We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Peppers Carrington Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peppers Carrington Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

A beautiful setting with friendly service. A long way from anywhere. But provides all activities , golf, tennis , pool, shooting range walks etc. however the service is a bit haphazard . No toilet paper except the spare roll hidden in a cupboard. Not always anyone at reception desk to help when needed. A fairly small dinner menu but really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marileemay
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one of those significant anniversary events. ;-) Andre, Ryan (?) on the front desk were very helpful but the stand out person for us was La, who served us the most wonderful meal. She was just lovely and helped to make our evening so very special. Nothing was too much trouble and she is such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank womblers2004
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. I will forward your comments to Lah and to our front desk team. We are looking forward to having you again as a guest. Kind regards, Manon

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had high hopes for a great long weekend away at this self-proclaimed luxurious four star resort. The setting is absolutely breathtaking. Sadly, the resort does not live up to the expectation. Firstly, when we arrived the stairwell light was out and the bathroom amenities in the en-suite consisted of two skin care tubes and a body gel. No shampoo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don B
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Don, Thank you very much for your detailed review. This is much appreciated. We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our resort. We are a qualified 4 star resort, which was rated by Qualmark in September 2016. However, I do agree that the villas/resort need updating and more maintenance. We were very busy...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

My son was married at this Resort on 28 January 2017. Absolutely beautiful wedding venue. Ginny Pearson the Event Planner was amazing. She did a superb job of organisation. The food was delicious and upmarket, great chef. The staff were so hospitable, pleasant, checked on every person whether they enjoyed the meal and was there anything else they could do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4252loulou
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Loulou, Thank you so much for your great feedback, much appreciated. We are very happy to hear that your son had a great wedding, that the staff was hospitable and that you enjoyed the food. I will pass on your comments to the F&B team and to our awesome Events Coordinator (Ginny Pearson). Thank you for recommending our venue....

devon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a shame, great location and facilities but lacking attention to detail. Golf course looked muderously difficult and pricey so wasn't tempted to play. Nice to be able to hire a buggy though for 20 dollars and take a drive round and also drive up to the vineyard in it for supper. First bedroom shown was unacceptable as it smelt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmorganDevon
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your review. We are happy that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed our winery cafe. However, we are very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience at our resort with the room and also breakfast. I have forwarded your comments to our General Manager. Despite this, we hope to be...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have twice in past bought and enjoyed the Play & Stay option and the breakfast And dinners were a particular highlight. Delicious. I am more than a little concerned having read some of your recent reviews that the food is poor. I am bringing 8 people for play & Stay on 30th & 31st March 2017 and have told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellpell246
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ellpell, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Peppers Carrington Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and dinner. Our new head chef is excellent, he definitely won't let you down. We are looking forward to welcome you and your guests at the end of March...

Stewarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Golf course was in terrible state and totally overpriced. Hire clubs were not sorted. Left handed clubs were mixed with right handed clubs. After Golf there is no bar to have a drink or a bite to eat. The nearest place was a kilometre away on top of a hill. Room service did not make up room till 2pm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flying441
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your stay. We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. It is very dry so it will make the golf course look terrible. Our fairways is what makes our golf course look so good and unfortunately without having any rain...

Te Puke, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I did not stay at the resort but thought we would pop in for a drink late Saturday afternoon and to enjoy the view. La, a lovely, friendly waitress, opened up the bar for us and then recommended that we stay for dinner too. It was so good!! Top blue cheese souffle and pears for entrees and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Igna M
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Igna, Thank you very much for your awesome feedback, we appreciate it. We are very happy to hear that our staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you enjoyed your dinner at our restaurant. I have forwarded your good comments to Lah and our kitchen staff. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon and hopefully next time...

Oxford
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of our mini-road trip. The villa(?) was attached to a golf course and is perfectly spacious, with decent sized rooms and a handy open kitchen if you are entertaining over a longer period. There is a good sized, but slightly exposed pool with no shade for those wanting to hide from the sun....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moodyman77
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that there were no umbrellas available at the pool and that our cleaning staff didn't remove the cobwebs. I have forwarded your comments to the concerned staff. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again....

Axbridge
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Location excellent, on golf course, near beaches, very peaceful. Rooms spacious and well furnished, good facilities i.e. golf, swimming pool, bar and games room (when open). Winery cafe disappointing, dining room disappointing. We stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights over Christmas, 24th - 27th December. They purport to be a first class establishment offering the best in luxury accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanAxbridge
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you very much for your honest feedback. I have forwarded your comments to our General Manager and to the personnel concerned. We are glad to hear that you liked our accommodation and facilities. However, we are very sorry for this bad experience. In New Zealand it is a common practice to apply a surcharge of 15% on...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
20.3 km away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
16.8 km away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
29.6 km away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
30.5 km away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
38 reviews
24.7 km away
Pukenui Lodge Motel
Pukenui Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Pukenui
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peppers Carrington Resort, is a 3000 acre estate comprising a lodge, championship 18-hole golf club, Olympic skeet shooting range, vineyard and winery as well as a grass fed Black Angus farm. In addition, the resort boasts an infinity swimming pool, tennis courts, wetlands, mountain biking trails and one of New Zealand's most spectacular and unspoilt beaches - 4km of white sand and superb swimming, fishing and dolphin spotting. Carrington also offers fine dining and lounge facilities, a library, billiard room and pro shop. We are located on the Karikari Peninsula, in Northland on the North Island of New Zealand. This 4 star resort provides accommodation with 10 luxury lodges, 13 3-bedroom villas and 12 luxury houses. Lodge accommodation include spacious air conditioned bedrooms with private bathrooms, each containing a California King sized bed and satellite TV. Each Lodge room opens onto a wide verandah with views to the ocean, golf course or native bush and vineyard. The lodges are connected by verandah walkways to the library, restaurant and members' lounge. The Villas offer self-contained and fully appointed accommodation - on the ground floor a living room, dining area, fireplace, and laundry facilities, with a verandah overlooking the golf course and Pacific Ocean. In addition, a fully equipped kitchen, toilette, satellite television, air conditioning and private garage are also housed on the ground floor. The second floor has a master bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and balcony, also with sweeping views of the golf course and Pacific ocean, a second double bedroom and bathroom (twins available), and a single bedroom. Other facilities and services available include gymnasium, laundry facilities (Regrettably no dry cleaning), massage therapist on call, babysitting services and Kaitaia / Kerikeri airport transfers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppers Carrington Resort

Address: Maitai Bay Road | RD3 Kaitaia - Karikari Penisula, Kaitaia, New Zealand (Formerly Carrington Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Price Range: ₹ 9,500 - ₹ 18,615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Carrington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Carrington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Kaitaia
Carrington Hotel North Island
Peppers Carrington Resort Kaitaia, North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peppers Carrington Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Carrington Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the villas, they are well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles womblers2004, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Villas 1-6 are situated higher up the hill and have better views. The villas are a ten minute walk away from the main resort.”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are apartments and amazing villas”
 of 5 bubbles 4252loulou, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have fantastic sea views but they are all have views over the golf course which is good. Corner room felt nice and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles davidmorganDevon, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in lodge rooms. Very spacious an clean. Decor very nice”
 of 5 bubbles Ellpell246, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5