We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wyndham Newport Onshore

Show Prices
#16 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Wyndham Newport Onshore
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Newport Onshore
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We have a timeshare week at Newport on Shore and have enjoyed our time there! Unfortunately this year we found the unit in need of some maintenance and repair. The refrigerator was not working properly and not keeping food cold at all.After four people trying to fix it ,they were successful ! This took place the first two days of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne1186
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with the maintenance of your unit (and specifically the refrigerator) during your stay. This is certainly not our Wyndham standard and I will have our maintenance team look into these issues to eliminate any future occurrences. We strive to provide top of the line accommodations for all of our owners and... More 

Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay with fantastic views of the harbor. It's not a hotel. No maid service, no room service, no food available. IT IS a timeshare suite you rent as if you were just getting a room, but you end up with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a small living room with fireplace, a small dining area, a small kitchen,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Philip F
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, we will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We were fortunate to be able to rent this condo last minute on a summer weekend. The front desk staff was very pleasant and friendly and the office had some drinks and snacks available on Friday afternoon when we checked in. Our unit was very clean and well stocked. We had 2 decks, one overlooking the harbor. There was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank rapunzelNewYork
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Townsend, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2015

we have been owners at the Onshore since 1995. We will be back again next week. We have seen this resort go through many changes, not all good, but the one thing that has been consistant is the quality of the staff. They really do their best to deliver 110% for the guests and work hard to overcome the the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJimA
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words regarding service, we will definitely share these with our staff. Please know the current board at Newport Onshore is very much interested in updating as much as financially possible to the resort each year. The unit owners were not invoiced for the Marina upgrade. We are very pleased to say that we are in... More 

Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Pros: great location; very roomy 2 bdr unit; good shower; decent bed; decent value Cons: terrible wifi; too many lounge hogs at the "communal" pool; condo needed better ventilation, with signs of moisture damage in bathroom; terrible lighting. Would I go back? Yes LOL. Overall value was better than what you normally get in Newport during Folk Festival weekend.

Helpful?
Thank SuzanneLynus
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback! It will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. We are currently working to improve this feature, however this may take some time. Please visit us again in the future! More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2015

I have been spending 3 weeks in July at Newport Onshore for over 23 years, so I am very familiar with the property. This year I was really disappointed in the miserable Wifi service that is provided to guests. Last year the Wifi was decent, not great. This year it was horrible - basically it did not work. We talked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carolina1776
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. As you know we have many properties which house a large amount of guests and their wireless devices. We are currently working to improve this feature, however this may take some time. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you and thank you for your valuable feedback as... More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Great location in heart of Newport. Right on the marina with great water views. You have to take it for what it is - a small resort in a fantastic location. Don't expect a large Marriott resort complex in Newport, there just aren't any. But for downtown Newport RI, it was great. Especially compared to the other Wyndham timeshares in... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Crystal D
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We will share these with our staff. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again! Again, thank you for reaching out. More 

hartford CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Just came home from a 4 night stay at the Wyndham Long Wharf. The hotel is perfect, right on Thames street about a 5-10 minute walk to the center of town. We originally booked a 2 bedroom united (we are renters) and we got upgraded to a 3 bedroom unit overlooking the pier. Along with the upgrade, our room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brando16a
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Hello brando16a, we are glad you chose us for your destination and happy you enjoyed our accomodations. I would like to apologize for our shortcomings and appreciate the comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again! More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2015

We recently stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom waterfront unit and loved it! The unit was very clean. The cabinetry was chipped and scuffed in a few places, but this was not important to us. One bedroom has a king bed with an attached bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, the other had 2 twin beds and an attached... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WeeWoodstock
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Hello WeeWoodstock, thank you for your kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your time and the accomodations. We will see you again soon! More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2015

First, I will say what is nice about this place. It is in the heart of downtown Newport. The harbor view from the unit is beautiful. The unit is clean. There were no sales pitches to buy there. It is quiet. The older maintenance guy is a gem-- very helpful and always pleasant. Now for why I would never stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandTwig
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear our services and amenities did not meet your expectations. We value your suggestions and feedback, as it gives us guidance on what to provide our guests during vacation. Thank you. More 

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
480 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,472 reviews
0.2 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
529 reviews
0.5 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#6 of 21 in Newport
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Wyndham Newport Onshore

Address: 405 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6603 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: ₹ 11,319 - ₹ 15,819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Newport Onshore 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Newport Onshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newport Onshore Hotel Newport
Newport Onshore
Newport Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Newport Onshore staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Newport Onshore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for an upper floor corner room for better views”
 of 5 bubbles WayneR516, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You can get wifi free for up to 4 devices, after that you have to pay.”
 of 5 bubbles bdevine29, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all units have a great view of the harbor, easy access to all restaurants”
 of 5 bubbles derynoski, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“get a third or fourth floor room for better views.”
  • king bedroom
  • jacuzzi/washer dryer
  • kitchen
  • dining area
  • view from balcony
 of 5 bubbles lories504, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to have a view of the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles SFOLincoln_RI, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay