We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Show Prices
#16 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The location was great to walk around Newport and the front desk was very friendly and helpful in suggestions on things to do. The only complaint is the bed - I do not think it was actually a queen - seemed more like a full size bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoSoxVacation
New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I stayed here many time and every time I love it more and more. If I had my way, I would probably live here forever! :) The location is excellent, right on Thames street, close to many restaurants and shops, (though sadly some had closed down this year...). The view from the room is to die for. Even if I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anna d
Warren, Indiana
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This hotel/resort is in a fantastic location. It is situated on one of the water taxi's piers which is also a dock for beautiful boats. There is an outstanding restaurant on the ground floor. It is right in the heart of the action in Newport! It's not perfect for sure. The parking is a challenge and front desk staff left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frugalmama57
Reviewed 29 September 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Inn on the Harbor for just a few days. The room was clean and service by the staff was very good. We picked this location as it was close the water, shops and many of the restaurants that were all with in walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darin O
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We stayed here for a full week and were very sad to have to leave. It was one of the best vacation experiences we've had. The hotel is located in a great location: the midst of the busy, crowded Thames Street shopping area. Traffic was always heavy getting into the area but no problems once at the hotel. One free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HereAndThere2
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thanks for your visit HereAndThere2. We are thirlled to hear you had a great lodging experience with our property. We are glad you were satisfied with your unit, the accommodations it provided and its outstanding view. Thank you for your positive comments Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear...

Peterhead
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is right on the main drag and has parking attached. The rooms are self catering and have everything you need in the way of cutlery, crockery for cooking etc. There is a lounge with separate bedroom. The room is clean and has plenty storage space. The decor is a bit uninspiring so you wouldn't really want to spend...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank delilahPeterhead
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thanks for your visit delilahPeterhead. We are glad to hear you had a nice stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with you accommodations despite the unit's decoration. We are glad to hear you found plentiful distractions on site to enjoy from. Overall, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing get away!...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The room was so small and had so much furniture we had no place to put our luggage, much less to open the sofa bed. The parking was horrible (our car would not fit in the spaces); cell service was only available standing outside of the bathroom; free wifi was not accessible; shower looked like a dorm room shower, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steakjustice
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hello Steakjustice, we thank you for your review on our Wyndham Inn on the Harbor resort. We sincerely apologize for your recent experience at our property. As a resort with amazing resort team members and amenities, this type of experience is uncommon and unfavorable. We have forwarded this review to our resort leadership and shall you wish to have these...

Connecticut
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Great little hotel with pleasant staff that's located on the water in downtown Newport. Marvelous sunset views from the rooms! We were within walking distance to great eats on Broadway, unique shops, the local baseball field, the water taxi, and wonderful marinas. We would stay here again on another trip to Newport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin-CT001
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hello Erin-CT001, We thank you for your review on our Wyndham Inn on the Harbor. We are thankful for your appreciation of our resort and location to the best of Newport. We are happy you had a comfortable stay which provided you with just the accommodations you needed. We are happy to hear our staff was friendly and welcoming during...

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel to find the location to be perfect! It is a very walkable area with lots of fun restaurants, shops, and bars all less than a mile away from this hotel. We found the accommodations to be nice, clean, and perfect for a 3-4 day stay. The small kitchenette and living room area allowed for us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Itchngolf
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hello Itchngolf, we thank you for your review on our Wyndham Inn on the Harbor resort. We’re so happy to hear that you loved our resort’s location to the local attractions, restaurants, and entertain venues. We’re glad that your unit allowed for some space during your time not exploring the area. Our resort staff does our best to offer a...

Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Got a Great view when I called ahead to request water front,also met great people at the front desk! Hospitality A+. Also let us leave our vehicle for the whole day instead of having to move it & pay for parking!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cjamenta
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hello Cjamenta, We thank you for your review on our Wyndham Inn on the Harbor resort. We’re happy to know that you had a great vacation and lodging experience with us. Our resort team members do a wonderful job at making sure our owners and guest are serviced beyond expectation, in your case, resulting in saving you some money for...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,854 reviews
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.1 km away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
244 reviews
0.8 km away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Address: 359 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6643 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: ₹ 7,931 - ₹ 26,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#5 Green Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Inn on the Harbor staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Inn on the Harbor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request room with view of harbor side.”
 of 5 bubbles babbettandcaptbill, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Would ask for a room away from the elevator, it was a little loud in the morning.”
  • View from rooftop deck
 of 5 bubbles ChristineM86, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the 6th floor has access to the lovely roof deck.”
 of 5 bubbles jc44, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get room a with a view, they are more expensive, but are totally worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles annadR2729RC, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles Frugalmama57, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5