We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 552: English reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Good location but very overpriced for the room we received. Check-in time of 3pm is too late. No extras in room. Given the wrong information for our tour by the staff. Quite disappointing that we spent so much for so little.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen H, It is disappointing to read that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I totally agree with you that a 3pm check-in time would be too late, especially as we promise to have guest rooms ready by 2pm. Unfortunately, I was not able to locate your booking in our hotel reservations system so could not complete...

Franz Josef, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

My friends and I have enjoyed a mouthwatering 3 course dinner at the Canavans Restaurant. We were warmly welcomed by Rebekah at The Moa Bar. She was friendly and attentive. Also our well-experienced waitress Sarah from Germany was caring, hospitable and very professional. These two ladies made our night enjoyable. The food is well portioned and creatively presented. The taste...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BesterNJ
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BesterNJ, Thank you very much for your feedback. I appreciate the time you took to review our hotel and Canavans Restaurant. You will be pleased to hear that we are only a few days away from reopening our Glasshouse Restaurant for the summer season. The Glasshouse Restaurant is offering family dining in a relaxed setting. Thank you also for...

Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Got lucky and was able to book this hotel through Priceline the day before as everything else nearby was sold out. The outside of the hotel seemed a little dated and sketchy, but the rooms were great. We had the king bed and single setup for my group of 3 and it worked perfect. There was enough room that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie N, Thank you for taking the time to review the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier on TripAdvisor.com. I am please do hear that we were able to assist you with a last minute vacancy here at the hotel over at time where most accommodation providers have been fully booked. Thank you also for pointing out the modern design...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 9 January 2016

The Hotel is conveniently located on the main road and just about 200 meters from the main town center as anyway Franz Josef Glacier town is very small since it can take maximum 10-15 minutes to walk thru it from one end to the other. Also this main road has few restaurants, bars & café’s and the rest are on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anuraag M
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anuraag M, Thank you for posting your detailed review on TripAdvisor.com. It is great to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and would not hesitate to share your experience with others. We would love to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel if you ever decide to visit the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island again...

Canton, Michigan
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Every amenity at hotel is much more than what we expected. This hotel was the best we stayed in during our trip to New Zealand and Australia. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Subra J
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Subra J, Thank you very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. I am pleased to read that you have truly enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in the Glacier Country region. Please stay in touch and visit again. Yours sincerely, Alexander

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

The glacier really makes a trip here worth it. Stunning scenery, and very memorable stay. This hotel is a bed to sleep in when you're passing through Franz Josef. Relatively clean, and in a great location for the glacier tour activities. Also good proximity to the restaurants in town. Unfortunately, the whole town is 3 stars, as the food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hooray7
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jdbier, We appreciate the time you have taken to send us your feedback. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your visit to Franz Josef Glacier and the general location of the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier that offers a comfortable walking distance to most restaurants; bars and tour activities in town. Please stay in touch and...

North Yorkshire
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

I don't think the chef can tell the difference between arborio rice and shortgrain rice. My venison osso bucco was inedible. This is a great shame because my hallumi starter was delicious. The room we are staying in is fine clean and comfortable. We changed from a room with a shower to a room with a bath and are delighted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KipperNorthYorkshire
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KipperNorthYorkshire, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to see that you have not enjoyed your visit to our restaurant, despite a delicious starter that was served to you. I am further disappointed to see that this was enough to overshadow your overall experience at the hotel. Please contact me directly if there is anything I can do...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Where do I start. This was a 23 day family holiday of both islands, and this accommodation was the most overrated, overpriced disappointment of them all. The room was clean but, is in desperate need of refurbishment and does not meet the criteria of a 4 star room. The room was stuffy with no air flow, and as there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lauraclaiire
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lauraclaiire, I am sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay with us at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. Please contact me personally if there is anything I can do to change your perception of the hotel. Best regards, Alexander

San Diego, California
Reviewed 6 January 2016

The rooms were pretty standard as motels go. Clean and comfortable, but without any real soul. Centrally located in the town. If you plan to visit the region I would suggest Franz Josef rather than the town of Fox Glacier which is much smaller. Overall this hotel was an OK place to stay, but it was a bit on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveJ-SanDiego
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SteveJ-SanDiego, I appreciate the time you have taken to send us your feedback. Best regards, Alexander

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We had a nice room on the ground floor with a small balcony with a great view of the glacier. The toiletries in the bathroom were really nice. The car park was full, but were able to park easily on the road out side. We went for a walk up to the glacier, which was well worth doing...I am not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesMyrtilles
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lesMyrtilles, Thank you for sending us your nice review and for staying with us at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. Best regards, Alexander

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,086 reviews
0.1 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
643 reviews
0.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
318 reviews
0.2 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
287 reviews
0.2 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: ₹ 9,080 - ₹ 22,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors have more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles camtravel2014, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites are quite large”
 of 5 bubbles 280AnnB, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No views hotel has”
 of 5 bubbles 192kunalg, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring a folding table”
 of 5 bubbles TNBOY, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles NipunKhetan, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5