We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok I'm not a snob, but I have to say the word motel did somewhat put me off initially. However I can now say I am well and truly a motel convert thanks to this beautiful little gem in Franz Josef. The room was spacious, clean and modern with fantastic facilities including appliances to rustle up meals and a huge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ellie_in_Perth
Beijing, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room 17 is tiny. Little room to open luggage. Bathroom was enough big to keep luggage. Bed twin and horrible for two to sleep. Clean and nothing smelled inside. Extra heater in room. Wi-fi so slow you can't even imagine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meppu
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Stayed here for one night, and was very pleased. The Motel looked to be recently cleaned and painted and was well appointed. We had a room on the top level, with views of the mountains. Nice place and recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SILVANO C
Reviewed 12 December 2016

The room was terrific and the motel is in a great location with easy walking to shops, cafes, restaurants, info.centres, etc. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. Laundry facilities are available

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

The rooms are very spacious, with kitchenette - sink, fridge, microwave, hot plate, crockery and cutlery. It has sitting space and a table to eat at. The bathroom has a room heater which was perfect after a rainy day. The beds are comfortable and the room clean. The location is very central and the staff were friendly and helpful. Looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We booked into this motel after a six hour drive from Christchurch so we're looking for somewhere comfortable to have a good nights rest, we were not disappointed. We had a very cosy comfortable room with all the amenities. The location was great just a short stroll from restaurants and bars. Value was also second to none.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek P
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review

Hi Derek, Thanks for your really positive feedback. It really makes our day! I hope you enjoyed your travels south. Kindly Adam, Tonia and Christine.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I stayed here when my original hotel had been double booked. Tonya at the front desk was efficient and very helpful at making suggestions for eating and shopping. The room was perfectly adequate. Clean. Large comfortable bed. Hot shower. Basic kitchen facilities. I ordered continental breakfast the night before and everything was in my fridge when I returned from dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JimS48
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Overall, a very comfortable stay. The room is a little small, but we weren't in it very much, so that didn't matter. Very helpful front desk staff. Easy walking distance to the Glacier Pools and King Tiger restaurant, plus the main drag of town. Also easy walking distance to the Callery Gorge Trail. Our only real complaint is that our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jel172
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Bella Vista Motel offers a first class budget accommodation. Staff were friendly and helpful and check in was painless. The room only was clean , spacious and provided a large king size bed , heating with self catering facilities. Recommend it to all those with a limited budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
Adam H, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thanks for staying with us while in Franz. I'm pleased you felt that we had all the important things covered for your stay. Cheers Adam

Reviewed 9 November 2016

The Room was quite good and very clean. Service was also great. The woman at the front desk gave us very good locations and places to visit during our stay and it is quite convenient. There is a few restaurants next door and a supermarket down the road. Overall, it was quite a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheKoolKid

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
996 reviews
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
583 reviews
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
291 reviews
0.1 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#5 of 14 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: ₹ 5,358 - ₹ 16,219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Has a kitchette so you can cook meals, adequate equipment to do so.”
 of 5 bubbles Shaz1000, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had one it had a good view and the sun in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles tabbycatzPoole, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Up stairs with a mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles deborahbC3444RB, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are well located. Stairs to the upper level.”
 of 5 bubbles N6846MEroberth, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you have any heavy cases ask for ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles JimS48, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay