We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Salem Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Salem Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 596: English reviews
Greenville, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in room 51 of The West House which had a queen bed and fireplace. Location was fantastic you could walk to everything. Maid service was friendly and so was the front desk. Breakfast was good and they even made fresh omelets. The staff at the breakfast and wine and cheese hour were very nice(loved Deana). I would recommend also... More 

Helpful?
Thank marvin2621
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear marvin2621 Thank You for your review of our Inn. We will be sure to let DeeAnne know how much you enjoyed wine & cheese hour, as well as breakfast. Our guests really enjoy their time with DeeAnne. Wine & cheese hour was a recent addition to our Inn and is very popular with our guests. We look forward to... More 

San Marcos, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Salem Inn was a beautiful and historic place to stay in Salem! We Stayed at the West House which is literally across the street from the Witch House. Everyone on staff that we came into contact with was very friendly and helpful. In the morning, the offered a free breakfast which ended up being one of the best breakfasts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dearest Jamie W Thank You for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful breakfast. Our location is ideal for everything Salem has to offer, we are within walking distance to downtown and most attractions. We hope to see you again. The Salem Inn Staff More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I cannot say enough great things about The Salem Inn. Having planned this visit for over a year, my friends and I stayed here this Halloween for 4 nights from the 28th-1st. We stayed in the West House in Room 18 which is the Oversized Family Suite (enough to sleep 6) and was lucky enough to score street parking RIGHT... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam S
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dearest Adam S Thank You so very much for the 5 star rating and your wonderful, kind review. It is greatly appreciated by our entire staff! We strive everyday to make sure our guests stay is as wonderful and lovely as yours was. We can not wait to welcome you back very soon. All The Best; The Salem Inn Staff More 

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very clean but a little shabby. The border was falling off of the wall. The bed was comfortable and overall pleasant. it is definitely and old home but we were expecting that. The coffe was substandard compared to the coffee at breakfast. It would've been nice to have to go cups downstairs.

Helpful?
Thank aegerbrick
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear aegerbrick Thank You for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast and wine & cheese hour with DeeAnn and Liliana. Our Inn was built in 1834, and still has it's historic charm. Please come back again soon and request a newly renovated room, perhaps with a fireplace. Winter... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved staying at The Salem Inn's West House. It's a beautiful, historic B&B and one of the only places in the center of Salem that has some dog friendly rooms. It's centrally located, close (walking distance) to everything. We loved our room, is was so nice and the updated bathroom was gorgeous! The breakfast was really good; they made... More 

Helpful?
Thank PhoenixCath
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear PhoenixCath Thank You for taking the time to write a review of our Inn, we appreciate it. October is by far the busiest month of the year in Salem. Unfortunately parking is limited everywhere in in October. Haunted Happenings is an entire month, everyday celebration. We do hope you return again, perhaps in a month when it is not... More 

Fulton, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved this place! The only thing I would change was how hard the pillows & bed were. But that's only because I love them fluffy! Everything was awesome. Perfect distance from everything only a short 5 minute walk from everything. Breakfast was yummy & had decent options. The room we were in was facing the road so it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachelevincent
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear rachelevincent Thank You for your review of our Inn. It is wonderful you had a great time with us. Breakfast is very popular with our guests. Please next time do not hesitate to ask us for fluffier pillows, we will be happy to provide them for you. Unfortunately we are located on a busy street, however we have rooms... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Salem Inn this past weekend with friends in one of the family suites in the West House. We booked this reservation a year in advance and specifically asked about the second bed in the main room which I was told was a queen bed. We were assigned Room 12 on the first floor and the second... More 

Helpful?
Thank TNoble7734
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dearest TNoble7734 Please accept our apologies, we are very sorry that the room you expected was not the room you received. We are happy you enjoyed DeeAnne and Lily's company. They really enjoy wine & cheese and breakfast hour with our guests. We do hope you return to our Inn in the near future. Take Care. The Salem Inn Staff More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had such an amazing time. The hotel is beautiful, historic and clean. The staff was amazing, they treated us like family. Especially Deann and Lilly. We truely enjoy our breakfast and the wine and cheese hour!!! Thanks for everything.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jamie D It is so wonderful to hear you had an amazing stay with us. Thank You for your kind words. We always want all our guests to feel welcomed and important when they stay with us. DeeAnne and Lily really love breakfast and wine & cheese hour with our guests, and it shows everyday. Our staff takes great... More 

Nashville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was our first time staying at the Salem Inn. We usually stay at a friend's condo, but I have to say this was just as good! We were in the Curwen House. Check in was easy and the staff was super nice. The room was so cozy. It was the perfect size. Had a comfortable bed and sitting chairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank gocolts1018
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dear gocolts1018 Thank You for taking a moment to write us a kind review. We appreciate it. It is wonderful that you now have another option when you stay in town! We always strive to make our guests check in and check out process pleasant and efficient. We want our guests to be able to enjoy their time while staying... More 

Deerfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The Salem INN is by far the most friendly INN we have been to. We stay in Salem 3 days every year around Halloween. The rooms are quiet and very clean, the staff are always very nice and helpful. We got to know D'Ann (not sure of the spelling) she is very sweet, good cook (Breakfast) and very personable. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank mjgayhardt
Melissa D, Front Desk Reservations at Salem Inn, responded to this review

Dearest mjgayhardt Thank You so very much for your review. We are so happy you want to stay with us every October! We can not wait to welcome you every year! DeeAnne thoroughly enjoys breakfast time with our guests. We will pass this review along to her. Please be sure to ask for a room in the back of the... More 

281 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
1:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.7 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.7 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
1,862 reviews
4.8 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
8.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Three elegantly restored historic homes in heart of downtown Salem. Just a few minute's walk to restaurants, attractions, museums and waterfront. We offer forty charming, unique guest rooms with private baths. Family Suites with kitchenettes are perfect for families or extended stays. Complimentary breakfast (including an omelet bar), sherry night cap, free wi-fi, and YMCA passes available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Salem Inn

Address: 7 Summer Street, Salem, MA 01970
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Price Range: ₹ 11,490 - ₹ 15,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Salem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Hotel Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Salem Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Salem Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a lot of street noise in the front rooms”
 of 5 bubbles aegerbrick, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 (family suite) is on the first floor near the courtyard in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles TNoble7734, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in a front room by the road, the traffic was a little noisy, but the rooms were very quiet from other people staying”
 of 5 bubbles mjgayhardt, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early for main building and inquire about amenities”
 of 5 bubbles DougMadden, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to request main Salem Inn building”
 of 5 bubbles 184brandyg, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay