We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

Save
Share
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
20 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
$530
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Booking.com
$517
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
$467
View deal
Hotels.com$530
Westin.com$537
travelup.com$588
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5030)
360
Panoramas (4)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#44 of 94 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, a Waikiki Beach a resort in Honolulu, Hawaii located in the heart of Waikiki near shopping, dining and entertainment. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. We offer a beautiful and amenity-filled oceanfront luxury setting right on Waikiki Beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Paid public parking nearby
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
6633Reviews154Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,337
  • 1,800
  • 768
  • 372
  • 356
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Wander590413 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
We really enjoyed the service. I recommend the tower building, had a great view of the ocean and Diamond head. Centrally located easy to walk to most of Waikiki sites, plus easy access to the beach. The staff was always friendly and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JDSoui wrote a review Feb 2022
Princeville, Hawaii6290 contributions14528 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Had a pleasant work dinner with a colleague. The setting is fabulous as the location is immediately on the beach. The sausage sandwich, onion rings and fries were uniquely seasoned. The ambiance is welcoming especially in the late afternoon to see the sunset. Would suggest a visit to dine here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Enjoy the bar area adjacent to the beach and ocean
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
42 Helpful votes3 Reposts
Helpful
Share
Mayzie C wrote a review Jan 2023
We had a pleasant time at this hotel from the time we arrived , being greeted by the bellman, up to our room attendant (Ruth Miller), who is very attentive & caring to our needs without any hesitations, she made our stay feel at home, away from home. Our checkout was easy with Josh at the front desk who is detailed oriented reviewing the final invoice with us patiently & engaging in meaningful conversations which sealed the deal that Moan Westin Surfrider is now one of our favourite hotel in Waikiki, Hawaii. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Hydration Centre in common area’s & activity sheet for hotel & Waikiki
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded yesterday
Aloha 443mayziec, Mahalo for sharing your feedback with fellow online travelers regarding your visit to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach. We appreciate your generous compliments, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our associates are committed to providing intuitive and thoughtful service in the true Hawaiian spirit, and mahalo for recognizing all that they do. We will enjoy sharing your kind compliments with them, especially Ruth and Josh. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CassieF480 wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
We’ve stayed at this hotel three times now and love the ambiance and location on the beach. However, during our most recent stay (heading home today), we were not as impressed. We only intermittently had hot water in our room in the tower building and the tub barely drained. There was dark sludge that came out of drain when I filled the bathtub for our daughter. The room was otherwise fine and we did like that the crib for our one year old fit in the bathroom so she’d have quiet and dark to sleep. As others have said, the pool is far too small for the hotel. The hotel charges an exorbitant amount of money to rent an umbrella or daybed and it’s difficult to get a chair around the pool. On the day that we sat at the pool, we “reserved” chairs as everyone seems to do. Unfortunately, the day we secured chairs the hotel decided to enforce its “policy” of not leaving chairs unattended for more than an hour despite not doing so many other days when chairs sat unattended for hours at a time. We lost our two chairs and there was no shade for our one year old daughter. I understand the need for a policy but there needs to be consistent enforcement then. The pool attendant was very unhelpful and argued with me about whether my sandals were called “slippers” or sandals when I asked for them back. The housekeeping and front desk staff were wonderful! They were all very helpful. Overall, we felt gouged by the price of umbrella rentals and food and drinks at this hotel. A grilled cheese sandwich for children is $18 when every restaurant charges $10-12 for the same thing. Unfortunately, we just don’t feel the ambiance made up for it this trip. It was very loud in our room from the restaurant next door until about 11pm. We won’t likely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha CassieF480, Mahalo for your evaluation of our hotel. We are so pleased you came back to see us, and we appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our beautiful architecture and Hawaiian hospitality. We are also glad you found our unbeatable beachfront location to be perfect for your plans. However, we are sorry your stay was interrupted by maintenance issues with your bathroom. We will address this appropriately, and we appreciate you letting us know. We also regret your disappointment with our pool policy and understand the frustration it caused. We are grateful for each of your comments as we continually strive to strengthen our guest experience. We are also sorry for the noise disturbances during your stay. While we know this cannot change your recent experience with us, please know for future visits our front desk is available at any hour to help make you as comfortable as possible. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to show you our devotion to meaningful and enriching experiences. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate Z wrote a review Jan 2023
5 contributions
The beach bar barman were consistently rude and dismissive. Not friendly. One example: when i Returned an expensive gin and tonic because the tonic was flat - i received no apology - they couldn't care less! Basically made the replacement as if it was my problem. So disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha 390katez, First and foremost, mahalo for your evaluation. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the unpleasant service you received from our associates at the beach bar. We are known for our friendly, seamless service, and we regret this was not your experience. We have escalated your concerns appropriately to ensure such instances are not repeated in the future. We are grateful for your patience and hope you will allow us another opportunity to regain your trust on your next visit to Waikiki Beach. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen W wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1) Upon arrival we were not given our room we booked last year. Basically, they gave our room to someone else and offered nothing for us. Said they were 96% full. 2) We were never able to use the pool. They allowed people to place towels on chairs and they would not show up till later in the day. So needless to say we paid $42 resort fee everyday for nothing. 3) Our view from our room was a tent with homeless people. Waking us up in the middle of the night with their dog barking and yelling. 4) Came on here to celebrate 35 years of marriage and was the worst hotel experience ever!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha facsallie2000, Mahalo for choosing our hotel for your visit to the area. We apologize that the room type you requested was not available, and we regret the inconvenience this caused. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate individuals to ensure this is not repeated. We are also sorry that you were unable to use our pool during your stay, and we value all other feedback and the frustration it caused. Our associates want to help each guest have the elevated and revitalizing stay they deserve. We regret not exceeding your expectations, and we hope we will have the opportunity to assist you on your next visit and help to make your stay more meaningful and enriching. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin W wrote a review Jan 2023
Memphis, Tennessee3 contributions2 helpful votes
The pool is impossible to use. Gave us a queen room when we booked a king 6 months in advance. A homeless camp is on the beach in our oceanfront view. A dog in the camp woke us up at 4:30 am barking. You cannot make this stuff up.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha J3447ASkevinw, Mahalo for choosing us and for taking the time to post your review. We apologize that the room type you requested was not available, and we regret the inconvenience this caused. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate individuals to ensure this is not repeated. We are also sorry that you were unable to use our pool during your stay, and we value all other feedback and the frustration and it caused. We have shared your observations appropriately and taken appropriate action. While we know that this stay did not meet all of your expectations, we are hopeful for another opportunity to welcome you back for the flawless experience you deserve. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan G wrote a review Jan 2023
Baileys Crossroads, Virginia23 contributions30 helpful votes
This resort is located directly on the beach in Waikiki. We had a fabulous week long stay! Although it does cost $85 extra to reserve two beach chairs and an umbrella daily, we had no issue getting reservations daily for the next day and food and beverage service at the chairs was prompt and friendly. It’s a renovated old hotel that’s large but easy to navigate. We had a beautiful partial ocean view on the 18th floor with gorgeous sunset views. We had the option to upgrade for free two days into our stay (with Ambassador status) to a room with a view of Diamond Head that was becoming available but we loved our room and view so opted to stay in it. Housekeeping service was prompt in the morning each day and left plenty of towels and amenities. The resort is also directly on Kalakaua Ave - the main shopping and dining strip in Waikiki - so it’s highly convenient to walk many places. Great shops are nearby including all the usual nice brands plus many surf/swimwear brands and the resort is directly across from International Marketplace, an outdoor multi-level mall including car rentals. The only slight negative to the resort is that it only has one tiny pool and the chairs are reserved with people laying towels on them early each morning by 6:30am. But we weren’t planning to use the pool as we preferred to sit on the beach and look out at the ocean. Delicious poke and other treats are on the menu at the resort’s The Beach Bar restaurant. Highly recommend this resort if you want to be beachfront and walk to shops and dining!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tyler G wrote a review Jan 2023
Shawn at Concierge is PHENOMENAL! I missed my excursion one day and Shawn was able to get me on the next one free of charge. Shawn if you’re reading this THANK YOU! I wish you the best in your life endeavors!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Talk to Shawn for the best recommendations, need help with anything, or just want to plain out...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha tylergN9100PI, Mahalo for choosing the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach and for your fantastic review. We seek to provide authentic, thoughtful service, and it is always pleasing to learn that it is making a difference. We will share your generous comments with Shawn, and thank him personally for the work that he is doing daily. It was a pleasure hosting your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kappa Alpha Theta wrote a review Jan 2023
Vernon, Texas50 contributions50 helpful votes
I’ve traveled to Honolulu 3 times and have been looking forward to staying in this beautiful hotel. Original rooms don’t have balconies so we picked the tower. Room was very nice. Loved the yoga, spa and beach. You do have to book chairs and umbrellas unless you just want to hang out in the sand. Perfect location to shopping and restaurants. I will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Be sure and book beach chairs a day in advance.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Kappaalphatheta, Mahalo for staying with us at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach and for your gracious review. We are glad you enjoyed our unbeatable beachfront location just steps from the breathtaking shores of Waikiki beach and within walking distance of Honolulu's most beloved shopping, dining and entertainment attractions. We also want to extend our gratitude for your generous compliments about how much you enjoyed our refreshing and rejuvenating accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$397 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moana surfrider, a westin hotel honolulu, moana surfrider, a westin resort and spa, westin moana surfrider, moana surfrider westin resort, westin honolulu, honolulu westin
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
791
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOANA SURFRIDER, A WESTIN RESORT & SPA, WAIKIKI BEACH (Oahu, Hawaii) - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Nearby attractions include Saint Augustine by-the-Sea (0.5 km), Mai Tai Bar at Royal Hawaiian Hotel (0.2 km), and Snorkel Manu Kai - Manu Kai Catamaran (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include STRIPSTEAK Waikiki, Island Vintage Shave Ice, and Maguro Spot.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iolani Palace (4.7 km), Shangri La (3.9 km), and Queen Emma Summer Palace (6.7 km).
Does Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.