We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Providence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Providence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

943 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Providence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 919: English reviews
Somerset, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We planned a one night stay on New Year's Eve. We booked it in September of 2013. Upon checking their website the rate was cheaper. They honored the rate without issue. The hotel is in a fantastic area. We walked to PPAC in about 200 steps. The hotel is immaculate. The staff is so friendly and caring. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jake749212016
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for spending New Year's Eve with us! Aspire has become Providence's NYE destination for a classic, sophisticated way to spend that special night- dinner, a great band, and dancing. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. Perhaps you will make Hotel Providence/ Aspire Seasonal...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I've stayed here twice so far, and would not hesitate to stay again! Great location that's walking distance to bars, restaurants, music venues (The Roots & Lupo's), and the local shops on Westminster. I literally have nothing bad to say about either of my stays here; the rooms are spacious with extremely comfortable beds, the valets & front desk staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindseym329
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel and restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay on both occasions. Although the vast majority of our guests enjoy the church bells, If they pose an issue, our front office agents will do whatever they can to eradicate the situation. We...

Taunton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Let me start by saying I have heard wonderful things about the Hotel Providence and had been looking forward to my theater and dinner plans only to be let down. I literally was just kicked out of the hotel bar due to a private party only just after I paid for my drinks and left a tip! A tip for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zuzu1234
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reaching out to us with your comments. I want to assure you that they are taken very seriously. I apologize for the way you were treated in our restaurant. Guests of the hotel should always have access to our food and beverage outlets regardless of whether or not the restaurant is hosting a private...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Clean hotel that was a 30 second walk to the PPAC. Rooms were nice and the staff very friendly. Close location to J&W Univ. And was very easy to get to from the highway. Didn't do much exploring as we were just there for one might to see the phantom of the opera. I would come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient for all your needs. We hope you get a chance to explore a bit more on your next visit. Our concierge and front office agents are full of excellent suggestions for a little Providence adventure! Safe Travels, Tricia...

Ellsworth, Maine
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel itself was great! Very clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Room was large, bathroom very very clean - hot water plentiful and fast. Towels - top of the line, rich and thick. Nicely decorated room. The only downside for us was...we were on the even side of the 4th floor - out the window you can see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anselsgirl
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciated our room amenities and details such as plush towels and great water pressure (a must!). I apologize for our noisy neighbors during your visit. Unfortunately, your stay coincided with their holiday fundraiser, and our...

Johnsburg, Illinois
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I really liked this hotel. Felt like I was staying in a european hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff freindly and helpful. No problem getting the staff to puy on the Bears game in the bar. Also a great location right in the arts district. We were able to walk everywhere. I also thought it was reasonably priced for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We like to think of ourselves as a New England charmer with European flair! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and our central location. We feel that Hotel Providence is a real value for the level of customer service and amenities we offer. We can compete with the big brands and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have just finished spending a wonderful four nights at Hotel Providence. Staff were always friendly, helpful and very professional. The room I stayed in was well appointed and tastefully decorated. I would stay here again if I ever have an opportunity to visit Providence again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lianne W
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our loyal guests and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe Travels, Tricia Carter Marketing Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Providence since my daughter was a freshman at one of the local universities every time I visit her. I visit several times a year due to various activities. I strayed once to stay at a different hotel that was only a few blocks closer to the University. After that mistake, I've been back at Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UniMom18
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind remarks! We wouldn't be here without loyal guests like you and your family. We truly enjoy our "university families" and look forward to seeing your names on the list of arrivals. I will pass along your comments to our wonderful desk agents, Dan and Roy. I know they shine a little brighter...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Although I feel lucky that the Hotel Providence was able to take our reservation at the last minute on a busy Waterfire weekend, I was disappointed in the overall experience. For the money, I've certainly had better stays elsewhere. First, the room was cold. We turned on the heat and left for our evening out only to return and find...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank j t
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear J.T., Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I apologize that your comments have not been addressed sooner. I am disappointed that you had a less than stellar experience with us. Their is no excuse for that. I would like to offer you a very special rate, an upgrade and V.I.P. amenities upon...

Westborough, Massachusetts
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I were in Providence for one night and chose this hotel because it wasn't a chain. Our interactions with the staff were limited, but they were quite friendly. Our room was quite small (New York small), but it was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The bathroom was also clean and the amenities were top-notch. I love a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Pamela C. Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, but concerned that you were disturbed by the sound of the church bells. When making your next reservation, please let our staff know that you would prefer a room away from the church....

569 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (373)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Deluxe King (PRE-RENOVATION) (52)
Viewed
Other (167)
Viewed
Superior King (PRE-RENOVATION) (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
2,232 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 12 in Providence
692 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#6 of 12 in Providence
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Price Range: ₹ 11,269 - ₹ 19,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Providence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#4 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#7 Family Hotel in Providence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Providence staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Providence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The suites are the best. we stayed in a corner one on the third floor. It was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles emile581, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“6th floor was nice!”
 of 5 bubbles F9713OQwalterc, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room without neighbors”
 of 5 bubbles fredk355, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor better”
 of 5 bubbles 110lilys, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“7th floor, room 720 is on the corner with two windows and views of Providence! ”
 of 5 bubbles davidhJ2548FG, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5