We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Highland Inn

Show Prices
#92 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Highland Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Highland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 431: English reviews
ms.
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

It's 11:27pm the band next door is so loud it sounds like the floor is shaking. My husband just killed a giant roach. We called to let them know we we running late no one answered the phone after numerous calls for 1/2 an hour we just gave up. My husband and I are in our 70's we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank darling1100
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The Highland Inn is an old building with exposed pipes running across the ceiling, old creaky stairs and no elevator. It is not accessible with a wheelchair and probably generally not a good choice for people with mobility issues. Also, if you are allergic to cats, you might want to consider another place to stay, since the owner's cat "Pirate"...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deutschlandreform
Shelbyville, Indiana
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The Inn had so much character . And the staff there were so friendly and helpful. Especially the manager steve H. I definitely will be visiting the Inn again. Loved the entertainment in the Ballroom. The continental breakfast was great☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _stevenvickie
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I make a spontaneous trip to Atlanta in March of 2016 and brought along my dog for company. I wanted a place that had charm as well as allowed dogs and would be willing to allow the dogs to be left alone so I could go to the Coca Cola museum. The hotel was old, had lots of interesting artwork...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn12090
Reviewed 19 August 2016

First time in Atlanta, GA and this is definitely the place I'd stay if I had to go again. MARTA bus stops close-by that take you into the main part of the city. Small-town feel and right beside a wonderful little restaurant, Tierras Alto!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
College Park, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I love this little hotel. It's not for the picky but it's very clean and in a fun area. Nice break from the cookie cutter hotels. This is a great little hotel and the staff is very nice. The rooms are small so best for solo or couples.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jperiod A
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will share your kind words with our staff. In the future, we do have larger rooms with more space should you need one in the future. We hope to see you again!...

Thomaston, United States
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The stairway had an odor. The room was fine; though the window AC units were a surprise. The bathroom was so small that if you sat on the toilet your knees hit the tub. The bed had 4 pillows so that you could pick the firmness you liked. Wifi was intermittent. The concierge told us that was typical. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia Q
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to improve. Had we known about an odor in the stairwell we would have addressed it right away. And as far as our complimentary breakfast is concerned we welcome any requests from our guests for items they would like to see...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

From the outside you think "yay" but then as enter you start to realise your mistake. Old and small. The building is on a lean so you feel sea-sick walking the hallway. The room is tiny, its so noisy, the rubbish trucks early in the morning, sexy time through the crepe paper walls from all directions. The shower was terrible....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jason w
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our building is older and indeed does have some quirks, however, I sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide a quiet sleep-conducive environment for our guests and do have quieter interior rooms should you decide to stay again in the future. Best, Kristin Anderson Assistant Hotel...

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The price was right. The free parking was limited and congested. The room was small. The bathroom was clean but looked and felt dirty. I was reluctant to take a shower because I feared I would contract athletes feet. The front desk clerk gave the key of my hotel room to my best friend without asking for a form of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

No Wifi in our room - we were told after we checked in that it was broken. Our room TV was located in a ridiculous spot, the front hallway, not in our bedroom. Could not use. In the evening I was reminded of my college days with with smell of marijuana permeating in the hallway. All we needed were the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobber007

364 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Double Room (50)
Viewed
King Room (31)
Viewed
Queen Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Single Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 171 in Atlanta
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic 80-room inn built in 1927 and renovated for the Olympics in 1996, the Highland Inn is located within easy walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, galleries and bars. Most major Atlanta attractions are just a short distance away, and we are centrally located between the Virginia-Highland and Little Five Points neighborhoods. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Highland Inn

Address: 644 N Highland Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30306-7718
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Poncey-Highland
Price Range: ₹ 5,431 - ₹ 7,331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Highland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Hotel Atlanta
Highland Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Atlanta
#41 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Highland Inn staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Evans, Georgia
5 months ago
Ga
9 months ago
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
over a year ago
Baltimore, Maryland
Meltham, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Highland Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You might want to ask for interior room. It's a lively, walkable neighborhood that could be a little noisy during big events.”
 of 5 bubbles Tammy267, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room faced an interior courtyard. Next time I might ask for one that faces the road in the front perhaps?”
 of 5 bubbles 695ChrisP, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“wi-fi sporadic in guest rooms, only guaranteed in common areas”
 of 5 bubbles jyl53, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Highland are nice”
 of 5 bubbles _stevenvickie, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles 57cynthiaq, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay