We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
209 Essex Street, Salem, MA 01970
E-mail hotel
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$562
View deal
Travelocity
$562
View deal
Booking.com
$599
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$562
Official Site$599
Priceline$599
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (84)
Videos (1)

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Salem
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Rooftop bar
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
234Reviews5Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 106
  • 40
  • 30
  • 35
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
madlane2 wrote a review Sep 2022
Valley Station, Kentucky186 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is centrally located but the parking is a few blocks away in a parking garage that cost $30 a night. You have to drag your luggage down a cobblestone street from the garage. Mapquest the garage, not the hotel. The night check in guy was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice with modern decor. The bed was way too soft, you will sink in it. Not sure if it’s just soft or old.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Mapquest the parking garage, not the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Salem
Responded 1 week ago
Hi madlane2, Delighted that you enjoyed having a home base in the heart of the Sale and we appreciate your feedback about the visit. Thank you for complimenting the warm service that you received from one of our colleagues during check-in and we hope to one day welcome you back and win your heart in full. All the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunshine260030 wrote a review Aug 2022
Seminole, Florida18 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Beautiful boutique hotel! Located on pedestrian area of Essex St. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. We had a double queen on the third floor with view of Essex, high ceilings, nice lighting. Our only issue was that the shower seemed to be missing a door, which lead to lots of water ending up on bathroom floor, we mentioned it to a couple of people who seem to be unaware, other than that fantastic stay and if I make it back to Salem again, I will most definetly stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Hotel is located on pedestrian only area, we were dropped off just around the corner, not far a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Salem
Responded 30 Aug 2022
Hi Sunshine260030, Thrilled to have hosted your recent family getaway and we thank you for sharing this review. We are thrilled to learn that you fell in love with our hotel and we hope that you both created memories that will last for years to come. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James B wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The Hotel Salem is in the downtown, dozens of shops and dining options practically out the door (or in the hotel - check out The Roof or The Counter depending on weather/season). Incredible staff all around. Most of my days were walking in one direction, checking out local spots, then stopping back at the hotel for a quick respite before heading back out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Salem
Responded 1 week ago
Hi V7853WMjamesb, As you have noted, Salem is truly a walkable city and we are thrilled to have been your home base in the heart of it all. Our team thanks you for sharing these kind words and we welcome you to join us again anytime. Hurry back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul M wrote a review Sep 2022
Lawrenceville, Georgia21 contributions7 helpful votes
This hotel is nicely appointed and central to Salem. It is located on Essex St which is a pedestrian mall in downtown Salem. The hotel has an excellent rooftop bar and a counter service restaurant. I will add that there is no parking at the hotel. We really liked this place as we can stop in during our walks around the town. Friendly and helpful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: October is a busy month and Essex St is the place where crowds congregate so this location puts...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Salem
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Pmank285, As you have discovered, our rooftop bar offers guests the opportunity to experience Salem from a whole new perspective and we are delighted that you loved the overall experience. We hope to serve as your local home base for many years to come. Until next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RGR D wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
First time in Salem. Charming town and the perfect weekend to visit. Beautiful weather and the Hotel Salem is a fabulous place to stay. Staff is extremely kind and accommodating and the Manager, Tony is a true professional. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Salem
Responded 1 week ago
Hi RangerDaub, What an honor it was to host you during your inaugural visit to Salem and we thank you for sharing this review. Tony appreciates your mentioning of his efforts and, on behalf of our entire team, we invite you to come back soon. Warm regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniela Bacallao wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We had the most amazing 4 day stay. The hotel is right in the middle of downtown Salem, everywhere we wanted to visit was so close. Could walk everywhere and pop back into hotel if needed. Ivana was so so kind at the front desk, she was incredibly helpful. Can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Salem
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi ellabT7619IE, The charm of our historic city is truly something to be experienced first-hand and we are delighted that you enjoyed your home base in the heart of it all. Thank you for highlighting Ivana and her gracious hospitality. Until next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hattrick56 wrote a review Sep 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia51 contributions49 helpful votes
This hotel is terrible – wedding parties and guests should stay away. 1. Do you like your floors to be sticky? 2. Do you prefer your shower to actually drain or just collect water over your ankles? 3. Do you prefer furniture not about to collapse, including fold down desks that could fall on a child? 4. Do you prefer room lighting that works? 5. Do you want to pay extra for a loft that consists of a non-working couch/pull-out bed and a broken table? 6. Do you like extra adornments like scotch tape left on the walls even after previous comments on TripAdvisor note that the room needs to be cleaned? 7. Do you prefer a hotel that locks its guests – including the bride and groom and entire wedding party – out front at 12:05am without access due to a non-working room key scanner? 8. Do you prefer a hotel that dismisses a late checkout request (saying “we don't do late checkout”) even for a bride and groom that couldn’t get into the hotel just past midnight? 9. Do you prefer a hotel with one luggage cart even though they know you cannot pull up in front and have to haul your things at least one block over (including wedding parties)? 10. Do you prefer a front desk staffed with people who know that these concerns exist because they have heard them before, but are resigned to the fact that they will not be fixed by management? 11. Do you prefer a front desk staffed by someone (a short blond fellow) who sends off the vibe that he is itching to have a verbal disagreement with the guests (judging by the other comments, that’s something that happens on occasions). 12. Do you like a hotel that lists a “The Knot” affiliation even though no bride or groom would ever consider the place if they knew any of these points? 13. Do you prefer a hotel that sees these concerns raised in previous comments and ignores them, or one that responds? I'm a rather experienced traveler. I have never stayed in a property that was this poorly maintained, with a staff that is led by dismissive and indifferent management, and yet, so darned expensive. Stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from A C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Salem
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Hattrick56, Thanks for sharing this perspective! As with any hotel, we do occasionally experience maintenance issues. However, we are proud of the fact that our team has been able to resolve these matters fairly quickly as soon as we are made aware. While we regret the inconvenience of some of the concerns you have expressed, in the future, we encourage you to let us know while you are still on the property so that we might assist in finding a resolution. We thank you once more for sharing this review and wish you the best of luck in your future travels. Warm regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lilli wrote a review Sep 2022
Wilmington, North Carolina3 contributions
Lovely people who checked us in and very accommodating to our questions. Especially about parking but the employees recommended exactly where to park and not pay a fortune! Downside: lugging luggage from the parking lot! Was a pretty good hike. Room is huge with a contemporary funky vibe! Location is in the heart of everything! Cool counter bar w great menu items! Will definitely use this hotel again! Great spot to people watch!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask in advance where to park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Salem
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Passport65473076600, Overjoyed that you loved so many features of our property and we thank you for sharing this review of the visit. It is also a delight to read how much you appreciated your unique and spacious accommodations and that you enjoyed being in the heart of our historic city. We would love to see you again, and if we can offer any assistance with coordinating your next reservation, please give us a call. Until next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WA S wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Hotel is in a great location. We rented room including pull out sofa bed in loft. That mattress was awful- cheap, sunken in the middle and we couldn’t use it, really disappointing. The room was dirty - top of dresser covered with a sticky substance. Carpets not edged. Broken desk in loft. Cellophane tape stuck randomly on walls and bannister to loft. Room is really dark because even though it’s 2 stories, there are just small basement sized windows near the floor and near the ceiling.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from A C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Salem
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi 787was, While we take pride in providing our guests with extraordinary Salem experiences, we are disheartened to learn that your recent visit fell short of this tradition. Thank you for bringing these insights to our attention and we hope to one day have the opportunity to impress you. All the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie S wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I stayed at the hotel for my 5 Year Anniversary with my Husband, and I am SO happy I did. The Staff was wonderful from start to finish. They called me week of to confirm my reservation (very impressive - I have never stayed at a hotel that has done this). This is when they found out I was traveling for my Anniversary. Alicia at the Front Desk wished us a Happy Anniversary when checking in. When we got to our room their was a beautiful hand-written Anniversary Card from the entire staff. They made us feel incredibly special! Our room was incredibly spacious and clean and has everything we needed. The location is perfect and everything is in walking distance. Not to mention the Rooftop where the drinks/food/and again staff was also amazing as well. I have not stayed at a hotel where I was that impressed with the staff in a very long time and you can tell they all want to make your stay special. I can't wait to go back for my next Anniversary!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Salem
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Stephanie, We love when we have an opportunity to celebrate special occasions with our guests and we thank you for choosing our property to host your 5-year anniversary getaway. Alicia and the rest of our team are thrilled that you felt so well taken care of during the visit and we look forward to making our time together an annual tradition. See you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$203 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsSalem
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hotel Salem
Which popular attractions are close to The Hotel Salem?
Nearby attractions include Crow Haven Corner (0.3 km), Hex: Old World Witchery (0.2 km), and Pentagram (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hotel Salem?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Hotel Salem?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hotel Salem?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hotel Salem?
Conveniently located restaurants include Village Tavern, Red's Sandwich Shop, and Flying Saucer Pizza Company.
Is The Hotel Salem located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Salem.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hotel Salem?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The House of the Seven Gables (0.8 km), Phillips House (0.7 km), and Salem Maritime National Historic Site (0.7 km).
Is The Hotel Salem accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.