We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Providence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Providence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

954 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Providence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 930: English reviews
brooklyn, ny
Reviewed 18 August 2013

From the moment you arrive at the hotel to the moment you leave, you feel welcome and can't wait until you return. Not only are you are greeted by a friendly valet to help you unload your car but there are delicious cookies and iced tea waiting for you as you check in- all much needed after a long drive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lsmbklyn
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We truly anticipate the arrival of each guest and look forward to watching them enjoy the little niceties that you mentioned. Our team philosophy is to elevate every guest's experience with sincerity and passion! Thank you again, and we...

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here for a friend's wedding in Providence. The hotel is next to night clubs, and the rooms don't have adequate sound dampening to block much of the noise. So we're being asked to pay boutique luxury hotel prices for a room where it would be impossible for even the hardest sleeper to get a wink. Listening to dance club...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank travelerobot
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We have been working diligently with Providence city officials regarding the downtown evening outdoor activities, resulting in a 95% reduction in such events this year. Unfortunately, this was not the case during the weekend of your stay. Please accept my apology for the lack of appropriate response on behalf of our front...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hotel was pretty nice. We were going to have a normal room with two queens, but we ended up being upgraded to a suite (same beds, but nicer) at the last minute. The suite had a small sitting room, a gigantic bedroom and a very nice bathroom. There is a delicious restaurant downstairs, great place for breakfast. My only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margeaux G
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled that we were able to offer you an upgrade and that you enjoyed the extra space. Some of our rates do include breakfast, so please be sure to inquire about that inclusion when making your next reservation. We look forward to your return! Safe travels, Tom Fitzgibbons General Manager

Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. We were upgraded to a junior suite so lots of room. Very clean and lots of extras you expect in this level of hotel. The website is not too good hence the 4 rather than 5 stars. The restaurant was quite nice for breakfast. All the staff is attentive, The hotel has personality not like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. I'm glad that we were able to extend an upgrade and that you enjoyed our amenities. I'm not sure what you are referring to regarding our website; whether you were displeased with the content of the site or the navigation. I'm also glad that you enjoyed our restaurant, Aspire Seasonal Kitchen. I...

Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

A random choice for our first visit to Providence - although we were already getting weary of dealing with chains for everything from dinner to sunglasses ! There was a freshness and individual personality about everyone who helped us at the hotel which stood out during our stay. It made the welcome feel genuine and was the icing on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarmorHugel
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We're glad your random choice brought you to us! Being downtown Providence's only non-branded hotel comes with its challenges, but it's worth it when guests, like yourself, enjoy and appreciate our unique property. Thank you for your support and we look forward to your return! Warm regards, Tom Fitzgibbons General Manager

edinburgh
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel was great, valet service for parking your vehicle. Staff on reception were very helpful giving plenty of information on suitable restaurants and maps. Rooms were comfortable, only downside was we had a room next to the external air conditioning units which made for an intermittent nights sleep. The bar was great and the staff made you feel welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pete t
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We love sharing Providence with our guests, so I'm glad our staff made some helpful suggestions. I apologize for the obtrusive noise from the air conditioning unit. Please do not hesitate to contact the front desk if you encounter any problems during your next visit. They will do whatever is necessary to...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I dont care whether you have all the money in the world or only have a few penny's, you have to stay at this hotel. It is warm, cozy and an adorable boutique-like hotel. Whilst staying at this hotel we didnt feel like just another guest at a big fancy hotel, we felt welcomed and at home. The value was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank domloveschocolate
Croton on Hudson, New York
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Great location. The bathroom shower was exceptionally large. The beds were comfortable. The staff was great. We would definitely stay here again. I would have preferred if the parking rate was a bit cheaper.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 551Kathy
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We got a deal on a room at Hotel Providence, so it was a good value; however, there are a few things you might want to know before booking. The hotel was formerly a department store turned dorm turned hotel. While it is clean and comfortable, there is still a bit of a different feel. i expected it to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ElizabethTy
Youngstown, Ohio
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but I wish it could have been longer. This hotel is beautiful. It's right downtown with restaurants, coffee shops and shopping just outside the doors. We stayed in the Mark Twain suite which is beautifully decorated, spacious and had everything we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank appleka2

564 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (373)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Deluxe King (PRE-RENOVATION) (52)
Viewed
Executive Junior Suite One King Bed (PRE-RENOVATION) (50)
Viewed
Superior King (PRE-RENOVATION) (40)
Viewed
Superior Two Bed (PRE-RENOVATION) (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)
Viewed
The Premier Suite One King Bed with Whirlpool Tub (PRE-RENOVATION) (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
2,278 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#6 of 12 in Providence
709 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#7 of 12 in Providence
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Price Range: ₹ 10,921 - ₹ 19,816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#2 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#7 Family Hotel in Providence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Providence staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Providence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on Lederer Wing on a upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles Q8388CMjohna, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 325 is large and comfortable....no view, but a nice room”
 of 5 bubbles lilacgirl41, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The suites are the best. we stayed in a corner one on the third floor. It was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles emile581, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“6th floor was nice!”
 of 5 bubbles F9713OQwalterc, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room without neighbors”
 of 5 bubbles fredk355, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5