We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dao House

Expedia.comUS$ 223*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 223*
US$ 223*
US$ 223*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Dao House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dao House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here for a family reunion over the 4th of July 2014. Seeing my family was wonderful, but everything else was a disappointment. The pool was closed, the lake inaccessible and the grounds unkept. The cabin was dirty and housekeeping sporadic. Our land line phone did not work, and cell phone coverage was not available. They say they have...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Shari F
Kyle W, Manager at Dao House, responded to this review

We deeply regret that you had a poor experience here. I would like to point out a few things: your reunion organizer was made aware of the closed pool and the fact that we are still recovering from a major landslide before your group arrived; we told all of our groups that this summer along with the suggestion that they...

Indiana
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were at the Aspen Lodge last week for our son & daughter-in-law's wedding & had a wonderful experience at the Aspen Lodge. We saw the lodge before the landslide & again in April 2014 after the landslide & the progress they made cleaning up the grounds was unbelievable. Please remember this is a mountain lodge & not a 5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeaneene
Kyle W, Manager at Dao House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! So glad you had a good experience.

Ottawa
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I'm sad to say that I have to agree with the recent reviews of the Aspen Lodge. For the price we paid to stay in a modest cabin, we could have stayed at a luxury hotel for several nights. The owners are working to recover from the devastation suffered last year, but a better business model would be to align...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bytown
Kyle W, Manager at Dao House, responded to this review

Fair enough, thank you for your feedback. I will pass it on to our management.

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place suffered a catastrophic mud slide in 2013. I stayed here over the 4th of July 2014. They are clearly not ready to open. Pool: closed. No masseuse available. Lake inaccessible. Grounds muddy and weeds gone wild. Cabins: dirty. Housecleaning: hit and miss. Food: terrible. Athletic center: unattended. Stay away.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark F
Kyle W, Manager at Dao House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is valued. We are actively working to address the issues you listed.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and didn't get the wedding rate (miss). Staff were incredibly friendly, especially in the stables where they let my daughter help feed the horses (hit). Beautiful setting and view (hit). Overpriced cabin for the very basic, functional room (miss). Don't count on the free breakfast. It was terrible and started way too late for anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter K
Kyle W, Manager at Dao House, responded to this review

Hello Peter, In order to receive the group discount for a wedding, you must tell the reservation agent that you are making a reservation for that particular wedding. Thank you for the feedback regarding the timing of breakfast - I will pass on the suggestion that we begin it earlier during our busy season.

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I recently stayed in the lodge for a family reunion. I was glad I was in the lodge and not in a cabin as the cabins I saw seemed a little dated. My room was very pleasant but overpriced. I understand they are still working on the grounds from the mudslide but seems as though they could have cut the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
Kyle W, Manager at Dao House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Did you see any of our cabins from the inside? Yes, they look dated from the outside, but 8 out of 10 were renovated in 2012 and are very nice inside. You might have seen one of the two that haven't been renovated yet.

Elwood, Nebraska
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had my daughters wedding there 6-14-14 and we all came from Nebraska and this was a mess from day 1. Different prices each time we called. People that stayed at the Lodge all got different prices on there rooms from $165 to $250 per night for the same rooms. Bottle of beer was $5 and a small mixed drink was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Scott J
Kyle W, Manager at Dao House, responded to this review

Scott, we sincerely regret that your experience here was not as you expected and we've taken action based on your feedback. We would like to point out that your guests were charged the contracted rate for the room type they chose when they made the reservation, and those do vary, as well as the contracted rate for drinks, all of...

Firestone, Colorado
Reviewed 4 September 2013

No T.V. remote. Messed up our reservation by showing it for the day before, when it was booked the same day. They fixed it, but only because they had a room available. The place was nice and quiet, and they were very friendly. The semi private porch with a view of the mountain behind was really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamacjohnson
Kyle W, Manager at Dao House, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Was looking for somewhere to get away for the weekend, needing some nature and relaxation. Words are hard to describe the magic that we experienced here - the lodge alone is grandiose, yet humble. There are cabins on-site that are comfortably situated in proximity to the Lodge and the Restaurant/Lounge. The staff is hard-working and no request or question went...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank srquil
Kyle W, Manager at Dao House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Homer, Alaska
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I recently were married at the Aspen Lodge and could not have been happier with how it turned out! Master Chen, Will, Samantha, Robin, and all of the staff were extremely friendly and went above and beyond what was expected. We chose the Aspen Lodge based on the laid-back atmosphere, incredible views of Meeker and Longs with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie H

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
10.5 km away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
443 reviews
10.8 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
10.3 km away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#41 of 78 in Estes Park
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort
10.7 km away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#14 of 78 in Estes Park
218 reviews
10.7 km away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#13 of 78 in Estes Park
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful mountain lodge surrounded by Rocky Mountain National Park offering both lodge rooms and guest suites. Full service wellness conference and retreat center with year round activities including horseback riding, hiking, and biking. Banquet Center for conferences and large groups. Meeting spaces with conference services and on-site catering. Beautiful Mountain vistas combined with on-site lodging make this an ideal Wellness and Corporate Conference venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dao House

Address: 6120 State Highway 7, Estes Park, CO 80517-6401 (Formerly Aspen Lodge Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Price Range: ₹ 14,609 - ₹ 16,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dao House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Dao House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dao House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony for breathtaking views of Longs Peak.”
jonvdaniel, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet location, good facilities, excellent service and staff”
, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Consider the hotel versus the cabins”
jwhome100, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Note comments on shower; WiFi worked well only in lobby”
Beagle1946, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an updated room with working showers”
yvon2esun, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 223* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 223
TravelocityUS$ 223
Hotels.comUS$ 223
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates