Royal Isabela

Royal Isabela

396 Ave Noel Estrada, Isabela 00662-3279 Puerto Rico
Traveller (716)
Panorama at the Royal Isabela
360
Panoramas (17)
Our 20 freestanding Casitas are true little houses with each Casita encompassing 1,500 square ft
Room & Suite (373)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 4 hotels in Isabela
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Royal Isabela greets guests with much more than suite accommodations. Located just steps from The Restaurant at La Casa, 20 freestanding Casitas are true "little houses" designed for the ultimate in Puerto Rican resort stays. Each Casita encompasses 1,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor space and is sited to best catch Royal Isabela's stunning ocean vistas with minimal impact to the environment. Escape to an intimate oceanfront resort on Puerto Rico’s spectacular northwest coast. Blessed with stunning Atlantic views, dramatic cliffs and a landscape lush with native flora and fauna, Royal Isabela is an epic backdrop for heartwarming family vacations, unforgettable golf getaways, romantic escapes, milestone celebrations and gracious resort living. Enjoy the natural majesty of Isabela, Puerto Rico’s from your private Casita, as you play a round on The Links, explore two miles of quiet beach, or paddleboard on the mysterious Guajataca River.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Golf course
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Tennis court
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
452Reviews46Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 364
  • 41
  • 25
  • 12
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Priscilla V wrote a review Sept 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The whole experience was spectacular. If you want a place where you can disconnect from the hustle and bustle of your everyday life, this is the place. The staff was excellent from the guy that opens the gate for you and checks your temperature and COVID status, to the people at the front desk, housekeeping and the restaurant. Everyone was always offering their best service. They even took us on a tour of the grounds. The casitas are majestic, you have your privacy and everything you need (deck with huge jacuzzi and table) but they also have a couple of lap pools if you want to go out of the casita. It has a living room with a large tv, the beds are in two step level that you can divide from the living room with huge almost wall to wall pocket doors. The bathroom is enormous! It has a large tub, his and hers shower and a rain shower in the middle. The deck is strategically built so that you get the ocean breeze- so that any time of the day you don’t feel the heat of the island and as a bonus you get to hear the sound of the ocean. At night you can turn off the lights at the deck and see the stars and maybe catch a shooting star.
The food at the restaurant is delicious. Everything I ate was spectacular. They even have a farm on site so that they grow some of the products used at the restaurant.

Also, they are taking very good care of disinfecting against the COVID virus. They have dispensers all around the hotel. When we got to the room it smelled that is was just cleaned. And we saw how the cleaned one of the casitas that has across ours and I was very satisfied with what we saw.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pablo L wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
5 Love the place and La Jota Restaurant is the best. All the amenities are nice and the location is simple awesome. They have individuals rooms call “casitas” which in Spanish means “little houses” with all the privacy you need to have a romantic stay. Every “casita” has a private pool with water heater so you can spend the night in the pool having your favorite champagne. In the restaurant we were attended by a very sweet waitress called Fatima. She was the best and payed attention to every detail to make me and my wife feel very comfortable. The last night she brings a dessert with “Happy Anniversary” in letters in the plate. That was a very nice detail. The place 100% recommended. And thank you Fatima for make our stay unforgettable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos R wrote a review Nov 2020
San Juan, Puerto Rico
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The villas are very big and comfortable, layout is great and the bathroom are spacious. Shower is about 4' x 12' which is a very sizable shower with a wall shower head and a ceiling rain shower. Outside there is a Jacuzzi that fits 4-6 people and a nice breakfast area.

Hotel restauran is outstanding...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paula L wrote a review Jun 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My fiancé and I had heard many great things about Royal Isabela and decided to go for the weekend with another couple. Although the premises met expectations, the service did not. When you pay 5-star rates, you expect everything to be in tip top shape. As much as I wanted to enjoy the experience, I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone considering the subpar service.

Disappointments from the trip, to name a few:

1) When my fiancé went to check in, there was no one else waiting. They asked him to sit down and basically forgot about him for 20 minutes.

2) We ordered wine to our room that we have had before. We called room service and told them that it had a funky taste asking if we can get a new one. The person on the phone tried to convince us that that we don’t know what we are talking about. In a luxury resort, I have never had the experience where someone tells us that we are wrong about our tastes.

3) We ordered breakfast one morning. BIG MISTAKE. They completely forgot part of our order and when we called back the restaurant to tell them, they told us that they would get the rest of it right away. They never showed up.

Considering the hotel’s potential with its beautiful location, I highly suggest that Royal Isabela better train its personnel. It’s is truly a shame that they could not get it together.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javier Lopez, Agencia/Consultora at Royal Isabela
Responded 4 Aug 2020
Dear Paula, We were simply stunned to read about your experience and hope you will accept our sincerest, apologies for the unsatisfactory stay you’ve recounted. We are doing everything within our means to remedy the situation and make sure such a situation doesn’t inconvenience anyone again. Good reviews are what made our reputation rise, and we know how easy it can change by a bad streak unless action is taken immediately. We hope you’ll consider allowing us to make reparations and, whenever you come back, please report back if our service has returned to the usual first-class status. Again, please accept our genuine apologies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol wrote a review Feb 2020
Vancouver, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has fantastic potential but it has been left to slip badly. The service is unprofessional and the rooms are in desperate need of updating.

It is a great location and wonderful to relax for a few days but it is horribly overpriced for what it is.

And as for the restaurant it is frankly a joke. The staff seem to walk around bumping into each other and everything takes hours - 45 minutes for a pot of hot water!!!!

In addition half the light bulbs are out on the decorative lights and the whole thing is really amateurish!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javier Lopez, Agencia/Consultora at Royal Isabela
Responded 4 Aug 2020
Dear canbird We were simply stunned to read about your experience and hope you will accept our sincerest, apologies for the unsatisfactory stay you’ve recounted. We are doing everything within our means to remedy the situation and make sure such a situation doesn’t inconvenience anyone again. Good reviews are what made our reputation rise, and we know how easy it can change by a bad streak unless action is taken immediately. We hope you’ll consider allowing us to make reparations and, whenever you come back, please report back if our service has returned to the usual first-class status.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isabel s wrote a review Oct 2021
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I so wanted to rate this resort 5 stars due to the absolute beauty that surrounds it but I simply can't avoid to mention how many times I was met with terrible and unfriendly service.

My husband and I came here for our first wedding anniversary and stayed at the presidential suite. When we were checking in, the front desk agent decided it was a good time to vent about how they can barely handle how full they are, and just seemed overall displeased to provide a welcoming environment.

Once we got to the room, I found that the roses and champagne that I had ordered (and was charged) before arriving was never setup. I decided to let it pass, since we are in the middle of a pandemic and it is something that can easily be missed. Nonetheless, I decided a call to front desk would fix the issue. When I spoke to them, I was repeatedly told that although my email confirmation and bank statement showed I had been charged the romance package, it was not reflecting on their reservation. At no point did the agent attempt to rectify the situation. When you work in guest services at a five star hotel, you will do whatever it takes to retain a customer when a mistake has been made. I expected to immediately be believed, but instead the agent kept questioning my confirmation, as if I hadn't been charged, and was basically told to bring the "evidence" before we were to check out the next day. At no point in time did she provide a swift solution of being understanding and removing the charge.

I'm mindful of the time this happened, and stress was a major factor for most service oriented people. Sadly, I would be doing a disservice to others and not mention or rate this what I truly believe it deserves. I would love to come back and visit, hopefully with better service!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
miguai63 wrote a review Mar 2021
Dorado, Puerto Rico
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I just came back from 4 days at the Royal Isabela, The views from every place in the finca are amazing, Maria the hotel manager was very welcoming and helpful whenever she was around and the food was really spectacular but that was about it.
Staff seems to be unhappy and not well trained. I was forced to used the unsecured wifi in the room since mine was not working and the rooms are far away from where I could get my wifi connection.
A hacker managed to purchase from my Credit Card while I was staying in the room. I know this as a fact because i received a notification of purchase via email. When I complain they told me I connect under my own risk ( even though I did not have signed any waiver of responsibility.) Then they told me they would check I had to cancel the credit card and call with my cell phone to Europe which cost me lots of money to cancel my credit card
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javier Lopez, Agency / Consultant at Royal Isabela
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Dear Miguai63, We were simply stunned to read about your experience and hope you will accept our sincerest, apologies for the unsatisfactory stay you’ve recounted. We are doing everything within our means to remedy the situation and make sure such a situation doesn’t inconvenience anyone again. Good reviews are what made our reputation rise, and we know how easy it can change by a bad streak unless action is taken immediately. We hope you’ll consider allowing us to make reparations and, whenever you come back, please report back if our service has returned to the usual first-class status. Again, please accept our genuine apologies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie S wrote a review May 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I want to give them the benefit of the doubt being that we are in stressful corona virus times. There is one restaurant and only room service available.

We didn’t mind the wait time. However, on MULTIPLE occasions the restaurant staff spoke back to us when we asked for simple stuff like a set of wine recommendations or what food was on the menu because we did not have menus in the room. Instead of being helpful they said in verbatim: “it is way too tedious for us to tell you what egg dishes we have for breakfast”

Um..Im paying $400 a night. I understand if the restaurant is busy but don’t tell me you just dont feel like helping out your guest for a few seconds because its too “tedious” to give a few suggestions. Instead we had to wait an hour for them to text us menus and another hour for the food and wine. This happened several times.

Horrible service for a supposed 5 star resort. The views are nice and amenities are cool but the service needs to improve big time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javier Lopez, Agencia/Consultora at Royal Isabela
Responded 4 Aug 2020
Dear Q5785CWstephanies Above all else, we hope you will accept our sincere apologies and we appreciate that you took the time to write and inform us regarding your inadequate experience at Royal Isabela. Your satisfaction is our main concern and we’d like to ensure you have a delightful and relaxing time during your next visit. Admittedly, every business has off moments, even those whose aim is sole to provide the best experience. We’d like you to please bear with us as we mean to resolve the situation and make sure it doesn’t occur again. We give you our word that you’ll agree it was worth it once you come back and give us another opportunity to give you a stay in Paradise. Again, we are truly sorry that we let you down and hope you will accept our sincere apologies. The Royal Isabela Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian M wrote a review Mar 2020
Yorktown, Virginia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
the rooms or casitas have stunning views and a great set up/ very comfortable bed, shower opens to the outdoors and staff are very friendly. the restaurant is only adequate but there are some very good options nearby. The course is always open and some of the coastline holes could be on the best courses anywhere. If they improved the role of the greens we would never leave to play elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonio M wrote a review Feb 2021
Caguas, Puerto Rico
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I are old customers of Royal Isabela and unfortunately have witness how this beautiful place has deteriorated in the last years. We decided to spend our anniversary there, hoping it would be as great as the first years we visited the resort, but unfortunately it wasn't. First of all, I ordered flowers to be set in the room upon arrival which I asked also to have ocean view. My wife stayed in the restaurant with another couple we invited and in the mean while, I went to the room to check every thing was ok. Flowers where not there and the room did not have ocean view as requested months ago, I decided to ask the concierge, who told me he did not know about them. I called the company to see what happened and they told me the flowers were delivered, finally they were found inside the restaurant but there was no communication between the restaurant and concierge. When I arrived to the table all were waiting for drinks ordered 40 minutes ago
Finally they told us that drinks were not made because ingredients were missing as the bar tender also, so we asked for the wine list and finally got our drinks an hour after being there. About the restaurant, I will reserve my comments because next day after my complaints the chef called me immediately and worked upon them, which I respect and appreciate.
Next morning in our room roaches were seen in the bathroom, fixtures and hardware very deteriorated. Door locks not working. Jacuzzi not working, some towels were yellow, TV of room not working adequately, missing woods in the deck, Fence as floor woods deteriorated. Asked to talk with the Manager Mr. Eugenio Lopez but no calls were received. Just before getting out for sightseeing called maintenance to bring us a thick Blanket and do the room, when arrived late in night nothing was done. Found manager who told us that next day will speak to us. Never saw him again. Next day other manager came to our room, Maria. She was very polite and I explained her about our complaints, told me they where working on it.
At this moment it is not worthy to pay what you pay for this place. Major changes have to be done.
Unfortunately we will not return unless major changes are done.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javier Lopez, Agency / Consultant at Royal Isabela
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Dear; Crohns, We always work hard to make sure that every guest has a splendid time and we are very regretful that your experience at Royal Isabela was less than ideal. Above all else, we hope you will accept our sincere apologies and we appreciate that you took the time to write and inform us regarding your inadequate experience at Royal Isabela. Your satisfaction is our main concern and we’d like to ensure you have a delightful and relaxing time during your next visit. We are truly upset to read that a visitor’s stay proved to be a second-rate event that did not meet expectations and hope you will give us another chance. We are currently addressing your concerns in order to make sure that it doesn’t happen again, as guest satisfaction is our guiding principle. Please come back soon and let us make it up to you by showing you what Royal Isabela is truly all about! Again, our apologies The Royal Isabela Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from JLCollado
San Juan, Puerto Rico197 contributions53 helpful votes
As of right now is not worth it, extremely deteriorated.
Answer from Jose M
176 contributions63 helpful votes
There s a very nice pool facility in the area of the fabulous rooms. All the rooms also have a small pool. I can’t answer your second question, but we have always retired late to our rooms and we have never had an issue with service.
Marcelazabani asked a question Sept 2018
Sao Paulo, SP272 contributions94 helpful votes
How is the beach access from the property? Is the beach swimmable?! Thank you
Answer from Wil15
4 contributions
Hi, the beach is not readily accessible but is cool, if you can walk normally, because you will pass a track between the nature. Once on the beach is not recommended to swim there but walking like 30 minutes, you will find a better space to enjoy the salty water.
68 contributions42 helpful votes
They are the same. Each Castia has a plunge pool. Casita 20 has an extra private deck, perhaps that is what they are referencing.
McKenzie H wrote a tip May 2024
Nashville, Tennessee14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the hike down to the private beach! 🌴"
Read full review
RockTorre wrote a tip Mar 2024
NY205 contributions127 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring some music for the pool. You can drink and smoke at the pool"
Read full review
Alexis wrote a tip Sept 2023
Laureldale, Pennsylvania18 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The beach isn’t usable and it’s a 170 step hike down. Parking is far from the casitas."
Read full review
Christine W wrote a tip Dec 2022
Dover Foxcroft, Maine34 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is usually empty later at night. Avoid it in the afternoons, when there are more likely to be children (unless you have your own)."
Read full review
Ramón wrote a tip Oct 2021
Vega Alta, Puerto Rico216 contributions106 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for Casita 19!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Isabela area.
PRICE RANGE
₹43,751 - ₹63,371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanPuerto RicoIsabela
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL ISABELA - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Isabela
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Isabela?
Nearby attractions include Monumento al Cacique Mabodamaca (2.8 km), Tunel de Guajataca (3.2 km), and Paseo Lineal (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Isabela?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Isabela?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Isabela?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Isabela?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Isabela?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carbon y Lena, Hacienda Don Jando, and Coffee Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Isabela?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Isabela?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Isabela offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Isabela?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Isabela?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ermita San Antonio De Padua De La Tuna (3.2 km).
All Isabela HotelsIsabela Hotel Deals
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire