We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canifor Hotel

Traveller (732)
360
Panoramas (39)
Pool & Beach (128)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Free Internet
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Safe
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
71Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
10Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2,113Reviews
902Photos
114Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 217
  • 518
  • 508
  • 396
  • 475
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Returned yesterday from a 3 night break with 10 friends and 2 13yr old boys. Not a 4 star hotel and more 2/3 star but not as bad as other reviews state. Arrived at 9pm and reception couldnt find out booking but was quickly sorted. Not a family hotel as mainly full of 70yrs+ and
Read more
Response from Canifor H, Front Office at Canifor Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear sararawle Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Regards, Claudiana Amato
Read more
After reading poor reviews and people complaining about everything, we decided to give it a try and see for ourselves I can’t fault it in any way, the location is accessible to almost everywhere within a short walk, the food was good, entertainment most nights, staff were very
Read more
Response from Canifor H, Front Office at Canifor Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear bananamanden, Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Regards, Claudiana Amato
Read more
We are both late 30’s and the 4 night break was a gift. We arrived on 10/2/19 at 3pm and were handed the key card to room 101. The room was at the top of the stairs from the lobby and main bar, and overlooked the road and an active building site opposite. Directly next door were
Read more
Response from Canifor H, Front Office at Canifor Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear 30scouplefromCambs, We are sorry to read that your stay fell short your expectations. However when you left the Hotel you told to the receptionist that you find the Hotel boring and you did not mention all these problems. If you had spoken to the Management we would have found a solution suitable for you. Also we gave you a room suitable for you as you needed a larger room than standard twin sized room due to the need of using the wheelchair in the room. Please note that Malta is a busy Country, it is normal that there is noise in the area, if there are dogs, cars, etc.. it is not the fault of the Hotel. The TV is a normal Tv which includes CNN and SKY, English channels. The massage service is pre-booked and done in the massage room, not in client's room. Finally the restaurant is full of choice. Every day we offer starters, 3 main dishes, salads and pasta, cheese and crackers. However your feedback will be discussed with the management to ensure improvements are made. Regards, Claudiana Amato
Read more
We ended up at the Canifor after "Mercury" moved our booking from the Gulleriu to the San Pawl then to the Canifor. If the reason for our moves was because of work in progress then the Canifor should also have been included. As the pool is being regenerated as is the patio
Read more
Response from Canifor H, Front Office at Canifor Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear JefferyB583, Thank you for providing us with your feedback. However our staff is trained before being left alone during the shift. We are sorry that you find it "uninspiring", but the breakfast is an English buffet, full of choices every day. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Regards, Claudiana Amato
Read more
Decent hotel. You get what you pay for. Definitely not a 4*, but decent 3*. Rooms were clean. Bedding changed every other day and towels changed on a daily basis. Mattresses are old and management should consider to have them replaced. You can sleep on it, but they are not very
Read more
Response from Canifor H, Front Office at Canifor Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear AJKXXX, Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Regards, Claudiana Amato
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCanifor Hotel
The Standard Room at the Canifor Hotel
The tiny tv in our room (2 Enhlish channels)
The sun trap from my balcony
hot tub on the roof top
Depressing view
PreviousNext
12345650
There was construction work, we were at the front of the hotel and honestly we weren't too bothered about it, in fact we are currently considering booking another stay at the Canifor. Your stay will be what you make of it, for us the benefits - great location and wonderful staff - outweigh the slight negatives - hope this helps!
1 vote
Show all answers
Yes but they aren't great.
2 votes
Show all answers
I have no idea, follow a previous travelers advice and I'm sure it will be sorted. Enjoy your stay.....
0 votes
Show all answers
The prices vary depending where you are if your in the square they are about 3 euros a pint elsewhere can be cheaper or it varies if there’s an artiste playing the canifor isn’t badly priced for branded drinks
2 votes
Show all answers
Came back yesterday and it was 5.45-9 but need to go in before 8.30. We arrived just before 9 and weren't able to have anything. We walked into town ( 5 minute walk) and had food in a nice food place which didn't cost a lot.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345623
"Get south facing"
"dont book one"
"All rooms are cold and dingy also lots of building work all around."
"5th floor overlooking Triq-in-nakkri, overlooks a building site (quieter than the hotel) it faces the sun and has a sea view"
"Some visitors were alone but had a one bed appartment with three beds. No rooms have a great view, the back of the hotel has a pool view."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 29 - US$ 104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
canifor hotel qawracanifor hotel maltamalta canifor hotelcanifor malta
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaQawra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
170
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing