We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Coconut Waikiki Hotel

Show Prices
#24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Coconut Waikiki Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,158: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when a storm was blowing through Waikiki. I booked a mountain view room specifically because other reviewers said they were quieter than the city-facing ones. Unfortunately, the wind was coming from the mountains, and it shook the glass on the sliding doors all night. It sounded like someone was trying to get in. As a result, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank SkyeTraveler
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Skyetraveler, A very warm greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel!! We thank you for providing us your feedback on your recent stay. While we never want to hear that someone’s stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. We... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This Hotel was everything that we expected it to be, and more! We travelled to Honolulu over the Christmas holidays. We booked this hotel based on very positive reviews and also the price for our stay! The complimentaty breakfast also came in handy as well. (Unfortunately waffles aren't served anymore but it really wasn't a huge loss!) We loved the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle R
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Janelle R, A very warm and lovely greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We are delighted to receive your beautiful feedback in-regards to your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read beautiful feedback from our valued guests, thus; we are glad that we met with your expectation during your stay. Indeed, our... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

A recent change of ownership from Best Western to Joie de Vivre means that service and amenities are no longer what we expected. When we reserved our room (under the Best Western name) we were assured a typical Best Western breakfast - waffles, eggs, toast, cereal. Sadly, what we got was nothing like that. We were offered cold hard-boiled eggs,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jwheat43
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Jwheat43, A very warm greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel!! We thank you for providing us your feedback on your recent stay. While we never want to hear that someone’s stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. We... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel is well situated. Not far from main street and beach. Staff is nice but not at the standard of 5 stars hotel. Some training should be done to improve this aspect. They have upgraded us to the Penthouse without asking. Which is very nice and was greatly appreciated.

Helpful?
Thank Sylvian_R
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Sylvian_R, A very warm and lovely greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We are delighted to receive your beautiful feedback in-regards to your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read constructive feedback from our valued guests, thus; we are glad to be only 5 minutes from the main street and 10 minutes... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Chose this hotel as it seemed well located and reasonaby priced for a short stop to break up our trip back to Australia from USA. Our room was on the top floor and was extremely tiny and cramped. Yes it did have air conditioning but it was so noisy there was no possibility of sleep. It was located in the... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Smithy013
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Smithy013, A very warm greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel!! We thank you for providing us your feedback on your recent stay here with us. While we never want to hear that someone’s stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve... More 

Sheffield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights over christmas and new year. Check in was fast and efficient & the staff were very friendly. Our first room, #602 was a very small double - when there were 2 people in the room + suitcases, it was impossible to move around. We went to reception to ask to change rooms. The receptionist... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katchik2208
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Katchik2208, A very warm and lovely greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We are delighted to receive your beautiful feedback in-regards to your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read beautiful feedback from our valued guests, thus; we are glad that we met with your expectation during your stay. Indeed, our staff... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel is decent, but only that. From previous reviews we had higher expectations. Rooms are small. Tight, but efficient- for 2 people ok; for a family, not much space for anything. Kitchen is a fridge and some plates and small micro. Rooms have been redone, but are not being maintained. The carpet is already filthy and while searching for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mjgmb
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MJGMB, Thank you for your honest feedback from your recent stay at Coconut Waikiki Hotel!. It is disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and will share your feedback with our management so that we may explore ways to enhance our offerings. I can assure that your feedback is valued and that we take this... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We only stayed for one night during a layover but our experience was wonderful. After a long flight to Honolulu we were greeted by the the front desk staff in such a welcoming manner. The room was clean and very comfortable. Our view from the balcony was not the greatest but it was still a nice place to enjoy our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hitch77, A very warm and lovely greeting from the entire team at Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We thank you for beautiful feedback in-regards to your 1 night stay with us. It is great to hear that your layover here was fantastic. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit to Hawaii, thus; we were able to meet up... More 

Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The Coconut in Honolulu is an older hotel but recently renovated. The location is good for the price and within walking distance of everything in Waikiki. Everything was in working condition and we really had nothing to complain about in our room (except that we had a view of other buildings but we were hardly ever there so it didn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ina S
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ina S, A very warm greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel!! We thank you for providing us your feedback in-regards to your stay here with us. While we never want to hear that someone’s stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to... More 

1,188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (791)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (124)
Viewed
View from Room (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (222)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (266)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (378)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
City View Room (99)
Viewed
Coconut Waikiki Executive Suite (36)
Viewed
Coconut Waikiki Two Bedroom Penthouse (87)
Viewed
Pool (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,243 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
1,881 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
2,173 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable blend of warmth and simplistic design, our hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully warm lobby and the following complimentary amenities: Continental Breakfast WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast is available for all guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel

Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2436
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 11,858 - ₹ 20,632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coconut Waikiki Hotel staff and other travellers.
62 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (62)

Questions? Get answers from Coconut Waikiki Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a canal room for the view”
 of 5 bubbles margaretm508, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'm sure any balcony view would offer an anytime glimpse of paradise”
 of 5 bubbles BlondieAV, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a corner room overlooking the pool, and we liked it. It's a city so it's not going to be very quiet if thats what you're looking for.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Spend bit more and find better place to say and enjoy”
 of 5 bubbles jashoka, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best view is looking to canal.”
 of 5 bubbles gordonr545, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay