We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

573 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 536: English reviews
Start your review of Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
 Click to rate
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

As I sit in my "superior room" in the Douglas wing of the hotel I wish I could add sound to the review. The room is in the more modern wing of the hotel. No A/C so the windows are open allowing you to hear the constant thumping of the helicopters across the road and the bar across the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon C, Thank you for your review and for staying at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. February is the peak month of our high season with close to 3000 visitors daily to Franz Josef. It is certainly buzzing around town at this time of the year. Guests who would like to enjoy a bit more 'peace and quiet'...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

this is a nice hotel in a great central position in the town. We were in the annex across from the hotel. The negatives are the staff were a tadge unfriendly and there were no lifts where we stayed. The decor was dated but the rooms were a good size. The shower thermostat appeared broken and delivered scorching water, then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toffee290
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear toffee290, Thank you for providing feedback following your stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. I appreciate being made aware of any service discrepancies you have experienced during our stay. I will certainly look into the water fluctuation issue you have experienced so thank you for pointing this out to me. Best regards, Alexander

British Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

During our bus tour, we stayed at the scenic hotel Franz Josef Glacier. Nice hotel and we had a balcony this time which was nice to sit out on enjoying a glass of wine. Hotel was close to stores and everything else in town. Hotel had nice bathroom products. Wifi was included. There was no A\C but a fan was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BritishColumbiaKathy
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BritishColumbiaKathy, Thank you for sending us your feedback following your recent stay at the Scenci Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. It is rewarding to read that you have enjoyed your time with us. Best wishes, Alexander

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The most memorable thing about our stay here was the bed. It was luxuriously comfortable and we had a really good night's sleep. Lovely spacious room with a view of the glacier in the distance. Very clean and well-appointed. Well placed for restaurants and shops. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good - with stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liz J, Thank you for putting pen to paper and sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor.com community. I am please to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes, Alexander

Bayern
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great stay there in the Scenic. As we arrived much too early we got the advise to walk to the glacier first. Great advise as it started to rain on our walk back. :-) In the hotel we got an Upgrade to the other wing which we appreciated a lot, thanks again. The room was very big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel J, Thank you for posting a review of the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier on TripAdvisor.com. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep us in good memories and visit again. Best wishes, Alexander

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As noted by other reviewers it rains a lot in Franz Joseph and our 2 night stay was no exception! There is one double and one single bed in the room and a couple of chairs. There is no air con so sometimes you have to open the sliding doors to cool the room down. The shower worked well and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surrey 13
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Surrey 13, Thank you for putting pen to paper and for sending us your review of the hotel. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards, Alexander

Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived in the pouring rain, not unusual for the west coast. Our room was comfortable and functional with a comfortable bed but not much of a view. There was a covered walkway from our room to Reception, which showed how often it rained. We had been allocated places in the upper restaurant. Dinner was good, but breakfast the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kfrancis
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kfrancis, Thank you for your feedback. I understand that at times the breakfast service (especially the coffee service) can be slowish. For this reason we have installed full automated full bean coffee machines at our breakfast buffet for self service. This free service was most likely not pointed out to you and I apologoise for any inconveniences this may...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you so much to scenic hotel - we had a really lovely stay! The room was clean, very close to everything in town, breakfast was great. We really enjoyed our stay! There were a couple things though, the bed was really soft but it caved in which made it hard to find a comfy spot, the shower was awful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellovex4240
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear travellovex4240, I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. Please stay in touch and visit again. Best wishes, Alexander

Cheshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived without booking and requested 3 nights accommodation. The receptionist worked hard to find a room for the 3 nights as there were coach parties booked in for each night but she found one. The room had a double and single bed with all the facilities we needed. Breakfasts were great, with a wide choice of hot and cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobalWanderer10
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GlobalWanderer10, I am pleased to hear that the team was able to assist with your last minute booking. Considering that you chose to stay with us during one of our busiest time you can consider yourself really lucky that rooms were available. Please keep us in good memories. Best wishes, Alexander

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has fairly small rooms. Standard size and very soft double bed, large screen tv, small but effective shower and coffee / tea facilities. The rooms have seen better days. Restaurant food for both dinner and breakfast were good and the staff were friendly although service was rather slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Douglas B, Thank you for posting a review of the hotel on TripAdvisor.com. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you return to the hotel in the future. Best regards, Alexander

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (190)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
617 reviews
0.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,043 reviews
0.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
308 reviews
0.2 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#5 of 14 in Franz Josef
279 reviews
0.2 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: ₹ 9,614 - ₹ 27,881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles NipunKhetan, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“consult Sonal Sharma, he will understand your requirements and help you to choose right room”
 of 5 bubbles jessgidda, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for higher up floors.”
 of 5 bubbles tanikah2017, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Definitely get a double Superior room.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bigger room”
 of 5 bubbles 984evelyns, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5