We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Black Duck Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Duck Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 104: English reviews
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

They upgraded us to a suite. Ample sized room - king bed - good shower, wifi included, and a Jacuzzi right in the room! Breakfast was good (not gourmet), with plenty of choices, and they included a bottle of wine, a package of chocolate covered toffee, and 2 delicious cookies when we checked in!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you were pampered! Keep us in mind for the future.

Woodbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at the Black Duck Inn was a very memorable and positive experience. Our hostess, Diane, greeted us very warmly and up graded our room. Our room was well appointed clean. Breakfast both days was incredible. Monique provided a selection of choices which included pancakes or French Toast or eggs with cheese. Undoubtedly the best I have had at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nancyhL1645SE
blues966029, Front Office Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are so glad you had a positive and memorable experience! Please keep a lookout for discounts in your email.

East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was excellent from check in to the preparation of breakfast. The location is excellent and accessible to fine restaurants and pubs. The location is walking distance to many of the main attractions of Newport.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spenmay1943
blues966029, Front Office Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and appreciate the positive review! Please keep us in mind for future getaways and watch your email for discounts.

Somerville
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great service, cozy room, conveniently-located. The wine and chocolates we received when we checked in were a nice touch and very much appreciated. We will look forward to staying here again the next time we visit Newport.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keaneje
blues966029, Front Office Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved the whole experience! Greeted with a warm welcome and given the keys to a lovely room. Quaint and cozy. There's nothing better than waking to the smell of someone else making coffee and a delicious breakfast! Don't hesitate...GO!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

We are so excited that your birthday visit was a success! Thank you and keep us in mind next time.

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We were in town with friends to run the half marathon. We were upgraded upon arrival to an amazing room. The bed was so comfortable and the accommodations were great. The staff was kind and responsive. The location was steps from Thames but tucked enough to be quiet and parking was convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julianne S
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stelar review! We hope to welcome you back soon. So glad to hear you were made to feel at home.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Management was very accommodating,they left keys for our late arrival and gave us a free upgrade to a suite. Room was very comfortable with an electric fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was delicious both days, served hot by Monique, who was an excellent hostess. Also loved the chocolate chip cookies! Whole place was clean and nicely decorated. Rusk amenities in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suemcg820
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return. Watch your email for upcoming specials.

Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This B & B is steps from downtown but far enough away to be quiet so you can sleep and enjoy your stay at the Inn. They serve a full breakfast (not just coffee & breads) Very clean and comfortable. The Inn keepers are awsome and it has private off street parking. Will be returning in 2017.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spierce77
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

What a nice review! Thank you and we look forward to your return visit.

South Carolina
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The bad: No A/C, small room, toilet wouldn't stop, running, breakfast only between 8:30-10am, collection of dust bunnies under the bed. The good: Big bathroom and shower, price expensive anywhere else, but reasonable for Newport, easy walk to restaurants and shops. Bottom line, I've stayed in worse places, but not at that price. No attention to detail, but, if it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SB_in_SC
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please note that the house you stayed in has central heat and air. We had to make blind arrangements for a certain date to have the air switched over to heat, we chose Oct 5th because the weather indicated the evenings would be cool and we thought guests would be able to open their windows...

Long Island
Reviewed 5 August 2016

This was a Groupon getaway for 2 nights and 3 days. It included 2 nights stay, parking, and a full breakfast each morning. First of all, it's an excellent location. It's an easy walk into town and area restaurants, shops, etc. The room was very nice; with a queen bed, a jetted tub, and a nice roomy bathroom. The A/C...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mongcop3086
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you liked the accommodations but are sad that you were disappointed with the breakfast. We do not claim to have professional chefs, and sometimes everyone comes all at once which can cause a glut in the space. Newport's historic hill was built on tiny fishing village and along with it's quaint charm comes crowded downtown streets and...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 km away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#27 of 96 in Newport
157 reviews
0.0 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#12 of 96 in Newport
327 reviews
0.1 km away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#46 of 96 in Newport
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#7 of 96 in Newport
331 reviews
0.2 km away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#34 of 96 in Newport
68 reviews
0.2 km away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#26 of 96 in Newport
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Black Duck Inn is a unique and modern inn with updated amenities. This charming inn provides the luxuries of a hotel while maintaining the quaintness of a bed and breakfast. Black Duck Inn is our closest inn the Thames Street! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Duck Inn

Address: 29 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: ₹ 6,654 - ₹ 23,456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Duck Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Duck Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Champagne Room which had a king sized bed, Jacuzzi tub, and gas fireplace. A lovely up grade!”
 of 5 bubbles nancyhL1645SE, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. Very nice for 2 couples or 2 friends”
 of 5 bubbles spierce77, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor is quieter during breakfast hours.”
 of 5 bubbles EricaH24, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would like to see a higher toilet. I am older and this would be helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolynMM_13, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“We had an upstairs room and did not here a sound, even though the B & B was full”
 of 5 bubbles spierce77, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5