We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
4/9/2017 5/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

    11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    4/9/2017 5/9/2017
    Lowest price we found
    US$ 214
    View Deal
    Traveller (91)
    Room & Suite (30)
    Dining (27)
    Overview
    • Excellent13%
    • Very good23%
    • Average33%
    • Poor16%
    • Terrible15%
    Travellers talk about
    “no lift” (5 reviews)
    “star hotel” (4 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast Buffet
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Wheelchair Access
    Laundry Service
    Air Conditioning
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
    Deals (1)
    4 Sep5 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Standard Double
      US$ 214
      View Deal
    • Standard Double
      US$ 214
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 1
    Aspen Court Franz Josef
    1,182 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
    565 reviews
    #7 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
    342 reviews
    #11 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
    629 reviews
    #9 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (190)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages
    There are newer reviews for Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
    See the most recent reviews

    21 - 25 of 169 reviews

    Reviewed 19 January 2017

    I read a lot of mixed reviews of the hotel and was little skeptical at first for the booking but now I believe I made the right choice. The hotel and its management was generous enough to upgrade our room as we are on Honeymoon...More

    Thank pswetaagarwal
    Response from Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox GlacierResponded 6 April 2017

    Good morning pswetaagarwal, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. We are delighted you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. I do hope you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand. Kind...More

    A TripAdvisor Member
    47
    Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

    I was 7 month pregnant when I visited New Zealand this past Christmas with my husband and 5 year old daughter. What a beautiful country, until I had to spend 2 nights in this hole hotel. The beds are 20 years old and broken, when...More

    2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    Response from Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox GlacierResponded 6 April 2017

    Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. I anticipate you may have been booked into our Climbers Rest Backpackers accommodation, an accommodation block that is managed by our property...More

    Reviewed 4 January 2017

    The location is great - a few minutes to the trail to go see Fox Glacier, and right by restaurants and stores. Staffs I interacted with were very nice and friendly. This hotel was very pricy for what they offer - we paid about $210NZD...More

    Thank HM1212
    Response from Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox GlacierResponded 4 January 2017

    Good morning HM1212, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fox Glacier in the future. Kind regards, Melissa...More

    Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

    The quality of the rooms was grand (i.e. Ok)... but at $180 room only, it was by no means cheap. We didn't book in advance and rocked up... they did let us see the room before we chose to stay and they were OK, but...More

    Thank Johnny C
    Response from Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox GlacierResponded 4 January 2017

    Good morning Johnny C, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. Our accommodation rooms have been recently refurbished and we are extremely proud of the level of accommodation we have available...More

    Reviewed 12 December 2016

    Unfortunately accommodation is limited and, therefore expensive, in Fox Glacier and we left our booking too late and Heartland Hotel was our only option. The hotel is old and, although our room was renovated it was still disappointing. We had an end room and had...More

    1  Thank Sallyjanep
    Response from Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox GlacierResponded 4 January 2017

    Good morning Sallyjanep, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. It is a shame to hear you were unable to enjoy a peaceful nights sleep due to the noise coming from the neighbouring room. We have taken your...More

    Aspen Court Franz Josef
    1,182 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
    565 reviews
    #7 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
    342 reviews
    #11 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
    629 reviews
    #9 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Room amenities
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 77 - US$ 260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 167
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • West Coast Region >
    • Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) >
    • Fox Glacier
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (91)
    Room & Suite (30)
    Dining (27)
    Hotel & Grounds (40)
    Bathroom (8)
    Nearby
    Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
    565 reviews
    15.87 km away
     
    Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
    342 reviews
    16.05 km away
     
    Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
    629 reviews
    15.98 km away
     
    Aspen Court Franz Josef
    1,182 reviews
    16.35 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Last Kitchen
    689 reviews
    .20 km away
    Bigfoot Bar and Restaurant
    132 reviews
    .24 km away
    Hobnail Cafe
    194 reviews
    .11 km away
    The White Pub Cafe & Bar
    92 reviews
    .00 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Skydive Fox Glacier
    177 reviews
    .37 km away
    Fox Glacier Hiking Trails
    334 reviews
    .12 km away
    Alpine Adventure Centre Tours
    34 reviews
    .16 km away
    Minnehaha Walk
    18 reviews
    .32 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    ankurmalik83
    7 January 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Melissa-A-Alexander | Property representative |
    Good morning, We have a local shuttle operator who would be able to take you to any of the local attractions that you are interested in. Our reception team would be happy to assist with booking this on your arrival to Fox... More
    0
    Votes
    ankurmalik83
    6 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Melissa-A-Alexander | Property representative |
    Good morning, We have a local shuttle operator who would be able to take you to the local attractions - our team at reception would happily assist with booking this on your arrival to Fox Glacier. Alternatively there are... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Don't have a room on the street, can hear everything that goes on!"
    Read review
    "Ground floor if you must stay here"
    Read review
    "Go elsewhere"
    Read review
    "Check your TV is working."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing