We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ilima Hotel

Show Prices
#29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ilima Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

891 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ilima Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 642: English reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I stayed here for a week in August 2016, in a "deluxe studio" room. The Ilima may only be rated as a 2.5-star hotel but the room amenities outshine those of many 4-star hotels while only costing half the price. You get a kitchen with a proper fridge, cooker, microwave oven, space to prepare food and a table to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smoky_Kenton
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks so much for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the accommodations, amenities and staff and that our location suited your needs. We strive to provide service in the true Aloha spirit and are glad that we achieved this goal. We hope you will tell your...

Santa Clarita, California
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Room was clean and a nice size. Great view from the balcony! Local to beach, food and shopping. The immediate area isn't the greatest so I don't recommend leaving too late at night by yourself... But there's a pool and hot tub that looked fairly clean. It's free parking but make sure you talk to the staff and get something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roblizana
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff gave you service in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki. Phil Sammer, GM

North Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Hotel was booked for us by TripMasters. We stayed overnight, in order to catch flight to Maui next day. It is located in busy part of Honolulu and walking distance to Waikiki Beach. Easy check-in, staff was friendly. Above rate paid to TripMaster, we paid an additional $15.00 "resort fee". We had been warned that most hotels now charge such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha. Thanks for taking time to write about your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that you were pleased with our accommodations and staff and hope that you will tell your friends about us. We look forward to welcoming you again to sunny Waikiki! Phil Sammer, GM

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 8 August 2016

My friends and I came to Honolulu and stayed at a different hotel for the first 3 nights. As soon as we walked in everything was wrong. There were 4 of us with 2 single beds and 2 cots because our pull out queen bed was broken. Our keys kept getting deactivated and it just seemed like they didn't know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that our accommodations and amenities met your needs and that the staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki. Phil...

Waterford, Michigan
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We were only spending one night before starting our cruise so we didn't need anything fancy or expensive. The hotel has some age on it to be sure which felt a little odd for such a large structure. Our room was surprisingly large compared to most modern hotels. The kitchenette was a nice convenience but had the feel of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We're glad that you were generally satisfied with your experience but regret that certain aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations. We make every effort to assure a comfortable and welcoming environment for all guests and will certainly address your areas of concern....

Reviewed 2 August 2016

This hotel is dated and tired, but the rooms and lobby are kept very clean. The rooms are very spacious and the beds reasonable. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help. The swimming pool is on the small size, but when you are as close as you are to Waikiki beach, who needs a swimming pool right!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloah, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and amenities and that our staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki! Phil Sammer,...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

The Ilima was a more affordable option compared to the hotels closer to Waikiki. It was okay - pretty dated but mostly clean. I gave it 3 stars for a couple of reasons: Firstly, I was told I had paid in full before arriving and was hit with a $15 a day amenities fee. This was not in any correspondence...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eaf23
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at the 'Ilima. We are very disappointed that your experience was less than satisfactory in some regards. We always strive to deliver excellent service in the true Aloha spirit and appear to have not achieved this standard. We appreciate your remarks and will address those areas of your stay...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The room was tired and dated but clean and spacious. You get what you pay for. The location was good as it was a quick walk to the main area but far enough away to be less busy and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was not very appealing but the beach is not far away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiri R
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you found value in our location as well as in your accommodations and that the staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and we look forward to welcoming you again at 'Ilima...

Aguada, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Loved this hotel clean big rooms just like a apartment full kitchen even thought it said kitchenette, staff was great, is located near the canal, but is just a couple of blocks near Waikiki beach and the Main Street where all the action takes place, it has a pool, parking space, near bus stop. I recommend it. Near the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jafet815418
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that our staff, accommodations, amenities and location suited your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide the best vacation experience in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 7 July 2016

A tired old place... needs paint, and some touch-up. The Hotel is quiet and in a good location for dining... Not close to the beach, by any means. But near most of the Waikiki shopping. Large room with kitchenette is a plus! Good Wi-Fi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rickra
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to write about your recent stay at 'Ilima. I'm sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. We are progressively renovating the rooms and will soon be addressing the issues you mentioned. We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities we offer and hope that you will consider staying at 'Ilima again on a...

620 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (363)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio (40)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (45)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Superior Studio (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,335 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
2,411 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,728 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 11,503 - ₹ 26,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ilima Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Ilima Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“high floor facing to mountain and canal for great view”
 of 5 bubbles 565anhh, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Highest room have ocean views, parking will run out so don't be late.”
 of 5 bubbles lawrencel814, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Ala Mona canal may be better.”
 of 5 bubbles donk826, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms sited to channel might be quiter”
 of 5 bubbles Argyro_Koukoula, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great staff, great location, spacious rooms”
 of 5 bubbles zsuzsi0507, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay