We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3662
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Tis The Season-$100Credit
Expedia.com
$339
View deal
Hotels.com
$339
View deal
Trip.com
$320
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/23
Booking.com$332
Travelocity$339
Priceline$387
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1536)
Room & Suite (714)
Pool & Beach (201)

About

#50 of 95 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa is located on Waikiki Beach directly facing one of the most renowned surf spots in the world, Queens. The Waikiki hotel offers 1,310 newly renovated guest rooms and suites with private lanai (balconies) providing iconic views of Diamond Head and the ocean. Other amenities include Waikiki's newest rooftop restaurant Queensbreak Waikiki featuring the best in Pacific Rim cuisine, fresh breakfast buffet at Kuhio Beach Grill; Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and d.k Steak House; Arancino di Mare Italian Restaurant; offering live Hawaiian entertainment nightly; two Starbucks; Royal Kaila Spa; a surf school; two swimming pools; 10-person whirlpool; 3,000 sq. ft. 24-hour fitness center; business center with 24-hour Internet access; high-speed and wireless Internet access throughout the resort’s guest rooms and public spaces; shops and boutiques; and Hawaiian cultural activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Boating
Canoeing
Hiking
Snorkelling
Aerobics
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Filipino, Japanese and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Tis The Season-$100Credit
1966Reviews185Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 735
  • 729
  • 327
  • 93
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Min N wrote a review 22 Jan
Sydney, Australia64 contributions21 helpful votes
I have stayed here many times as booked by my employer, however I decided to splash the extra money and stay here on my private vacation. The hotel is in a great location, it is clean, the amenities are generous, the staff are kind and warm and the decor is very modern (especially for HNL). Will stay again and again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JDSoui wrote a review Jul 2022
Princeville, Hawaii6275 contributions14473 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Had a fabulous work trip over 8 days at the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The attendant on the 33rd floor, when seen, was friendly and always welcoming and asking if anything else was needed. Upon checking in an amenity gift was given. When a wall outlet didn’t work an engineer brought up a power strip to work in 5 min. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom and showers modern. Have future business trips scheduled to Honolulu and would stay there again. Kudos to the team.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Top floor away from elevators.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
28 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Waikiki Beach Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Responded 22 Jul 2022
@JDSoui We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your business trip and stay with us. Thank you so much for letting us know about our staff member on the 33rd floor - we'll make sure they are acknowledge. Also, we'll be sending kudos to our entire team on your behalf. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Honolulu.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ernie G wrote a review 21 Jan
Southern California1 contribution
This hotel used to be a standard for me for business travel to Honolulu. However, this hotel, along with Marriott as a brand, has been losing any shine it may have had pre-COVID. As my business travel has picked back-up, this property made it very obvious that status is no longer a differentiator for selecting a hotel especially as it comes to business. Despite being a long-term high status member, apparently no amenities are offered as a standard on bookings to this hotel. No breakfast, no upgrades, no water and no service yet they in-ashamedly add a $50 resort fee for things that are already part of what-used-to-be status amenities and supposed extras that you will never use. It is obvious that they are trying to make up for lost revenue that they lost over COVOD by charging for every little thing that they can imagine. The passive-aggressive attitude a la “white lotus” is very apparent as I inquire about services that they once offered that no longer offer or now charge a nominal fee for in addition to their top-of-the-market rates. Even their concierge lounge is gone, so, keep that in mind as you look for a place to book your business trips to. I do hope this so-called “resort” re-evaluates there business model and that other properties take advantage of this predicament that the Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort finds themselves in. As for me, I will definitely be looking to reassess Marriott as my go-to brand as they seem to be dropping the ball in just about ever west-coast city that I have been to in the last year (2022).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha EGin212, Mahalo for taking the time to show us your concern and we appreciate your loyalty to our brand. We apologize for the issues you endured during your time with us and for your status being not valued by our team. We are also sorry for your disappointment with the lack of advantage of our amenities and regret the service issues you endured during your time with us. We will share all your remarks with the appropriate individuals to ensure a better guest experience going forward. We are grateful for your patience and hope you will return for the flawless experience you deserve. With warm aloha, Brian Supanich Director of Rooms - Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janette L wrote a review 15 Jan
Alpine, California12 contributions3 helpful votes
The room and view were nice and so was the front desk staff and housekeeping. But my biggest problems with this hotel is the atrocious parking garage that fills up so quickly because a car rental company has the first couple of floors reserved for their cars. IF you’re lucky enough to get a parking spot, you don’t want to leave to go get food away from the super expensive touristy area or to go to North Shore or shopping for fear there won’t be a spot when you come back. The parking problems alone would stop me from coming back to this hotel. But the unjustified “resort fee” sealed the deal for me because there are ZERO resort amenities provided, not even water, beach chairs or umbrella. The hot tub is always packed, as are the tiny pools. This hotel is overpriced for what little you get.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Janette L, Mahalo for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the courteous service provided by our front desk and housekeeping associates and that you loved the excellent view from your room. However, we genuinely regret the inconvenience you experienced with the lack of parking spaces. Please know you can notify our front desk on your next visit, and we will be happy to assist you with this situation. We also regret not meeting some of your expectations. We are grateful for your patience and value your feedback as we continually strive to improve our overall guest experience. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance the next time you visit the area. With warm aloha, Brian Supanich Director of Rooms - Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karen f wrote a review 13 Jan
Los Angeles, California36 contributions49 helpful votes
KASANDRA!!!! WAY to go! She is the front desk manager at the Waikiki Beach Marriott and what a manager she is. Kind, compassionate, considerate of her guests. We were traveling during December and needed a hotel room. We had a flight cancellation and decided the Marriott would be a great hotel to spend the unexpected time. We were greeted by KASANDRA who was so genuine and accommodating. She got us our room even though we did not have a reservation, no problem for KASANDRA. We were booked and credited on our Marriott points. WOW!!! We can't thank her enough for her attention to detail and keeping the customer first. Way to Go! May you all be greeted by this amazing manager,KASANDRA!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Alohga av8nka, Mahalo for being our guest at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa and sharing your experience. We are sorry you were stranded at the airport due to flight cancellation, but we are glad our hotel was able to turn a difficult situation into a pleasant one with our exceptional hospitality. We appreciate you recognizing Kasandra for her efforts, and we will surely share your compliments with her. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to your return visit. With warm aloha, Brian Supanich Director of Rooms - Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ab Initio wrote a review 9 Jan
Orinda, California86 contributions90 helpful votes
This Marriott is in a prime location across the street from Waikiki beach. The building is old, but the rooms have clearly received an overhaul making them brighter than classic Marriott hotels. The rooms have a nice look and feel and the bed was excellent. While I really wanted to like this hotel, there was much not to like. ROOMS: The hotel consists of two towers which are aligned perpendicular to the beach. This means that despite what the hotel claims there are no real “ocean front” rooms. All have a balcony on the long side of the building, which is parallel to the side streets, not the beach. If you are close to the ocean this gives you a very nice view, but if you are far away, there is not much view. Sadly, this hotel pushes the exaggeration of room categories to the limit. A “premium ocean view” room, which I booked, is actually in the second tower which is set back further from the beach than the first tower and has therefore only a wedge of an ocean view, assuming you can get a high enough floor. To have a real ocean view, you need to be in the Kealohilani tower, which is closest to the ocean. That requires you to upgrade to what the hotel calls “ocean front” SERVICE: The other problem with this hotel is that it charges premium rates, comparable to high end luxury properties on Hawaii, but provides none of the services. As an example, our room had no drinking glasses or cups. Plastic cups were available “upon request” . Towels are thin and do not give you the feeling of luxury that one would expect when paying close to $1K per night. Trying to get someone on the phone (front desk, housekeeping, etc.) requires multiple attempts as most of the time nobody picks up the phone. Finally, the mandatory resort fee ($50) is nothing more than a scam. It includes little that you are likely to use, and does not provide even what it says. We sat for two hours at the pool and received zero service (not even water), even though the resort fee supposedly provides you with pool service. NOISE: because of the old windows and room doors, there is a considerable amount of noise, coming from the pool deck below and from the street. We could also overhear every conversation in the hallway.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to get a very high floor. Noise from the street and pool desk is pretty intense on the ocean...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Ab_Initio, Mahalo for the review and for staying with us. We apologize for the room you were in did not meet your expectations and for the noise concerns you endured during your time with us. We understand the inconvenience this caused you and will share your feedback with the appropriate individuals as we always look for ways to improve. We are also sorry for the issues you encountered with our associates and regret your disappointment with our amenities. Please know these will be addressed, and we are grateful for your patience. We hope you will give us another chance to show you our commitment to exceptional experiences on a future visit. With warm aloha, Brian Supanich Director of Rooms - Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OzFlyer01 wrote a review 6 Jan
Melbourne, Australia17 contributions22 helpful votes
Stayed for 6 nights over Christmas. Delayed flight arrived into Honolulu around 11am and when I switched my phone on a room ready message popped up. Much appreciated after a 2 hour flight delay from Australia. I'll mention I'm Platinum Elite with Bonvoy so that would have helped I'm sure with the early check in. This is a great hotel. My room was located on the 22nd floor in the K tower. I had great view of Waikiki beach and the front pool which helped as you could see if or when sun beds were free. Continental Breakfast was my choice of amenity and the selection of fruit, juices, yoghurt and breakfast breads were terrific. Cereals were all sugar loaded so I brought my own muesli. You could upgrade to the Full Buffet for I think $17.00. I didn't bother as I'm a lite breakfast kinda guy. The restaurant staff were amazing. On a couple of mornings there was a line but you never waited more than 10 mins in my experience. I spent my 6 days tanning at the front pool as it was better for sun bed availability and also got more sun. The Adult pool was busy and hard to get a sun bed also didn't have as much sun as front pool. Hotel Gym is great and well equipped. All in all a great stay and after several years of staying at other Sheraton properties in Waikiki I'm glad I tried this hotel and will make this my Hawaiian home away from home moving forward. All staff I encountered at this hotel were friendly and very welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: K Tower Rooms have abetter view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha OzFlyer01, First, we want to say mahalo for being a Marriott Bonvoy member, and for choosing Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa. It is wonderful to read that we exceeded all your expectations and that you especially enjoyed the sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean. Mahalo also for mentioning our devoted associates and their outstanding service throughout your visit. We loved having you as our guest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. With warm aloha, Brian Supanich Director of Rooms - Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jmeumd wrote a review 2 Jan
New York City, New York12 contributions4 helpful votes
Pros: The hotel is in Hawaii. Cons: Pretty much everything else. To call this a resort is a complete mischaracterization. The pools are way too small for the number of rooms, making it impossible to get even two chairs together if you arrive after 8:30am. The food at the pool is okay at best. But the biggest issue, and perhaps one that needs to be reported to the FTC, is that this hotel is not beachfront. It is across the street from the beach, and there are no chairs or umbrellas included. We paid over $600/night (not including the resort fee…) which was highway robbery. Will never stay here again, and will rethink my Bonvoy affiliation - Hilton and Hyatt would be better off with my business.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t pay more than $200/night for this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha jmeumd, Mahalo for being our guest and taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and that our amenities are not up to your satisfaction. We certainly understand your frustration and are grateful for your patience. Additionally, we appreciate your sentiments about pricing and that we take careful consideration to be competitively priced for our area. Your feedback is essential as we continually focus on advancing our guest experience. With that being said, we appreciate your positive feedback. While we know that this stay did not meet all of your expectations, we are hopeful for another opportunity to welcome you back for the flawless experience you deserve. With warm aloha, Brian Supanich Director of Rooms - Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MREUS wrote a review Dec 2022
Naples, Florida19 contributions15 helpful votes
Greeted with no bell person to take luggage. Had to search for one. Then waited in the Elite line 30 minutes to check in which had only two associates checking people in. The regular line was 10% the length and had 3 associates checking in people. Resort fee is a rip off. Very rare Bonvoy Ambassador Status means nothing here. Do yourself a favor and go to they Hyatt Regency. They have people waiting to take your luggage, logically staffed check in, and recognize your status along with having superior service. The Hyatt’s oceanfront rooms have balconies that actually face directly at the ocean…the Marriott hotel has “oceanfront” rooms with balconies facing left (looking at the neighboring hotel) and right - not actually facing the ocean. I won’t let this hotel ruin my memorable Hawaiian moments again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book ODD numbered rooms to avoid facing the neighboring hotel for ALL rooms in the Kealohilani...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Mreus, Mahalo for being a Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador Elite member and for the review. Thoughtful and attentive service is a top priority; therefore, we would like to apologize for the concerns you experienced during check-in and the difficulties you encountered upon arrival. We understand your frustration and regret that our associate did not acknowledge your member status. You have our assurance that this is not typical of our hotel, as we strive to provide an exceptional experience to all of our guests. Please know that this will be addressed with our front desk team to ensure it is not repeated, and we are grateful for your feedback. We appreciate your patience and hope you will change your mind and give us another opportunity to provide you with the perfect stay you deserve. With warm aloha, Brian Supanich Director of Rooms - Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
atomicjon6 wrote a review Dec 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa42 contributions24 helpful votes
Some pluses and a lot of minuses. The staff are very nice and helpful and the hotel is beautiful. View amazing, comfortable bed, nice balcony. The Jacuzzi is nice to relax in but small and chlorinated. The Japanese restaurant was outstanding. the minuses: It’s super expensive. This resort fee. it gives you nothing. Well, you get a nice lei when you walk in. there are some small activities. They don’t even try. There are no umbrellas for the beach or proper beach chairs. I mean.. why even go there? Isn’t this supposed to be a beach experience? felt like being fleeced. About the beach: the way to do it is to buy a beach umbrella at the ABC store.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: buy a beach umbrella at the ABC store. there are no lounge chairs for the beach
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha atomicjon6, Mahalo for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. We hope our great location and rooms served you well, but we are disappointed that your experience was not perfect. Our resort fee is listed on our website, and we apologize if this was not adequately communicated to you. We value hearing from our guests, and we appreciate your feedback. Mahalo once more, and we hope you will reconsider and stay with us again. With warm aloha, Brian Supanich Director of Rooms - Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$376 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waikiki beach marriott hotel honolulu, waikiki beach marriott resort and spa, marriott waikiki beach, marriott honolulu, honolulu marriott
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1310
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WAIKIKI BEACH MARRIOTT RESORT & SPA (Oahu, Hawaii) - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Beach (0.07 km), The Magical Mystery Show at Hilton Waikiki Beach (0.2 km), and Saint Augustine by-the-Sea (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maguro Spot, Kai Coffee Hawaii, and Hy's Steak House - Waikiki.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iolani Palace (5.3 km), Shangri La (3.4 km), and Queen Emma Summer Palace (7.1 km).