We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Rey Inn

Expedia.comUS$ 117*
View Deal
#22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
El Rey Inn
El Rey Inn
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

747 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 721: English reviews
Start your review of El Rey Inn
 Click to rate
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in one of the family rooms and found it to be perfect for our needs. We normally stick with well known hotel brands but for this trip (along part of R66) we opted for more independent, motel style places. As the El Rey was the first of these we stayed in I was a little nervous but needn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrreflux
Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Read the reviews on TripAdvisor and stepped out of the usual "go with the name brand" and took a chance with the El Rey Inn. Couldn't have been happier with the outcome! Traveling with friends and booked two rooms. I was a bit concerned that everyone would like the selection. We all fell in love with this charming place. Beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marla H
BrianDGraves, General Manager at El Rey Inn, responded to this review

Dear Maria H, I cannot express how grateful we are at the El Rey Court that you took the time to post such warmhearted comments regarding your stay with us. We are so happy that both you and your friends discovered the charm that is the El Rey. With our present renovation in progress it is our hope that your...

Essex, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just love this place and are repeat customers! Lots of accolades: comfy beds and cozy rooms, great toiletries, beautiful grounds, delicious swimming pool, great service provided by caring staff, a free breakfast that is not made of cardboard like some of the chains! Great value all around. Oh, and take time to sit and enjoy the beautiful living room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarinG720
BrianDGraves, General Manager at El Rey Inn, responded to this review

Hello KarinG720, Thank you for posting such a sweet review of the El Rey Inn. We certainly appreciate the loyalty of our return guests as so many have been coming back to the El Rey year after year. Our renovation is now in progress in which we are updating our reception, dining room and adding a lounge where our guests...

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time we've stayed at the El Rey. The first time we stayed in an updated room in their Spanish Colonial courtyard, upstairs. It was a delight. The gardens and birds, very friendly staff, old NM atmosphere, a peaceful and pleasant place to spend time. Staff and atmosphere are still the same, but the second time we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SophiesAunt
BrianDGraves, General Manager at El Rey Inn, responded to this review

Dear SophiesAunt, I would like to apologize that your recent stay with us at the El Rey Inn was less than stellar. The issues that you mentioned in your review are considerable and I thank you for bringing them to my attention. We have been a bit behind in our preventative maintenance due to the renovation that is underway. Our...

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We happened to walk by and decided to take a look! We were going to stay for one night, ended up there for three! Everyone room is different and has its own unique charm! Very clean! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! We can't wait to go back! The outdoor hot tub is a must!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenteach1111
BrianDGraves, General Manager at El Rey Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jenteach1111, We are so happy that you decided to stop by the El Rey and delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. No too many people know that behind the front office building is nearly five acres of lush gardens, huge outdoor pool, indoor hot tub, outdoor hot tub and even a greenhouse. The El Rey is...

Houston, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I read the reviews on the EL RAY INN here and decided to stay for a week vacation in Santa Fe and I really could not be happier with my stay. What a wonderful place to just stop and slow down and take it all in. There is no doubt that when I come back to Santa Fe, I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
BrianDGraves, General Manager at El Rey Inn, responded to this review

Hi Scott S, What a nice gesture to post such kind words regarding your visit with us at the El Rey. You are right in that it was a little early, during the time of your stay, for all of the plants and flowers that we have on our property to begin budding. Santa Fe typically has it's last freeze...

Springfield, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was the second year we visited Santa Fe for spring break. Our child is a college student and we were looking for a suite of some sort. Found this gem of a place with a small apartment basically. We had one of their 2 bedroom suites, that includes a full kitchen, dinning area, living room and one bath. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajdm91
Cameron
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing to complain about. I made coffee in our room rather than the lobby and it was good. Like the private access to our room rather than hotel hallways. Thought about walking downtown instead of driving, but it was way too far to walk, but not too far to drive.Would give an excellent if we could have gotten in early,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janelle P
BrianDGraves, General Manager at El Rey Inn, responded to this review

Dear Janelle P., Thank you very much for staying with us at the El Rey Inn and we really appreciate the nice comments mentioned about your experience. I do want to apologize that your room was not ready as early as requested, however, we try to do our best to provide the earliest check-in possible. Based upon your comments, our...

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a bit skeptical about staying in an older motel. What a nice surprise. The check in staff was so nice and helpful. Gave us some great restaurant ideas that were off the beaten path. The room had a cool bathroom and it was clean. Too bad they have the old style comforter on the bed. The grounds have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmctravels
BrianDGraves, General Manager at El Rey Inn, responded to this review

Dear dmctravels, Thank you so much for taking the time in sharing your experience at the El Rey with other travelers and for offering such gracious remarks regarding your stay with us. I am glad our front desk/concierge staff could be assistance in making your visit to Santa Fe even more enjoyable. It is really cool to check out restaurants...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 23 March 2017

My husband and I are seniors in our 70's and appreciate historic places and love to stay in them when possible. Felt uneasy when we arrived and lobby smelled like the We were in #13 and it is in need of some major improvements. Double bed was so hard that we were restless all night. Old joints need a soft...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jane W
BrianDGraves, General Manager at El Rey Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jane W, I want to let you know that I am so sorry that your stay in room #13 was not at all satisfactory. I heard about your stay just minutes after you had checked out of the El Rey and I would have loved to have been able to speak to you about these issues and to apologize...

694 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (381)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Room Suite (51)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Sofa Sleeper (46)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Queen Studio (46)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (35)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,254 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
782 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,514 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Price Range: ₹ 6,175 - ₹ 11,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Rey Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Tulsa, OK
over a year ago
FAYETTEVILLE
over a year ago
over a year ago
Alstead, New Hampshire

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from El Rey Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy access to/from airport and into downtown Santa Fe; on public bus route so you don't have to drive into town and look for parking.”
KarinG720, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs in Spanish Colonial courtyard, 65-69 are lovely. Rooms close to front of property get street noise.”
SophiesAunt, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I had room 72 which was on a little garden area that was VERY nice.”
222scotts, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“In the winter - try to get a room with a fireplace.”
  • Fireplace in our room - wonderful!
DanH342, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Each room different, good map on website, stay away from road. Our friends in #48 was larger and better furnished than our #49.”
Soxgirl58, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 117* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 117
Booking.comUS$ 117
TravelocityUS$ 117
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates