We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,922 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,868: English reviews
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here overnight. We didn't book the room so I'm not sure if we were warned about them updating the hotel. We never heard them working on the hotel, but it was a maze to get to our room. So much that you were personally escorted from check in to your room. Which required you to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarai4181
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you. Thank you for acknowledging our helpful, friendly staff; they truly are attentive to the needs of our guests. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful guestrooms boasting amazing water views. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Viking on your next visit to Newport.

Stowe Area, Vermont
Reviewed 1 March 2016

I should have read the other trip advisor reviews before booking here. The hotel is being renovated and they don't tell you that on their website or on the website we used to book the property. My husband is handicapped and we found a handicapped parking space at the front of the hotel, however, that entrance is closed so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brownturda
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and although we fell short of ensuring your complete satisfaction, it is nice to know you were very pleased with your guestroom. Thank you for voicing your concerns, we will address these with our Management staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back so we may provide you with an experience that exceeds...

Reviewed 29 February 2016

Upon arrival we were directed to a makeshift entrance. It got worse! We were assisted to our room through a labyrinth of corridors and elevators which would confuse a navigator. We went with two other couples.We decided to go to the bar. Makeshift! Restaurant the same. They should have told us in advance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugene O
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

While we are glad you visited our historic hotel, we are very disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations. All reviews are greatly appreciated and we thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you again in the future and restore your confidence in us.

Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We have been staying at the Viking Hotel for years and have always loved it! it is our go to hotel in Newport...that is until this weekend. It was a birthday getaway weekend and I booked a High floor,"room with a view" front desk supervisor emailed to confirm. Come to find out the hotel is under renovation and no one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilovestotravel63
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

While we are happy to read that you have stayed with us multiple times, we regret we fell short of ensuring your complete satisfaction during your most recent visit. We never want our guests to feel their experiences here are not as they have come to expect. We will share your comments with our housekeeping team so we may further...

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 February 2016

I was a little disappointed in my recent stay at the Hotel Viking. I was not aware that renovations were going on. Instead of entering the beautiful main entrance and lobby, we were directed to the back of the hotel. Then there was no one to meet us and show us where to go. Although when we found the "front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anneh481
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, and we’re disappointed that we missed the mark on your total satisfaction. We would love to welcome you back so that we may provide you with an exceptional experience.

Reviewed 26 February 2016

the service was excellent. the shuttle service to downtown and back was terrific. room was fine. great big tv. looking forward to going back in the spring to see the finished product on the renovations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you, Joseph, for your fantastic review, and we are delighted you had a comfortable stay. It' great that you were pleased with our car service to and from Downtown Newport, it is a convenience that many of our guests do enjoy. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the Spring!

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Yes...there were renovations going on...but the staff were most helpful in making us completely comfortable. No noise...no inconvenience! The accommodations were just fine! The facility is showing its age...but gracefully! I am appreciative of "time"..good relations with staff make it a great experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katypa528
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We pride ourselves with the genuine service we provide to our guests and it makes us happy to hear that our staff was one of the highlights of your stay. Thank you for your excellent review and all of us here at The Hotel Viking can't wait to welcome you back.

New Haven, CT
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We just returned from our stay at the Viking which left us soured over a hotel, which we have always loved. We were there to celebrate my birthday, and often stay at the Viking for the historic ambiance, the buzz of people, the nostalgia, the lively atmosphere of the bar off the lobby, and the service, notably the valet and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Talia F
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. It's our hope that we provide an exceptional experience for our guests, and it's clear we failed in this instance. We hope that you will return so that we may renew your trust in our hotel.

Reviewed 23 February 2016

I planned a weekend getaway for my husband's birthday and I did get the rooms for a better price through Groupon. I mainly chose this hotel because of the wine festival(dinner) they were having. Contacted the hotel to reserve seats for the dinner and got a reply from Kevin (director of food & beverage). He was sweet to fill me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dristee S
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

What a fantastic review, thank you! Our staff strives to ensure our guests total satisfaction, and it's pleasing to hear your stay exceeded your expectations. Kevin and our team will be flattered by your kind remarks about their service. Thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Hotel Viking.

Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 23 February 2016

You will love the nostalgic feel of the hotel and the staff makes you feel like you are the only person that matters. We have stayed at the Viking several times while visiting our daughter for her birthday, The hotel is in a great spot. Not on the main street but in walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn O
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you back. It's great to hear that our courteous staff, charming ambiance, and prime location were a few things that made your stay so great. Thank you for your fantastic review, and we can't wait to welcome you back to The Hotel Viking.

881 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (455)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (152)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
558 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
606 reviews
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: ₹ 11,409 - ₹ 43,109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
3 months ago
Port Jefferson, New York

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet room in older section”
T4303RWlindag, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Many of the rooms are a long walk from lobby to the room.”
CathyS628, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you hear creaks, ask immediately for new room”
adamr146, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The hotel is surprisingly large and a little like a maze. If you have trouble walking distances, you should definitely let them know that.”
ireneh816, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“dont stay in 223 or its neighboring rooms youll be very sorry.”
jonathansJ4145LW, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5