We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622
E-mail hotel
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$247
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Booking.com
$240
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
$183
View deal
Hotels.com$247
Official Site$251
Trip.com$288
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (87)
Room & Suite (83)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#23 of 95 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We’re taking you back to a golden bygone era cloaked in hazy memories. Here, at the last of the vintage walk-up hotels, you can connect with your own visions of Hawaii right in the middle of Waikiki. So, come and tap into the Kuhio Avenue “Heyday” culture of the early 70s. Kick back with swaying palms, mai tais around the pool, and remodeled rooms with lanais and cool island colors. Rinse your sandy feet off in our outdoor shower. As you fall into the rhythm of the island, you’ll feel the tropical fever that captivated the world. The newly renovated White Sands Hotel joins understated elegance with vibrant Hawaiian style, so you can experience the essence of old Waikiki without sacrificing the comfort and convenience of modern times.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Public wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
255Reviews8Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 178
  • 47
  • 12
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Misty M wrote a review Yesterday
Honolulu, Hawaii1 contribution
Stopped by Heyday restaurant in White Sands hotel and the dinner was amazing! I heard that the chef here won the James Beard award and it shows!! Mason made me the best Mai Tai I’ve had here too! The ambiance is perfect for Waikiki. I will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carolyn K wrote a review Jun 2022
San Juan Capistrano, California10 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I booked a 3-night stay via a discount travel website. Took a chance, based on the cute photos. Turns out, they do not do this place justice. It's a sweet oasis in the middle of all the action of Honolulu. The decor is mid-century, a tiki vibe with lots of unique little touches. But the White Sands lacks nothing where modern conveniences are concerned. Each day you can check out beach chairst, boogie boards, etc., and take a short walk straight over to the beach. Super easy. We did that and after a day of fun and sun, with all the people crowding the beach, it was fantastic to enter the friendly confines of this oasis of a hotel. Soft Hawaiian music, and occasional jazz fills the background. There's a restaurant (Hey Day) and a bar with craft cocktails and yummy food. Bartendars were professional and knew how to make a good drink. Everything about this place made us want to come back even before we left. Little things, like the awesome hot tub tucked away in a lava stone cove, away from the pool area. The koi pond. The tiki torches and ambient lighting. Somehow, they managed to make the atmosphere at the pool suitable for families ( couple with babies) and singles, couples, all at the same time. Just an excellent, chill, mellow vibe all around.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 108. Poolside double. Sit ouside our sliding door/patio and enjoy a drink or coffee while...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at White Sands Hotel
Responded 11 Jun 2022
Aloha 179carolynk, Mahalo for staying at the White Sands Hotel and giving us a great review! We greatly appreciate your feedback on our hidden gem! We love to hear that your stay went great! We constantly strive to provide guests with a wonderful experience, so please don’t hesitate to contact us if there is anything else that we can improve on. Your comments have been shared to our team and we hope to see you again soon! Mahalo nui loa, White Sands Hotel Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen G wrote a review 4 Jan
Bay Area, Ca37 contributions29 helpful votes
The White Sands took us in when there was an emergency & we had nowhere else to go. Nohonani St was closed for police activity & our hotel next door only has one entrance, so we couldn't get back in. Lucky for us the White Sands has TWO entrances/exits so we were able to wait out a good portion of the 12-hour standoff at the BEST bar on Oahu. I think our bartender’s name was Mason (apologies if that's wrong) & he made amazing cocktails, the best we had the entire week (trust me, we went to every hotel bar on Waikiki). It was the first bar on the island I was able to get drunk at… all the other resorts/bars served overpriced, mediocre giggle-water. Order their Rum’s the Word - perfection in a glass! Since we were there for a long time, we also tried numerous dishes off the food menu, again, all delicious. The best part of our refugee stay was by far the staff. Our bartender was very understanding & went above & beyond the normal duties of a bartender. He inquired about any available rooms for us in case we couldn’t make it back. We didn’t even ask, he just did it! Wade Takano, operations manager, was also so nice; allowing us to stay, use the bathroom, providing updates, etc. Yes, we were buying drinks/food the entire time, but they could have asked us to leave since we weren’t guests of the hotel. Instead, they choose to be understanding & accommodating in an unusual situation & for that, I'm forever grateful. I know exactly where I’m staying the next time I go to Oahu!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
globetrotterrr wrote a review 3 Jan
San Diego, California54 contributions91 helpful votes
This hotel is awesome! It is super cute and charming. It is an older property, so know that if you are the type that cannot handle an older property and its quirks. I found it a great alternative to the Marriotts and Hilton corporate hotels that tend to be crowded with lots of people and slow elevators. This is a breath of fresh air! Yes, you have to walk up stairs to get to the second and third floors but I didn't find that a problem. My views were not great from my balcony but that is fine I knew that going in and was not there for the pool or ocean view. The beach is a short walk and you can get chairs and boogie boards at the front desk included in your resort fee. I loved that they have a great bar and restaurant on property and they shut it down at 9-930 pm so that their guests can get some sleep, I loved that. Food and beverages were top notch, we loved the cocktails! The live music was always fun - the vibe was great at night. Be aware that on certain Sundays they have a pool party that takes over the pool area from afternoon to early evening but we were informed at check in so we took that day to drive around to other areas of Oahu and enjoy the island. My room was super cute and clean - housekeeping will clean your room once in seven days and that was just fine with me. You can always change out your towels whenever you need to. I loved the kitchenette, it was perfect for making your own breakfast and coffee in the room. WIFI works great. The housekeeping staff is wonderful and very friendly. The whole staff we met, from the front desk to the bartenders were all super nice and made us feel at home. I loved that split AC - you can really control it and it worked really well, better than most hotel HVAC systems. The ceiling fan was also a great touch you don't usually see in most hotels. The room had everything I needed, I had a desk so that I could get work done and there is also an in room safe. I had no issues with my bathroom, it was great to have all that counter space and the shower is small but we never had an issue with it, it was perfectly functional. The large closet was a plus! As for the safety issues you see in other reviews, there is a slightly sketchy hotel next door to the property but we never felt unsafe, it is mostly people that are hanging out in front of the dive bar in that hotel minding their own business. We would walk by at all hours to get to Kuhio Ave and it was never a bad vibe, just big city life. Waikiki is part of a large metropolitan area. Parking is tricky- you need to reserve it when checking in. They do direct you to a lot across the street at the same price if they don't have parking for you so parking is not a problem, just reserve it if you need it when you arrive. If you are looking for a sweet hotel that feels less corporate and more charming and old Hawaii you will love it at at White Sands! I cannot wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Reserve parking at check in if you need it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marc Avery J wrote a review Dec 2022
Seattle, Washington6 contributions
Checked in for a short trip from Seattle for New Year’s in Honolulu. Was drawn to the hotel as it is an old school walk-up Tiki style with an amazing bar and pool area. Kudos to the awesome staff—we sat at the bar in swings all night till close. Shout out to amazing bartender Mason (pictured below), Jordan & Dakota. The bar is everything.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sarah wrote a review Dec 2022
Seattle, Washington7 contributions2 helpful votes
The White Sands is a charming and updated 1960’s hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Well maintained, with cute pool area. EXCELLENT RESTAURANT/BAR called “Hey Day.” But… it sounded like there were jackhammers coming from every side of the property during the day. I’d planned to work remotely from my room for part of each day. Impossible with the noise nearby. To be clear, the noise isn’t on property, rather, a stone’s throw from the rooms. Would’ve loved to get some sun at the pool but it was so very loud. Hotel should give out earplugs. I had to buy resort passes each day to nearby hotels to get some quiet and help my migraine die down after morning jackhammers. The noises is only during the day—10 to 4—but that eliminates pool time. All that said, the room was comfortable and I loved the set up of the hotel. If you are immune compromised or Covid cautious, this could be a great hotel option with open air check in, terraces on each hotel room, and each room with a separate A/C. I will definitely be back after the neighbors quiet down.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at White Sands Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2022
Aloha Sarahsurfs777, Mahalo for staying at the White Sands Hotel and giving us your review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had experienced with the construction noise. Thank you for your recommendation for the earplugs! It'd be a great amenity for guests to have in case a situation like that arises again. We are glad you loved HeyDay and the hotel "vibe"! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we have shared your comments with our management team. If you have time, please contact us to share your concerns directly with us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Mahalo nui loa, White Sands Hotel Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanna wrote a review Dec 2022
Calgary, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
I made a reservation at this hotel through Booking.com with free cancellation option. The hotel charged a deposit (almost $190) for the first night, which I expected as it was mentioned in the policies. My plans changed and I later canceled the reservation and now the hotel is unresponsive and is not refunding me the money. It’s been many days already. I don’t recommend doing any business with this property.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at White Sands Hotel
Responded 14 Dec 2022
Aloha AhaBe, Thank you for reaching out to us and we are truly sorry that there was a delay with your deposit refund. We try our best to assist pre-arrival requests and cancellations in a timely manner. I hope that we have already resolved this issue, however, if we haven't, please feel free to email talktous@whitesandshotel.com and we can assist further. Mahalo, White Sands Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ariant wrote a review Dec 2022
monterey1 contribution
I booked this hotel on the Costco travel site. It's was supposed to be boutique small hotel. First of all it's on a very sketchy side street. Lobby and pool area with bar is nice. First night we were checked in on third floor . Being tired from trip we four went to bed around 10pm. At 1 am we are awakened with a large group of people migrating to one room across from us laughing and being loud . They were having some kind of after party. Now our room was next to the door that leads outside so that door kept slamming from those people in and out. The hotel claims they have security. Well he must of been asleep that night. The hotel claims that fines will be issued if anyone smokes In the room . All the rooms half about an inch and half gap opening on bottom of doors so along with being awake to this mess we also had smoke coming in our rooms. Awful. We didn't call security because we can hear their conversations and we didn't know if they would find out that it was us. The party finally ended at 3 am At 7am I and my adult daughter marched downstairs to lobby to complain We got a "I'm sorry" and a 50.00 credit. They moved us to second floor The second day on second floor we start hearing a man singing in his shower ( rooms are very old and bathrooms are smaller than a closet with old rusty metal vents back to back with next door bathroom And mold on the walls) Anyways at 1 am that morning this man was drunker than drunk and was making loud funny noises and yelling. We tried to call front desk with our room phone twice but the phone doesn't work so we had to use our cell phone. Security was there within 2 minutes. Next day we are getting ready for dinner and a cockroach big as a fifty cent piece roams in our door from the big gap under doors. The hallway doors are unlocked and open all the time and non hotel guest can just let themselves on along with mice and cockroaches. I could not sleep at night after all that. On our seventh night I spotted a baby cockroach on the wall near my bed. Carpet is dirty and sticky. Just awful I will never book through Costco ever again and will never stay at White Sands again. I have been to Hawaii over 20 times Our 8 night stay was $2400.00 Motel 6 would of been better.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at White Sands Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2022
Aloha Ariant, Mahalo for staying at the White Sands Hotel and giving us an honest review. We are sorry about the lapse in service that you experienced. We are committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness, comfort and strive to provide to our guest a wonderful experience. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of having to move rooms due to guests being too loud. We do have security at night and we will be speaking to them about what our nightly routines are for making sure the noise levels are low. Bugs and rodents in the room is not acceptable as we do hold ourselves accountable to the highest cleaning standards. We want to let you know we do have pest control on a regular basis to try and uphold that standard as much as possible. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we have shared your comments with our management team. If you have time, please contact us to share your concerns directly with us. Please accept our apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Mahalo nui loa, White Sands Hotel Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
melissa k wrote a review Nov 2022
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions3 helpful votes
I loved my stay here and would 100% return! We had a double twin room with a pool view. The room was a bit dated but absolutely fine, very comfortable. The view from the balcony of the garden and pool was great. They only clean your room once in a 7 day stay but you can request new towels etc if needed. The pool and bar area is amazing. I spent a few very lazy afternoons on a sun lounger drinking margaritas, it was the best! I actually returned to the bar even after we had checked out as I liked it so much. The location was excellent, easy walking distance to the beach and everything else in Waikiki. I honestly couldnt fault the place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at White Sands Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2022
Aloha Melissak161, Mahalo for staying at the White Sands Hotel and giving us a great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and delighted that you enjoy your stay. We're glad HeyDay and the pool made your experience more enjoyable! We constantly strive to provide guests with a wonderful experience, so please don’t hesitate to contact us if there is anything else that we can improve on. Your comments to our team and we hope you see you again soon! Mahalo nui loa, White Sands Hotel Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BurntBuns wrote a review Nov 2022
Texas22 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
White Sands hosted a welcome reception for 40+ wedding guests. Bartenders Zach, Mason, Dakota, Jordan and Chef Luis knocked it out of the park. The pool and bar area is beautiful, the drinks and food are da bomb and the staff genuinely cares!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t let the rough exterior fool you. Limited off-street parking is available. The gate closes...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at White Sands Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2022
Aloha BurntBuns, Mahalo for staying at the White Sands Hotel and giving us a great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and delighted that you enjoy your stay. Our restaurant staff are indeed the best! We will let them know they all did amazing! We constantly strive to provide guests with a wonderful experience, so please don’t hesitate to contact us if there is anything else that we can improve on. Your comments to our team and we hope you see you again soon! Mahalo nui loa, White Sands Hotel Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$223 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Celebrity Resorts Waikiki
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WHITE SANDS HOTEL (Oahu, Hawaii) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about White Sands Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to White Sands Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Sunset Cruise with Live DJ (0.4 km), Waikiki Beach Walk (0.4 km), and Rock-A-Hula (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at White Sands Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at White Sands Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at White Sands Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at White Sands Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to White Sands Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include STRIPSTEAK Waikiki, Island Vintage Shave Ice, and Maguro Spot.
Are there opportunities to exercise at White Sands Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at White Sands Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to White Sands Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iolani Palace (4.5 km), Shangri La (4.1 km), and Queen Emma Summer Palace (6.3 km).
Does White Sands Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.