We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Edithvale, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Just off the Main rd on the way to Lake Matheson, great motel and the rooms are clean and modern, warm and the linen was clean. The owners are very helpful and the view out the back well...its not that often you get greeted by Mt Cook. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Pretty much everything is well located in Fox Glacier, but Sunset motel was very clean, spacious and a pleasant surprise. The manager was also very friendly and told us where to go to see the glow worms a nice and unexpected night time excursion. Must do the beautiful walk to Lake Matheson if you can

Helpful?
1 Thank garnik01
UAE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We, a family of four including two grown up children stayed in this motel for one night in 1st week of August 2016 while going to greymouth. I booked the motel seeing positive reviews. But was totally disappointed. it's a bit inside from the main road and locationwise not very convenient. The rooms were spacious and furnishing was ok. But,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ADTravelerUae
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes we do have a check out time of 10am which is a standard time across all accomodation providers in New Zealand. Our location is a 2 minute drive from the main highway that goes through Fox Glacier, so I'm not sure why you have said that the location is inconvenient. Also the fact that... More 

Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stayed here in April 2016. The room was large and had great sunset views but also sunrise over the mountains too. There was a kitchenette and the room was well equipped. When we checked in we asked about helicopter flights over the glaciers and we had really good advice and a quick phone call booked us in and included... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liney1966
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We have been there with family and booked 4 rooms and only was there for 12 hours and when we checked out they charged us $100 a night each room for cleaning as they mentioned it was extra clean for them. Trust me we have used just a shower in morning. NOT AT ALL RECOMMENDED

Helpful?
1 Thank Shivam V
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mr Verma. We have been waiting for this review, as threatened by you. Yes you were charged a $100.00 cleaning fee for your rooms.... not per room. This was down to the disgusting mess of food, soiled nappies and the state the rooms were left in. It is a shame that we are unable to... More 

Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I liked the room but my wife did not like the bed. She felt she could feel me moving anytime I rolled over. Otherwise a good choice. Off the main road and consequently quiet. Nice view of Mt. Cook out the bedroom window.

Helpful?
Thank poosu43
Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I book a room for 5 people, so I got a family room, 1 main room and sub room. 2 king bed and 1 sofa bed, with kitchenette inside. The cooking tool is good. the Bathroom is big. All room has heater. Everything is great compare to the price. Recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Ohmy_Attakorn
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2016

On road to Lake Mathieson, so a little out of town, very clean and made most welcome from staff. Parking available. Rooms good size with nice view over Mountains. Wifi available although little slow, but you are on the West Coast.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We stayed late March and had booked online (for which you will get free wifi; just don't expect lightning fast speed; you're out in the country!). Reception was welcoming and helpful with a map and suggestions + small carton of milk. Our room had a Scandinavian (like Ikea!) feel to it with an excellent use of space. The word "hob"... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flannery52
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

What can be said about a motel room that you don't know already? The room was nice, nothing over the top but very solid room choice. The shower had plenty of hot water, just not a lot of water pressure. Bed was perfect, not hard or soft. The perfect stopping spot after a long day driving.

Helpful?
Thank Rex-N-Rolls

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.0 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
323 reviews
0.1 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
255 reviews
0.8 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
943 reviews
1.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
344 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: ₹ 6,614 - ₹ 13,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The east-facing rooms probably have a nicer outlook.”
 of 5 bubbles maureen056, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms in a row so all have same view.”
 of 5 bubbles n6ta, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view but get up early anyway and catch the sunrise as well as the sunset.”
 of 5 bubbles Liney1966, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Please do not stay as they charge your card after stay for cleaning etc”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Request room with view to mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles D7665XCbarbaras, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay