We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
150 Kapahulu Ave Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$249
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Expedia.com
$254
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Trip.com
$219
View deal
Hotels.com$254
Travelocity$254
Agoda.com$307
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (856)
Room & Suite (373)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#21 of 93 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel and mini-refrigerator. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Walking tours
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese, Korean
1483Reviews95Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,006
  • 318
  • 87
  • 34
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Leslie T wrote a review 17 Nov
1 contribution
We arrived to find we had been upgraded to a corner suite on the 8th floor. The views from our room were priceless. The ocean was on one side and Diamond Head on the other. The restaurant was wonderful and the coffee shop was a wonderful way to start each morning. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was clean and safe.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Aloha leslietK9534SI, Thank you for staying with us here at the Queen Kapi'olani hotel and for sharing your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our rooms with views of Diamond Head and convenient location. Glad to hear that our team members provided you with warm and friendly service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great stay! Warmest Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Summer Rose wrote a review Oct 2022
Maui, Hawaii517 contributions167 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
I stayed at the Queen Kapiolani after an inter-island flight to connect to my flight back to the mainland the following day, so it was strictly one evening and not for tourist purposes. That being said it has a nice location on the famed Waikiki strip. I requested an ocean view, but after experiencing the view I would opt for a mountain Diamond Head view—the hotel sits at a spectacular location to view unique Diamond Head (visible from the restaurant), whereas the ocean view is much farther from the beach because it is across the street. When I visited, during the pandemic, the hotel was being used as extra lodging for the military, so there were many military families as well as many large dogs. I love dogs, but some people are sensitive to them so this should be noted. The only issue I had was with parking. The deal I booked included valet parking, valued at over $50/night. This was the sole reason I rented a car instead of using taxi/rideshare to-from airport. When I arrived they told me valet was full (as the hotel was at capacity with the military lodging) and I could park across the street at the zoo public parking. As a female solo traveler, I did not feel comfortable parking alone across the street. Both valet and reception told me they were full, but I was pleased the manager made an exception and accommodated my vehicle, which I very much appreciated and made my entire stay. This hotel is quite old and has been redone; it has I believe over approx 20 stories and I was on the top floor. Shortly after checking in the fire alarm went off and an automated voice instructed us to evacuate the building, which had to be done by stairs. I don’t know how often this happens, but as I made my way down 16+ flights of stairs (and back up after as there was an enormous line for the one functioning elevator), I noticed several elderly guests will mobility concerns having issues; something to be aware of if you have concerns with stairs as it could happen again. My favorite part of the hotel was the historical elements they added in the art and design around the hotel, it was lovely. I would return to this hotel, but would not suggest parking a car here in case valet is full. There are about 3 different ABC stores in close walking distance with plenty of food items, as well as a variety of restaurants. They also sell dole whip at one of the shops off the lobby area which was a nice surprise.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid valet parking due to their limited availability, and book a Mountain View!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Responded 4 Oct 2022
Aloha thetipsymermaid, Thank you for staying with us at the Queen Kapi'olani Hotel and for sharing your valued feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you loved our hotel design and convenience location. We apologize that you had parking issue at our hotel during your stay. Your comments will be shared with the management team for future improvements. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future for a more enjoyable stay. Mahalo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Foodforlife16 wrote a review 9 Nov
6 contributions8 helpful votes
I just spent two weeks at this amazing hotel! The staff were just the best! So helpful and accomodating….everything was very easy! Our rooms view was of Diamond Head…it was just magical. Can’t wait to return. Thank you Queen Kapiolani
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Foodforlife16, Thank you for staying with us here at the Queen Kapi'olani hotel and for sharing your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our rooms with views of Diamond Head and convenient location. Glad to hear that our team members provided you with warm and friendly service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great stay! Warmest Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kippandersen wrote a review 2 Nov
Sunshine Coast, Australia1 contribution
Good lord , where do I start , right from check in Jeris at front counter set the bar for Aloha !!! Early check in - helpful - local tips for what and where , let’s not forget Angela , also front counter and same amount of Aloha , for our first tip to this hotel it ticked every box we could imagine and will def be coming back here , my wife and I have walked the Waikiki strip checked other hotels out and our hearts keep falling back to the Queen Kapiolani for position / staff / friendliness and vibe we have met like minded crew here around the pool ITS BEEN AWESOME , oh let’s not forget the valet guys , absolute legends , if I had to say anything negative it’s you get some traffic noise , but come on !!! It’s not enough to ruin your trip , pros def out weigh the cons , double thumbs up here
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Kippandersen, Thank you for staying with us here at the Queen Kapi'olani hotel and for sharing your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our rooms with views of Diamond Head and convenient location. Glad to hear that our team members provided you with warm and friendly service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great stay! Warmest Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ken S wrote a review Oct 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii
I've been in the hotel industry in Waikiki for 25+ years and known about this property the entire time but never stayed over or even seen a room for that matter. Last month, my wife and I planned a staycation In Waikiki. My wife heard about recent renovations at the Queen Kapiolani and wanted to stay there. I had my mind on other newer properties. In the end, my wife won and we decided to stay at the Queen Kapiolani. But if I'm being honest I had my doubts. As I arrived at the valet entrance, it was extremely busy, but was immediately greeted and did not have to wait at all. These guys knew what they were doing and couldn't of be friendlier or more professional. I then proceeded to the front desk. I was checked in by Theresa. Again, very professional, friendly with a sincere smile. I couldn't have asked for better interaction. Now it was time to go to our room. As I opened the door I was immediately blown away by the direct view of Diamond Head. You could tell the room was recently updated and renovated. Very clean and has everything you would expect in a hotel room. But the view of Diamond Head and Kapiolani park directly in front of us, Waikiki Beach to the right, and the mountains to the left was a million-dollar view. This hotel had one of the best views hand down of all of Waikiki. Any reservations I had about staying here were immediately gone. Everything from the extremely friendly & helpful hotel staff, to the clean room and common areas ( kudos to the Housekeeping department on a good well done) to the amazing view. This staycation had become one of my favorite memories and I was glad my wife wanted to stay here. We will return for another staycation!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha Miramar2345, Thank you for staying with us here at the Queen Kapi'olani hotel and for sharing your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our rooms with views of Diamond Head and convenient location. Glad to hear that our team members provided you with warm and friendly service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great stay! Warmest Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanna E wrote a review Oct 2022
Dania Beach, Florida195 contributions121 helpful votes
This hotel is an older hotel in a prime location on Waikiki Beach near Queens Beach. Their staff was very friendly and accommodating. The pool and The Deck restaurant on the 3rd floor have a perfect view of Diamond Head. The Deck had good food, friendly staff and with a view. The rooms are basic and comfortable. I loved the Dole pineapple ice cream served in one of the shops there. Thank you for everything! You guys did a fantastic job! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Aloha SuzannaE, Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved the view of Diamond Head and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed convenient location. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another great stay! Warmest Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo H wrote a review Oct 2022
Paris, Kentucky15 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a fantastic room. 10th floor overlooking Diamond Head and the beach. I loved my space. The beds were super comfy. The parking attendants were super nice and concerned about my driving alone around the island. The lack of a microwave was an issue, but I dealt with it. I loved the fact it's at the end of the strip and overlooked the zoo. It was much quieter than up the strip. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Balcony view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Aloha 714joh Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Queen Kapi'olani hotel and for sharing your valued feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and loved our views of Diamond Head and convenient location with attractions nearby. Glad to hear that our team members provided you with warm and friendly service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great stay! Warmest Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
B0b_UK999 wrote a review Oct 2022
West Midlands, United Kingdom47 contributions56 helpful votes
This is the strangest Trip Advisor review I have ever written in relation to the Queen Kapiolani Hotel. There are many positive things I could write in relation to the hotel, but I am not going to mention one. What I intend to do is share my experience with other potential customers and warn them of, in my perception the sharp practices owners/management use when you book via the internet. None of these observations are aimed at any members of the staff, as before there are many positive things I could mention, but I am not going to mention one. So, to assist any potential customers who are thinking of booking I will explain how to find the pictures provided from hotel’s web site and two photographs I have taken to support the information below. Firstly, you will notice when you come to view the range of rooms on their website, under the Rooms menu option there is only Junior Suites displayed, strange as for most people this is their first port of call. To view the rooms, you must enter dates on the booking section and then view them moving you into the booking process from the viewing process. The room that was booked for me and on my invoice, by Virgin Holidays (VH) was the “Premier Ocean View Balcony, King”. The agent from VH had phoned me to confirm if this was ok, whilst on the phone I was on the Queen Kapiolani Hotel website talking and viewing the pictures at the same time. I agreed to the booking of this room and the associated costs. When I arrived at the hotel I booked in and was told that I had an Ocean/City View, I explained to the person on the desk and showed the information supplied by VH for this purpose. I was told there were none of these rooms available. Also, that our room was not ready yet, so I placed our luggage in a secure store, went out for something to eat and drink, we had approximately 3hrs to wait, I was aware of this in fact I was quite glad during this period I contacted the VH Reps in the USA by WhatsApp. Sadly, I had no reply from the VH Reps, as it was the start of the build-up to Hurricane Ian reaching land in Florida. Again, when I went to check-in, I challenged the room type and once again I was told there was nonavailability. We had no choice but to accept the room offered. Now to the most import part the pictures I cannot use any of the pictures on TripAdvisor website from the Queen Kapiolani Hotel website due to copyright, of the room layout and views to be provided. Please open another browser visit the Queen Kapiolani Hotel website, into the booking section - enter any dates - you will then be shown a list of room options - scroll down until you find - “Premier Ocean View Balcony, King” then click into it. Further pictures are provided if you click into the black box in the bottom right-hand corner. The last two photographs I took in our room – see if you can spot the difference. ANY PERSON WHO IS BOOKING VIA THE WEBSITE, WHAT YOU SEE MAY NOT BE WHAT YOU GET. This is not me getting mixed up on the website and mistakenly selecting the wrong rooms, this booking was made by VH holiday consultants, then the information logged onto their corporate software. I will let you formulate your own opinions, if this hotel was in the UK I would be straight onto the regulatory body who deals with this sort of misrepresentation. This is the politest way I can phrase it. Now over to the Owners/Management of the Queen Kapiolani Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Responded 17 Oct 2022
Aloha B0b_UK999, Thank you for staying with us at the Queen Kapi'olani Hotel and for sharing your valued feedback. We apologize that the Hotel was not up to your standards and we appreciate your feedback regarding the Hotel. Your comments will be shared with the management team for future improvements. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future for a more enjoyable stay. Mahalo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy G wrote a review Oct 2022
7 contributions
I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed this hotel. Beautifully decorated and clean, with an amazing view of Diamond Head. The hotel offered every amenity we needed and the staff in every area of the hotel were over the top friendly and helpful! The location of this hotel is ideal. It's at the end of Waikiki beach, half a block from the beach, and across the street from the zoo. The hotel restaurant, Deck, has a great view and the most amazing french toast you'll ever eat! There is also a great beach cafe, Barefoot Beach Cafe, a short 8 minute walk from the hotel. They have amazing affordable food, live music, and a great ambiance. It was also a great place to watch the sunset and the Friday night fireworks.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were in 611 which has a great Diamond Head View and partial ocean view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Responded 17 Oct 2022
Aloha amygL8589HQ, Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy to hear that you loved the view of Diamond Head. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another great stay! Warmest Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KalenaWong wrote a review Oct 2022
Oakland, California196 contributions13 helpful votes
We came to Honolulu to attend a family wedding and wanted a place that was convenient, reasonably priced as well as having a refrigerator in the room, a great fitness center and great service! This hotel fits the bill and has many amenities. First of all, I see it as an Aloha style hotel, meaning the service is friendly and attentive and when we arrived for check-in, the staff gave each of us a complimentary ice cold can of Hawaiian drink like strawberry guava or guava. Pluses are: 1) Complimentary ice cold can of Hawaiian drink 2) Elevators, rooms and fitness center is accessible with your room key. 3) Complimentary yoga, surf lessons, hula, running, and lei-making classes with sign up at front desk 4) 24 hour spacious fitness center on 2nd floor with water filling station, towels, sanitizing wipes, stability balls, kettle bells, mats, free weights, bosu balls, medicine balls, yoga blocks, and a variety of machines as well as a separate area of laminate flooring for exercise classes, etc. 5) Deck. on 3rd floor offers breakfast, lunch and dinner with a beautiful view, reservations a must. 6) Pet and family friendly 7) Pool in 3rd floor, small but adequate 8) A couple blocks from the beach 9) Right across from the Honolulu Zoo 10) Spacious 2nd floor and lobby areas for hanging out, getting together with friends or doing work on your laptop. There's even a big screen tv and microwave located on 2nd floor near the fitness center and business center. 11) 2 Complimentary Queen Kapiolani Hotel reusable water bottles in room to use and keep as a souvenir. Extras are $10 each. Minuses are: 1) Lack of parking so we didn't rent a car and used uber and walked. 2) Room was clean but small. We had a city view on the 14th floor, a few steps away from the elevator with two queen beds and a tiny bathroom. But we made do with 3 people. You could hear cars and sirens from our room. We would come back here again because of the service and all the pluses.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Responded 17 Oct 2022
Aloha KalenaWong, Thank you for staying with us at the Queen Kapi'olani Hotel and for sharing your valued feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you loved the location of our hotel and loved Aloha spirit service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another great stay! Mahalo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$226 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
queen kapiolani honolulu, queen kapiolani hotel, hotel queen kapiolani
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
315
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QUEEN KAPIOLANI HOTEL (Oahu, Hawaii) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Queen Kapiolani Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Beach (0.2 km), The Magical Mystery Show at Hilton Waikiki Beach (0.4 km), and Saint Augustine by-the-Sea (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Queen Kapiolani Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Queen Kapiolani Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Queen Kapiolani Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Queen Kapiolani Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Queen Kapiolani Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Momosan Waikiki, Morimoto Asia Waikiki, and d.k Steak House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Queen Kapiolani Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Queen Kapiolani Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Queen Kapiolani Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Queen Kapiolani Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to Queen Kapiolani Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (4.9 km), Iolani Palace (5.5 km), and Shangri La (3.2 km).