Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea

Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea

Traveller (414)
Two-Bedroom Suite - Bathroom
Room & Suite (171)
Outdoor Pool
Pool & Beach (57)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
₹63,638
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 9 hotels in Wailea
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Keep your family happy and your wallet full when you book extended-stay suites at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea. Whatever brings you to Wailea, Maui, enjoy a condo-like experience and a budget-friendly price. Spread out in stylish suites with fully equipped kitchens, complimentary Wi-Fi and furnished balconies while taking advantage of our convenient grocery shopping service. Stay active in our state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio equipment and free weights, fuel up at our free, hot and fresh breakfast buffet, and unwind in the evenings with refreshments from our on-site bar. When not exploring the island with our local area shuttle, spend time with family and friends at our outdoor pool, fire pit, barbecue area and putting green. Make reservations today and thrive during your extended stay in Hawaii near Wailea and Makena Beaches.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle tours
Patio
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Tennis court offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

75 Wailea Ike Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
539Reviews65Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 352
  • 112
  • 39
  • 16
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brandon L wrote a review Feb 2020
19 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In 2019 my wife and I stayed at the Four Seasons Wailea and had an incredible time. This year (2020) my wife booked at the Residence Inn because the other resorts in the area were booked up. I'm glad she found this place. We took our kids, so there was a total of five of us.

Rooms:
We got a one bedroom with two queen sized beds and a couch that had a fold away bed. The room was fantastic. It had a modern feel from the kitchen to the bedroom and bathroom. It was well maintained and very clean. The kitchen had plates, silver ware, and glasses. There were also small touches such as dish soap and sponge. The full size refrigerator had an icemaker, and my wife took notice that it was empty when we arrived (we wouldn't want to use the previous guests ice). Also, my wife liked that there are outlets all over the room. I could write much more about the room, but I'll just say that we couldn't be happier.

Staff:
In short, everyone we encountered were so friendly. We were always greeted with a smile and a warm "Aloha". Top notch service all the way.

Property:
The common areas of the property were very nice and well-maintained. There are self parking areas along both wings of the resort, meaning you don't have to walk far to get to your room. When we stayed, the pool area was empty although the resort was full. The fitness room was decent. There were several treadmills and elliptical machines. The dumbbells went up to 50 lbs, and they had a bunch of kettlebells.
The resort offers a shuttle service, which we used frequently. I almost forgot about the free breakfast. I thought it was going to be a simple continental breakfast, and was pleasantly surprised at the selections they had. They offered eggs, sausage, and Canadian bacon on their hot line. There was also a waffle station where you could add strawberries, whip cream, peanut butter, and Nutella. Coffee, tea, orange juice, cranberry juice, and hot chocolate were all included. They also had bagels, cereal yogurt, and fresh fruits.

Overall:
I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ron wrote a review Feb 2020
Surrey, Canada69 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been to the Wailea are many times and were looking for a place to just rest up and chill. The Residence Inn worked perfectly for us last it has in suite cooking facilities, a great pool, and is very close to beaches and shopping. We took advantage of the shuttle bus which took us everywhere locally that we needed to go and we rarely had to wait for pickup (be considerate and tip to the driver). We found the breakfast to be more than adequate, it's chocked full of all sorts of good things from fresh fruit and yogurt to scrambled eggs and sausage. It's a cut above your average hotel breakfast items. (be sure to guard your food from the marauding opportunistic birds)
Our room was large with two queen beds (comfortable) a full kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, and stove and don't forget there is a BBQ area. The Wailea Shopping Centre is within walking distance and there is a well stocked food store with reasonable prices. It's too bad its not on the ocean but then it would be priced very differently. The pool area is large, the water warm, and there is a hot tub so we often would just relax poolside after walking or exploring.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ushacan wrote a review Feb 2020
61 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
They provide excellent breakfast and the staff is very friendly. They provide shuttle to the beach and you can walk along the path for the entire west side of the island.It is not a resort so resort fees applies. You can save on breakfast and resort fees. Also all tour operators pick up and drop off from this location.

It has good kitchen facilities if you decide to eat in your room after a long day of activities. They have a good pool and the facility is clean
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: rooms facing the mountain is quieter. rooms facing the pool have good views of the occean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Winterpeg wrote a review Feb 2020
Winnipeg, Canada114 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a 7 night stay at the Residence Inn Maui Wailea in early February 2020.

Since our stay included 5 adults, I booked a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite.

The stay was wonderful!

A warm breakfast is included and is above average. Just don’t leave your breakfast unattended or birds swoop in fast!

This hotel is in a upscale area and includes a great full size kitchen, amazing for saving money. We made a trip to Costco and loaded up on groceries. There is a wonderful BBQ set up near the pools. This saved our family a significant amount of money and made Hawaii a much more affordable vacation.

The pool, hot tub and BBQ’s were never busy during our stay, which was nice. On site laundry is also a big plus. The hotel grounds were very clean.

If you have a ocean view unit, whale watching is quite incredible to watch while they are active. (Only in winter months I believe)

There is a hotel shuttle that will take you to some amazing beaches in the Wailea area, I recommend Ulua beach! Only a 5 minute shuttle from the hotel. This would normally be a 10-15 minute walk. Shops of Wailea are also a 10 minute walk away, a nice place for a walk.

Staff on site are all extremely friendly and help, any requests are met.

I was originally comparing this hotel to the Marriott Wailea Beach Resort, which is a 10 minute walk away, and I’m happy I choose the Residence Inn due to the laid back environment, family friendly suites with kitchens, a great breakfast included on a smaller resort, with no resort fees.

The only negative thing I can think about is the construction of another hotel in front of the Residence Inn, during the week it can be quite disruptive if you have a room close to it.

If your looking for a place to stay with a family, or are looking to save money in Maui by doing a little cooking, this place is a no brainer to choose.

I would like to give a huge shoutout to Chris M for assisting myself in making the booking and making my experience as enjoyable as possible.

Our family already has plans to return! I recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cutrock wrote a review Feb 2022
Aptos, California46 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is beautiful. The rooms were very nice as well. The staff was courteous and helpful and the grounds were well maintained. This property is located up a hill about a half-mile or less from the beach. Might be too far to walk to and from the beach, but they do provide a shuttle. The location up the hill, however, provides impressive views of the island and the ocean. This property also offers impressive, resort-style amenities on the grounds. It's not your standard Residence Inn.

I had two concerns. Firstly, our room lacked numerous kitchen items that are standard-issue, such as frying pan, drink pitcher, more than one dinner knife, etc. We planned to cook our own dinners, so it was a bit of a pain to realize how many items were missing. Housekeeping should definitely be taking a regular inventory to ensure everything is available BEFORE the guest arrives.

Secondly, I felt that the $30 charge to park my car was excessive. Personally, I'm a Titanium Elite, Lifetime member (and a Marriott owner). I feel some consideration could be given to elite members to waive that fee. This Residence Inn is not a "bargain". It's quite pricey, in fact. So I feel the $30 is just another money grab.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gljohnson2 wrote a review Mar 2020
Minneapolis, Minnesota22 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you're ok not being right on the beach in Wailea, the Residence Inn is an excellent option about three blocks' walk from shore. My wife and I stayed at this location for one night before heading up to Ka'anapali for a longer stay. I left the Residence Inn with high regard and a new bar set.

We stayed in a king studio room that was very new, very clean, and had a great view of the property. The front desk staff was very kind and accommodating. The exercise room was spacious and clean and the pool appeared to be well kept. This property is very family friendly. From my perspective, the best part about this already very positive experience was the breakfast. Throughout my eight days on Maui, the Residence Inn's buffet breakfast was the best and it's not even close, featuring fresh fruit, good coffee, and tons of healthy and filling eating options in between. Waffles with an unlimited supply of Nutella hit my sweet spot for sure!

Again, the Residence Inn, which appears to be quite new, is a three-block walk to other hotel beaches and a short drive from the Makena area beaches. If you decide to stay in Wailea and don't want to pay $800 a night and don't need to be right on the beach, the Residence Inn is a fantastic option you should consider.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle W wrote a review Jan 2020
22 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had two rooms for our family of 8 and the accommodations worked perfectly. The kitchen area in our room was so helpful and the bbq area past the pool was excellent. We had three family dinners in the dining area, which was so nice to have that option so all 8 of us could be together and not have to eat out every meal. The rooms were clean and the laundry services were great to use. They do offer chair, umbrella and boogie board rentals for a reasonable price. They also have beach towels to borrow.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dream306528 wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The accommodations were great. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with a kitchenette. Our room on the 3rd floor had a great view of the pool and included a patio. The staff was very friendly and the room was serviced daily. Kudos to the shuttle driver who stopped and picked me up when I was struggling to climb the hill as I walked from the Wailea Shopping Center. The location is excellent. The free breakfast was of a wide variety and tasty, it included something for everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VioletPurpl wrote a review Jun 2022
Arlington, Virginia202 contributions114 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Family friendly hotel. Some rooms have two double beds and a sofa bed plus a kitchen. The hotel gets families with three or four kids. Some buy groceries and use the BBQ to save on dinner costs.

The pool is much nicer than your normal Residence Inn pool. However, the pool’s bar opens after 3 pm so if you want to spend your day at the pool you need to leave to get lunch. I tried UberEATS but it was not available in that area.

There are a couple of shopping centers within a ten to fifteen minute walk. One has quite a few stores such as Lululemon, Tommy Bahamas, and others. There is an Island Gourmet grocery store with a deli that offers prepared foods. We bought lunch from the Island Gourmet one day and brought it to the pool. The deli closes at 3 pm though so in the evening there are some packaged items. The beach is a long walk from the hotel. The hotel offers shuttle service and you can use that to get to the beach and shopping.

Breakfast has a nice selection. Breakfast starts at 6:30 am on weekdays. Coming from the east coast I was up early and tried to go down a few minutes before 6:30 but they keep the doors locked. There was coffee outside the breakfast room earlier. Breakfast includes eggs, meat, hard waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. You can sit outside but don’t leave your food unattended, there are birds waiting for you to leave your plate out.

We drove to Kiehi a few times to buy dinner or lunch. There is not much in Wailea. I suggest that you rent a car if staying in this property. We stayed in Lahaina before and we found that area more convenient.

The hotel is overpriced for a Residence Inn, but it is Hawaii. If you have several kids and prefer staying in a hotel rather than a condo there are not that many hotel options that can accommodate 2 adults and 3 kids otherwise.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bethany Glend, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea
Responded 26 Jun 2022
Aloha VioletPurpl, Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Maui Wailea for your stay and for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback! The recommendation for opening the pool bar earlier has been shared with the Leadership Team. I hope you will choose the Residence Inn Maui Wailea again when your travels bring you back to the area! Mahalo, Residence Inn Maui Wailea Leadership Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Britton G wrote a review Oct 2022
Albuquerque, New Mexico160 contributions75 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid for a 2 bedroom suite. A decent amount of space, but we have stayed in better hotels where a 1 bedroom suite had more room than this 2 bedroom. We stayed on the 2nd floor with a walkout to the turf and pool area.
While the master room seemed to have more amenities like more towels and the hairdryer, the other room did not.
Also, a set of sheets in the second bedroom looked stained with grease, and I question where they were even clean.
Kitchen was stocked well with enough of a variety of kitchen stuff, but only had 4 sets of plates, bowls, utensils, and cups. But only enough detergent to do 2 loads, which we would have been doing daily had we not gotten extra stuff from breakfast and decided to keep those in the room.
The living room had bird poop on the carpet, and the did not move the furniture to clean underneath items like the couch. There were whole Oreo cookies and other old food. I assume the hotel must spray massively for roaches since we did not see one, as they for sure would have been attracted to the rotting food, so being exposed to those chemicals is a concern of its own.

We could walk across the turf to get breakfast. Breakfast itself was ok. The options, for the most part, did not change at all for the week they were there, so that got old.
Eating in the breakfast dining area was not an option as the room was open to the outside, and there were birds everywhere. They would attack your plates of food if you left them unattended, and there was bird poop all over the floor and furniture.

The pool itself was nice. Great depth for young kids, big kids, and adults.
They could have provided more pool towels. They ran out often.
The turf area had some yard games that were great kids.
There was an area of about 5 massive grills for making your own food if you wanted.

They have a shuttle that'll take you within a mile or so. But here's the kicker, you need provide a booster or carseat for your child. That was not told to us in advance, so when we planned to leave the hotel, we couldn't. Later on, when we got a booster, we saw that you could leave it with the shuttle. Again, that was not told to us, as we assumed we'd have to lug all that junk to the beach. At 7 months pregnant, I was overwhelmed and couldn't do that on my own, like I thought I would on the days my husband was at a conference. So, basically, the hotel has terrible communication, and they should provide carseats and boosters for their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bethany Glend, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea
Responded 24 Oct 2022
Aloha Britton G, I recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have taken the time to provide. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologize that we did not fulfill that expectation during your visit. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate department leaders to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent these issues from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Mahalo, Residence Inn Leadership
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samuel S asked a question Mar 2022
Aurora, Illinois22 contributions1 helpful vote
Where does the shuttle take you?
Answer from Mr. C.
Hamilton, Ohio3 contributions1 helpful vote
The shuttle service is fantastic. It will take you anywhere in Wailea and the drivers are so pleasant and engaging.
Janice T asked a question Jun 2021
Is there laundry facility
Answer from Don M
Tucson, Arizona184 contributions60 helpful votes
Yes. It's coin-operated. You can find it under Hotel Details in the Services and Amenities menu.
Answer from Don M
Tucson, Arizona184 contributions60 helpful votes
6 to 9 on weekdays. Probably the same maybe a little later on weekends.
DayTrip09100521928 wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to travel down to the beach around sunset and watch the sea turtles play around the rocks and even rest on the beach!"
Read full review
LAHOTEL37 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Chicago19 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking convenient and easy. Property well designed in this respect."
Read full review
SV wrote a tip Jan 2024
Cupertino, California2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid going to Lahaina until it rebuilt. Be respectful to the people who lost a lot during the recent wildfires."
Read full review
FionaWestgate wrote a tip Jan 2023
Highlands Ranch, Colorado17 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"When comparing hotel prices, be aware that it’s $30 a day to park."
Read full review
Dallasdolphinmom wrote a tip Jan 2023
Dallas, Texas40 contributions36 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Housekeeping is non existent"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wailea area.
PRICE RANGE
₹50,873 - ₹63,924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiWailea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RESIDENCE INN BY MARRIOTT MAUI WAILEA - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea?
Nearby attractions include Lihilihi Lash Bar & Boutique (0.2 km), Sweet Paradise Chocolatier (0.3 km), and Wailea Town Center (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monkeypod Kitchen, Matteo's Osteria, and Pita Paradise.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Does Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Wailea HotelsWailea Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Wailea
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire