We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Motel
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Linsey was very welcoming on our arrival and told us places to go and what to do in the area, including where to see the glow worms nearby. My husband left part of his phone charger at the previous night’s accommodation and Bruce was kind enough to give him a free one. Linsey was very accommodating with extending our check...

Thank blueskytravellers
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The motel had cooking facilioties and was only a short drive to the general store for supplies. It was also less than ten minutes to drive to the Fox Glacier road. The host here was full of local knowledge, not just for the Glacier but beyond. We ended up visiting a number of suggested look out points and locations and...

Thank Richard W
Linslade, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We did not take up our paid reservation at Sunset Motel as we were forced to change our route towards the end of our month’s stay in NZ. We had planned to stay overnight at the Sunset Motel en route to Greymouth where we were to drop off our rental car and then take the train across the South Island...

Thank Jan D
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The trains have been disrupted since January after a fire in the pass between Christchurch and the West Coast. Many people have been affected but have made alternative plans with buses or by extending their car rental agreements. We have had many people disappointed that the train had been cancelled but they have carried on...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently spent 2 nights here and were very happy with our room. It was very clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette. All rooms are ground level with our room towards the back of the complex. We had a sliding door that opened to lovely mountain views and a beautiful sunrise in the morning. We would definitely stay here...

Thank Yiayia2014
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great motel. We stayed two nights. Both owners we spoke to were friendly, helpful and made check-in simple plus advised on things to do and see. Motel is set down a road with a 10-12 min walk to town on a good paved road. The motel was very quiet (no chicken issues for us!). Units are large,...

Thank Steve6244
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked in for night and got lovely room at the back (16) overlooking the glacier. Unfortunately it was misty and rainy the next morning so we were not able to do the helicopter ride we planned. Karlene on reception was very friendly and helpful and recommended places to eat and visit in area. Definitely recommend.

Thank Sandra R
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stay elsewhere! This was literally the only unpleasant experience we had in an otherwise incredible two weeks in New Zealand. The room was dirty. There was food stuck to the appliances, the counters were dirty and there was thick dust all over the vents. The drinking glasses were dirty. The bed was old and thin. Springs were popping up out...

Thank evancorn
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

I think most people will see through your false review. You were unhappy before you even arrived. Due to the Booking.com cancellation policy you would have been charged for your booking and you had wanted to cancel earlier. You must have cleaned the room before you left, as when I entered the room it was spotless. You can see from...

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Sunset motel is one of not many accomodation providers in the Fox Glacier area. I stayed in the studio unit with mountain view. Yes, the view is great especially through the pane of window that's located above the sliding doors, you can actually see the snow capped peaks though the window. The sliding door leads to the backyard or front...

Lexington, MA
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The Sunset Motel features well designed rooms that include a kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator. The Motel is located a short walk from the center of Fox Glacier. It does not have a restaurant, but there are many great places do eat within walking distance include the The Last Kitchen and the Lake Matheson Cafe. Worth a walk around Lake...

2Thank WellTraveled3
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I only rate this three stars because I want people to realize it is an Ok place to stay with limited amenities. When you have a flat rating system (1-5 stars) it is hard to factor in cost and all the accoutrements that one can consider when picking a place to stay.What do I mean by limited? Well, for example,...

Thank travelingman826

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (83)
Room/Suite (25)
View from Room (32)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Videos (1)
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (19)
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.0 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
343 reviews
0.7 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
168 reviews
0.1 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,297 reviews
1.0 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: ₹ 4,908 - ₹ 11,976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room number 8 which on a clear day had views of Mt Cook”
 of 5 bubbles blueskytravellers, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are ground level and on a quiet street in the country.”
 of 5 bubbles Yiayia2014, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a mountain view”
  • View from patio
 of 5 bubbles paulmE7674AM, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The east-facing rooms probably have a nicer outlook.”
 of 5 bubbles maureen056, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms in a row so all have same view.”
 of 5 bubbles n6ta, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5