We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Maxwell Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Maxwell Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Maxwell Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 431: English reviews
Parker, Colorado
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Enjoyed our stay. Not a big room, but updated and clean. Had a perfect view of 3 bull elk while eating breakfast. My daughter and I had the hot tub to ourselves under the full moon and stars. Great service and good location. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Husker14er
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review

Husker14er - Love the name! Thanks for staying with us and we hope that you enjoyed your time, which it sounds like you did. We're glad that you found us and decided to stay here. The hot tub and firepit are a welcomed retreat after a day of hiking, or just relaxing. Give us a call the next time you're...

Castle Pines, Colorado
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Maxwell Inn. The room was small but well appointed and very clean. The room was very quiet even though the hotel is right off the Main Street through town. No hot food at breakfast other than instant oatmeal but it was sufficient with fruit, muffins, toast, yogurt, and hard boiled eggs. Also, the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran P
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review

Fran - Thank you for staying with us this fall and for taking the time to write a review. We've found that when people do just a bit of research on our place, they're pleasantly surprised when they arrive. It seems like each year we find new projects and ways to try and improve the experience of our guests at...

Batesville, Arkansas
Reviewed 13 November 2016

First, I stayed here during Halloween weekend of 2014, but I couldn't select that. They were wonderful people and you get some great goodies when you arrive. The chapstick was my favorite, especially after a day of horseback riding and hiking in the mountains. It was a very short walk to the shops and pubs. When you're ready to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review

Amy - Thanks for the kind words and review. We get a lot of feedback on the chapstick in the rooms, because the air up here is a bit dry. It's a huge help to a lot of people! We're close to downtown and we really work hard to make our place inviting. We're glad that you enjoyed your time...

Weilerbach, Germany
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Stayed with a group of friends here during leaf color season. All of our rooms were quite different in theme and lay-out. I was supposed to have a bathtub in my room- ended up with a shower. Fully booked so wasn't able to get room changed. Close enough to the center of town that you can walk most places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HollyBerryElf
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review

Hey there HollyBerryElf. Sometimes when traveling with a group, not everyone gets exactly what they want - especially if just one person in the group is responsible for booking the lodging or choosing the motel for everyone. Next time we might recommend you pass along any requirements you have about your stay (your budget, room requirements, etc) to the person...

Ocean City, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This Inn was awesome it was close to Rocky Mountain National Park, the room was very nice and clean and the owners are very kind, nice and helpful you could not ask for a better place to stay. Saw a herd of Elk in the parking lot and in the grassy area next to parking lot and

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mxxxxx2016
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review

Mxxxxx - Who doesn't love elk!? We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our place and that it met your needs. We've worked hard to make it inviting and comfortable here, and sometimes the local wildlife joins in our efforts as well. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on our motel.

Severna Park, Maryland
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We had decided to go to Estes Park for the Elk rut festival only a few weeks prior. There were not a lot of choices available, but we were lucky to booked a room at the Maxwell Inn. We went with fairly low expectations and were pleasantly surprised by the room and the service. During our stay we came to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review

Dennis - We're glad you found us! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we're glad that you enjoyed the room and motel. We've done quite a bit of work over the past four years - when we first bought the motel it was essentially a clean slate. We've tried to make it special and relaxing, while working...

Bellevue, NE
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Maxwell Inn was such a wonderful place to stay! Service was the best! This couple have worked very hard to make this older hotel nice again! It is a quaint little hotel, but meticulously clean and well cared for. Dana is very pleasant and will do whatever she can to accommodate your stay, both by exceptional service, and providing information...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogernrena
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review

R&R, Thank you for the kind words and for staying with us this fall. This place has been a labor of love and we are lucky to have a project in such a beautiful location! Every year we think, "Ok, this is IT for projects..." and then we usually come up with a couple more things to do. Thank you...

Reviewed 19 October 2016

Very nice and clean hotel for a reasonable price. The best though was the kindness of the owner. She answered our touristy questions and seemed available at all times. Good breakfast. Fun fire pit. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review

Jill - "Touristy questions" - that made me laugh. :) You know, over the past four years helping guests find the best parts of the Park or the best places to eat in town has really made us better stewards for the area and we often joke that we get to vacation vicariously through our guests. We do try to...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Immaculate room, well appointed and with great attention to detail (fridge and microwave in room, beautiful Tiffany-style occasional lighting, rubber tray for dirty shoes/ boots in doorway, great selection of bath/ beauty products). Super comfortable beds, and a well chosen selection of items for breakfast/ snacks available in the morning. We enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub in the garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BritAbroad2010
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review

BritAbroad - Thanks very much for your kind words! We've done what we can to make our rooms, which are on the small side compared to newer chain hotels or even larger roadside motels, but we have done what we can to make them very space efficient and comfortable! It's truly great to hear that you enjoyed the room and...

Mountlake Terrace, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We were quite happy with this hotel. Super location, located just a little ways up from the main street in town. Easily walkable to town for us, and we're not young. The room was clean, had a microwave and fridge. The woman running the place was very pleasant, and very helpful to me earlier in the year when I messed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review

Elizabeth - I'll have to tell Antonio how much you loved his pizza! We really enjoy having them so close, because it's ultra convenient for our guests having such a great place nearby. The walk to town is pretty quick, and the fact that it's a paved sidewalk away from the road makes it much more enjoyable than a traditional...

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
710 reviews
3.3 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.2 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
988 reviews
1.3 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,259 reviews
3.3 km away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenPartner Learn More
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, new mattresses, and comfortable linens and bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Price Range: ₹ 6,654 - ₹ 12,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Maxwell Inn staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Wood River, Illinois
8 months ago
Columbus, Ohio
over a year ago
Topeka, United States
27 days ago
Lubbock, Texas, United States
9 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Maxwell Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on second (top) floor, backside, so it was really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles irishfanmn, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“First floor is comfortable to stay, because parking is close, to carry luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles maxrampal, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great location. Close to the RMNP and a nice stroll to all the downtown shops.”
 of 5 bubbles rogernrena, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I always like corner rooms because you get two views of the area”
 of 5 bubbles 42triciav, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We got a King room that was in its own building actually! Great Spot!”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5