We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

643 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 588: English reviews
Start your review of Te Waonui Forest Retreat
 Click to rate
British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife was on a tour of New Zealand, when she stayed one night at the "Te Waonui Forest Retreat - Franz Josef Glacier". This just happened to be on Valentine's Day! I was not able to join my wife on this trip, and instead I was sitting at home when I contacted the Hotel; asking for help in surprising...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig T
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rough around the edges but nice, clean, modern accommodations in gorgeous setting with decent food. For the price, would have expected a bit more polish but this is probably the best hotel/restaurant Franz Josef has to offer. Excellent in town location yet hotel sited perfectly to give sense of privacy and seclusion. Due to difficulty of securing reservations, we only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June R
Michigan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What an amazing hotel to spend the night. My husband and I were on a tour and got to spend two nights there. The room was huge with heated (!) bathroom floors. The room came with an expresso machine. The only draw back in that great hotel room was the lighting. It could have been better. The other good thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonandSheron
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed in many awesome hotels in some very remote parts of the world. This was NOT one of them. For the price we expected something slightly better than what was basically a poor motel experience. This is clearly a business based on captive bus trips and that is basically how it felt. I have found worse beds in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeachSwaggie
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Beachswaggie When I first read your review my heart sank, especially your closing line suggesting TW is the first Hotel to ever receive a scathing review from you. It is clear however, reading your all-or-nothing ratings of some reputable international counterparts that this is far from the case which also puts things into a clearer perspective in my mind....

Southampton
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We were upgraded to this hotel from the sister hotel next door and really enjoyed it. Despite being near the main road, it felt like you were in the rain forest. The outside didn't look much, but the rooms were great, the staff very good and the (inclusive) breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed the traditional entertainment in the evening too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Marilyn E Thank you for your feedback and glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Yours sincerely Richard

Booker Bay, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We enjoyed a one night special stay at this hotel. The location is within easy walk of the shops, bars and services, but is tucked away in a tranquil rainforest vista. Upon arrival we were greeted by a traditional Maori welcome , and the hotel duty Manager to explain all amenities.A very special touch! Our ground floor room, whilst a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Ron T Thank you for your feedback and glad that we ensured your stay at Te Waonui Forest Retreat was such a pleasant one. Yours sincerely Richard

Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is designed and situated so that you dont get a sense that it's completely full even what it is. That makes for a relaxed atmosphere – however if you're there when the hotel is full expect to wait at dinner (or otherwise signal you'd like to eat in under two hours!)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank razzyblue
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Razzyblue Thank you for your feedback and advice to others. We find that people are generally not in a rush, however, if guests after weary after an action-packed day we are happy to assist in this regard. Yours sincerely Richard

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

There is no doubt that this is a very good, first class hotel in an excellent location. However, there are things about it i do not like too much. First, as you pull up at the main entrance you are greeted by a young man dressed as a Maori. That, of course is fine, but then he introduces himself as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrookieLondon
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear CrookieLondon Great to meet you and thank you for your feedback as promised. Yours sincerely Richard

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were upgraded to the Te Waonici Retreat (with the same group) and the room was great. Staff professional and helpful, small town with amenities and adequate restaurants nearby. The main hotel looked good too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael n
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for your positive review of your time in Franz Josef Glacier and more specifically Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Yours sincerely Richard

O'Fallon, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights here and wish it could have been longer. Not sure of the cost because we were traveling with Globus Tours and the hotels were included. Our room didn't have a mountain view but I believe some do. The staff was excellent and always greeted and waited on us with a smile. The restaurant had great breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garyheim
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Garyheim Thank you for choosing us and I am pleased that you found Te Waonui to be one of your highlights of New Zealand. Yours sincerely Richard

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,084 reviews
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
317 reviews
0.2 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
286 reviews
0.3 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Address: 3 Wallace Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: ₹ 32,876 - ₹ 47,320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Te Waonui Forest Retreat staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Queensland, Australia
Cornelius, North Carolina
over a year ago
San Francisco
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Te Waonui Forest Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay more than one night!”
 of 5 bubbles craigt319, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“From what I could see they are all of equally very good standard.”
 of 5 bubbles CrookieLondon, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Getting upgraded is very helpful”
 of 5 bubbles michaelnW1133CZ, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The front desk has discount coupons for the hot baths.”
  • View from entry next to bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Garyheim, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You are in a rain forest type Hotel, Request a view when booking,”
  • View form ground floor room
 of 5 bubbles Mealfinder, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5