We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coach House Inn

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Coach House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Coach House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 29 September 2016

At the Coach House, you will find a house full of charm and character. The house was quiet and comfortable with all of the amenities I needed to feel at home. I appreciated that this was not a typical B&B experience where people are required to gather for breakfast. A wicker basket containing a muffin, croissant, fresh fruit, a hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjkeesey
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived early and were made immediately welcome and at home. As a room was ready we could check in early and make the most of the rest of the day in Salem. It is a 9 block walk into downtown historic Salem which was easy to do in 10-15minutes. We could park at the Inn and left our car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
NYC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I enjoy 19th century hotels as long as they are 21st century comfortable. While Coach House Inn is all cute and antique-y, next time I will stay somewhere comfortable. All furniture and hardware look like they came with the building in 1879 or were bought at a 1970s garage sale. If you weigh over 250 lbs, stay away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tankhimo
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Breakfast came in a basket bright and early, after a quiet night. Free offstreet parking, frienly reception, good advice about walks and restaurants. A good choice for the weary, though not easy walking distance from the center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David N
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

When we arrived in Salem we had nothing booked for accommodation. The Visitor Centre gave us a list and we were able to book a room here. The room was large with an attached sitting area, air conditioning, fridge and its own bathroom. Our hostess, Pat, was wonderful! We enjoyed just spending time visiting with her and she was extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We called Pat for a last minute reservation. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the neighborhood was. The house was old and clean. Beautiful architecture. She gave us several maps of things to do in the area and was very attentive. The best part of our stay was the picnic basket breakfast! The basket was outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacey C
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Having been in the hospitality business for quite some time, it’s always nice to hear that guests appreciate the peace and serenity of a historic home. They don’t build them now like they use to, and I’m happy to maintain and share the architecture of a by-gone era. I am also glad to hear that our breakfast was a highlight...

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Innkeeper Pat was lovely and shared lots of information with us upon arrival. Nice, quiet rooms. There is no dining room, and she told us that a continental breakfast would be delivered to our rooms the next morning. A lovely basket was waiting for us the next morning. Warm scones and muffins, fruit, yogurt. Each room has a small table...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StaciMcFlo
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. I was so glad to hear that you appreciated breakfast being delivered to enjoy in the comfort of your room. As an 11 room B&B it would be difficult to accommodate 22 plus people at one time in a dining room, and after decades of serving our breakfast this way, most...

Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Our room was very clean & decorated in a style complimenting the age of the house. However, it seems only the guest areas were kept nice, as other areas needed a lot of tidying & cleaning up. The front entrance to the hotel was dirty making us wonder what the hotel would be like inside. First impressions count, otherwise it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avanka
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. I agree that first impressions are important and we apparently missed this opportunity the day of your arrival. Without making excuses, we apologize if the front entrance seemed unkempt. It’s a place where we offer a collection of visitor brochures and information and apparently a nook we will have to keep...

Clarksboro, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Stayed here on a last minute thing while going home from Maine with sister and our hubbies....the owner pat was very nice and friendly. We were on the 3rd floor so if you can't do stairs these isn't the place for you. Rooms are clean and comfy with A/C on a quite street. A bit of a walk to town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chicsim
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor about your stay at our B&B. It’s always nice to hear positive and helpful feedback about a guest’s experience after a visit. Certainly, providing clean accommodations and comfort amenities are the benchmark of the hospitality industry and we are glad to hear you found everything clean and comfortable in your room. For sure,...

Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

We tried to book the suite at this Inn. Initially told it was available and that I should check with the rest of my party to confirm. I said I would and call her right back. I did that - within one minute. That was at 2pm. I was never able to get the Inn back on the phone. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wheelerg
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Wheelerg, I must say I was a little taken aback by the hostility of your comments. You phoned to gather information concerning a two-room suite, our location in Salem, and our cancellation policy. Seeming to be unsure, I suggested you discuss the accommodation with the other people in your party. Since I didn't hear back from you I assumed...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
1.4 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
1.6 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,902 reviews
8.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
15.0 km away
Winthrop Arms Hotel
Winthrop Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop
421 reviews
1.7 km away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#4 of 9 in Salem
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Address: 284 Lafayette St, Salem, MA 01970-5462
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Price Range: ₹ 13,419 - ₹ 18,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coach House Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bayville, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Coach House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are beautiful”
atwome, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room in the back avoids mild traffic noise”
498DavidN498, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't have a room at the front of the hotel as it is very noisey.”
Avanka, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Right side and rear rooms seemed to be closer to the parking area.”
  • Bath
  • Main room
Lusitex, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We had the room with a separate double bed with adjoining twin beds.”
339glenysf, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates