No apologises. "Customer Service' manager dreadful. One hour at checkin and only result was for us to call their central number. Great way to ruin a trip ....
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha K8849KVmichellem, Mahalo for being our guest and for reaching out with your concerns. We deeply apologize for not being able to provide the number of accommodations as per your reservation. We completely understand your frustration and the inconvenience this caused you. We are also sorry if this was not handled well by our associates. However, we can confirm this is not a normal occurrence for us, as we try to honor all reservations to the best of our ability. Mahalo again for your valuable feedback and, most importantly, your patience. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to welcome you all for a seamless experience. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
C Arias wrote a review 7 Feb
Los Angeles, California2 contributions
As always wonderful stay in Paradise! Roxanne, Manager made our stay memorable and ensure that we are well taken care of. We spent our Birthdays here and Disney Aulani yearly as my best friend and I brought our kids with us. Perfect place if you have toddlers. Beach front and walking distance to shops and restaurants. My favorite is their breakfast at the Terrace. I definitely recommend and will come back maybe sooner that next year! :) - Christel Arias
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: They provide beach chairs if you go to the hut early
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha macarias30, Mahalo for the fantastic review. We are grateful for your kind words and for being such loyal guests to our resort. We take great satisfaction in providing an exceptional stay for our guests filled with Hawaiian hospitality, and we appreciate you recognizing our efforts. Mahalo for mentioning how much you enjoyed our attentive service, distinctive culinary offerings, and beautiful beachfront location. It was our pleasure hosting you and your friend's families' again, and all of us at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach look forward to welcoming you all back soon. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Honolulu area.
PRICE RANGE
₹35,649 - ₹45,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moana surfrider, a westin hotel honolulu, moana surfrider, a westin resort and spa, westin moana surfrider, moana surfrider westin resort, westin honolulu, honolulu westin
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
791
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOANA SURFRIDER, A WESTIN RESORT & SPA, WAIKIKI BEACH (Oahu, Hawaii) - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Nearby attractions include International Market Place (0.2 km), Saint Augustine by-the-Sea (0.5 km), and Rock-A-Hula (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tempura Kiki, Ramen Akatsuki, and STRIPSTEAK Waikiki.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach have airport transportation?
Yes, Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.