We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aston Waikiki Sunset

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Aston Waikiki Sunset
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset
See the most recent reviews
Showing 969: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Great location away from noise and bright lights but still within walking distance to all that's needed. Views from rooms were impressive. The rooms, lifts, lobby and facilities are old & tired, but still clean and safe. Staff should try to smile more and be a tad friendlier especially as this is often a tourist's first impression. The housekeeping ladies... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 206Caryn
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha 206Caryn, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and views during your stay. We sincerely apologize about your room move and for that uncommon experience. We will share your comments with our team and connect with them on the issues you mentioned to ensure that they are addressed.... More 

Camdenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We had a one bedroom ocean view suite that was more than adequate for our few days in Waikiki .. Place was very clean, bed and pillow comfy enough to get good sleep. Shower had good pressure. Having the full kitchen was nice so we could have coffee on the small lanai in the mornings. It was pretty obvious that... More 

Helpful?
Thank llsylvester
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha llsylvester, Mahalo for taking the time to share with our readers about your stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the location and serviced you received. Please contact us directly when you are ready to stay at our property. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and were delighted with our room 2413. It had two bedrooms - perfect for the two grandchildren and their grandparents. We loved the views of Diamond Head from our balcony. We had no problems with timing of lifts - incredible considering the size of the place. It is ideally located - a short walk... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki L
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Vicki L, Mahalo for taking the time to share with our readers about your stay. It’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the location, view and amenities our hotel can offer. I hope you and your family appreciated the unobstructed view of Diamond Head in our 2 bedroom suite. It’s nice to know that your expectations... More 

North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for my little girls birthday in September, I'm gonna start with the things I liked about the hotel... Pros; *Location is good views are great from high floors *Housekeeping was very friendly accommodating and helpful *The full kitchen I loved *Check-in was fast and easy Cons; *1st room I was moved to had a horrible fishy stench,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashey L
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Ashley L, Mahalo for your honest feedback during your stay! I'm sorry to hear that overall it wasn't a pleasant one. It sounds like we tried our best to accommodate your request regarding your room and sorry to hear that you were not happy with the outcome. I will also be sure to share your comments with our vendor... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Extremely disappointed in this location. Knowing how hard it is to get a room that sleeps 4 adults (2 parents, 2 teenagers) we specifically booked the Aston because it had a 2bedroom/3bed configuration. After a verbal and written confirmation that our room would have 3 separate beds, we arrived to 2 beds... rung reception and were told that room configuration... More 

Helpful?
Thank stansterclan
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha stansterclan, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I do want to apologize on our part regarding your bedding request. We try our best to accommodate all of our bedding request. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you the following day during your stay. Thank you again for letting us know about... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I loved my 1 bedroom apartment on the 24th floor. Full kitchen and living area. Nice bathroom. I've got the door code access by email, rented a car at the airport, parked in the covered parking and went to my apartment directly. Perfect!

Helpful?
2 Thank MarianB5
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha MarianB5, Even though you stayed with a private unit not with Aston Waikiki Sunset we appreciate your feedback. All guests enjoy what a condo style hotel can offer including the spacious room and kitchen amenities. We offer full service to our guests along with the great location and convenient parking. We hope the next time you and your family... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It's not a dump, but it's not three stars either. The lobby and public spaces lack character or design. The rooms are adequate and utilitarian, but really need a refresh. Our room felt a little “cheap”, the appliances are low quality and don't work that well, low quality utensils. One of the kitchen knives was so dull we couldn’t cut... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne2_11
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Cheyenne2_11, Thank you for honest feedback regarding your stay. We are working with the Building Association on a lobby and public area renovation to enhance the property. I will also share your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping regarding the items in the room. We want to improve our services and for all our guests. Thank you again for... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The only reason I gave it a 2 and not a 1 is because the staff is very friendly. Our room had major filth between the fridge and wall and old nasty food chunks between the stove and wall. I can deal with out dated but when I looked under the beds and find trash and candy and a thick... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevinl05
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha kevinl05, Thank you sharing your concerns on your stay with us. I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the service you received. I have forwarded your comments to our Director of Housekeeping and our Front Office Manager to assist with the training of our staff to provide a better experience to our guests. Again, we... More 

Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

No frills, great location! Two blocks off the busy main street, which you will be thankful for! Easy walk to Waikiki & shops nearby to grab quick eats or nominal things like sunscreen or a quick pre-made sandwhich. Rooms are dated but fulfill their purpose...a good nightś sleep after long days on the Island! If you are looking for VALUE,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tclearyn3
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha tclearyn3, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and the service you received. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback especially for other guests that can visit our property. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your... More 

blacklick, ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Great staff . Pretty decor . Close to waiki beach and all it has to offer . Convenient safe parking . Nice cookware . Beautiful view of diamond head . Nice pool . Nice convenient store . Great family place . Nice guests too .

Helpful?
Thank 35monica
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha 35monica, Thank you so much for your positive comments and scores on our friendly service, location and your overall experience with us! Many our guests take advantage of the convenience of our location, amenities and our service. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Mahalo! More 

764 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (727)
Viewed
Room/Suite (183)
Viewed
View from Room (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (285)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
3,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
1,196 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 13,705 - ₹ 24,819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Honolulu, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aston Waikiki Sunset staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Aston Waikiki Sunset staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hi floors30to 37”
 of 5 bubbles haynaulka, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The views are great from the higher floors, but the lifts are a little slow.”
 of 5 bubbles 289jennil, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“good luck, not sure there are any”
 of 5 bubbles GPB11M, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles denjam46, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good if you are wanting your own cooking facilities”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay