We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for White Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 544: English reviews
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel was somewhat dated, but nice people and a great value in Honolulu. It was near the International Market, the upscale shops, Margaritaville restaurant/bar, and Waikiki Beach. The flowers and shrubs give you an idea of what to see around the island and tiki idols in the courtyard were a nice touch! Books and games available on the deck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IWantToLiveOnIslands
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha IWanToLiveOnIslands, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on your vacation. I appreciate you mentioned Aqua White Sands is a value hotel in Honolulu. And you enjoyed our pool, flowers and shrubs, tiki idols and books and games on the deck. Your comments are very important to us and will be used to improve our...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel to stay at for a great price. The rooms have kitchen areas with all utensils and such included. It's in a great location, tons of access to the bus stops. I stayed for 3 nights and would go back again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KassieKay
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. It has been an honor and a pleasure to have you as our Valued guest. Please know that your feedback is very important to us, and it will be a tool as we make changes to enhance the guest experience. We at Aqua White Sands Hotel appreciate...

Lyon, France
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for a few days in August at the White Sands and spent a really pleasant time there. The staff is friendly and always smiling. Cristina welcomed us the first day and made us feel comfortable for our first time in Hawaii. The team there knows the area very well and always recommends the best places!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa G
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Melissa, Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience at the Aqua White Sands Hotel. I am glad that you complimented our staff, especially Cristina who provided good services to you, and I will acknowledge their efforts to make you have a pleasant stay in Hawaii. You also mentioned you enjoyed our great, quiet...

Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

The staff at the White Sands were friendly and helpful. We were given a free upgrade on arrival and the room was clean and large with a comfortable bed and nice en suite. The pool and spa area was excellent but the location of the hotel was best of all just a short stroll to markets, shopping and dining.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Keith T
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Keith T, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your upgraded room which was clean and large with a comfortable bed . You also liked our great location. I appreciate you mentioned our friendly and helpful staff, I will pass the message to them...

Reviewed 4 September 2013

A 3 star hotel. There is NO internet in the rooms ! they charge for internet in the lobby. Come on America you can do better than that. Good location. Easy walk to the beach, shops, public transport, food court & restaurants. Starting to show its age. There are better places for less $ within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zimbotravel
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Zimbotravel, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you liked our good location: convenient to the beach, restaurants. We are in the process of upgrading our internet. When you visit us again, we will have a better internet services. We appreciate your comments...

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2013

we stayed at this hotel for a week and really enjoyed our time there. the hotel is a low rise, which lended to the ambiance for us. the only drawback is that there is no elevator. we had a room overlooking the pool and were very surprised at how quiet it was, especially at night. the room decor is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tessa R
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Tessa R, Mahalo for taking the time to write about your experiences with us on Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that you complimented on our super friendly staff, especially ChristieAnn and the housekeeper, I will pass on the message to them and acknowledge their efforts in providing good services . I am also...

Oxnard, California
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were looking into budget hotels in Waikiki and thought that this one would be a good deal. Checking in was fine and the location was pretty good. The room was horrible, very run down. I didn't even want to open the blinds because the view was so horrible and creepy, looking into an alleyway. I wanted to check out...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Catherine C
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Catherine C, Thank you for taking the time to write your experiences. I am sorry to hear that we did not achieve your expectations. I sincerely apologize if you felt some of our staff was not helpful during your stay. I will personally remind them of the importance of the guest services in the hospitality industry, and I make...

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed there for 12 days. The hotel isn't in a big building, which is pleasant, because kind of easier and faster to go out than big resort. It's a cosy place, with a nice yard with swimming pool. Although it's not beach front, it's pretty much in the center of Waikiki, that means a good location to go anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lyochka
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Lyochko, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We truly value your patronage and appreciate your comments. I am pleased to hear that you complimented on our good location, nice yard with swimming pool. You also mentioned our friendly team members at the reception. I will pass this message to them and acknowledge their efforts...

Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel had a pool - bonus The rooms had air conditioning - bonus There was no WI-FI - not great The rooms were a bit dated - depends if that bothers you. The staff were very nice, and very helpful. Good hotel in a good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dandeireland
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Dandeireland, Thank you for posting your comments. It is always helpful to have this kind of feedback so that we can address our guests concerns as we strive to improve the quality of your stay at our property. I am glad to hear that you complimented on our hotel’s good location, air conditioning and pool. You also mentioned about...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here on our last night in HL, as a departure hotel. Had we known what it was like, we wouldn't have booked. Yes, it's "cheaper" for Waikiki in terms of rack rates, however if you were to walk into another better hotel or looked at last minute deals, you'd have got a far nicer room for a very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Halfie02
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha halfie 02, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences with us on Tripadvisor. We at Aqua White Sands greatly value your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you complimented our service was fine, our pool was fine and the room was quiet. Your comments are very important to us and will be used...

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (88)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Studio with City Views (23)
Viewed
Studio with Pool Views (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
376 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,593 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
1,851 reviews
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
1,159 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast Available
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 8,385 - ₹ 12,839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Sands Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from White Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Poolside may be a bit quieter and you might just get the wifi there”
 of 5 bubbles sandmaitken, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try to ask for pool view and lower levels (as no lift available)”
 of 5 bubbles marianl821, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can handle stairs, get the second floor on the corner.”
 of 5 bubbles OceanBoulevard, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pool view room is best”
 of 5 bubbles pally1070, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light Sleeper or Noise Sensitive DO NOT get room 236 or near entrance to building.”
 of 5 bubbles 527AnneB527, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5