We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 352: English reviews
Start your review of Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn in richmond-south, va, and it was great and wonderful. The stay was very comfortable. The front desk clerk Janet was wonderful and very helpful.I also love this hotel because its pet friendly and i can bring my dog with me and don't have to leave him at home when i travel. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking a moment to share your experience. I very much appreciate your comments on our rooms and service. We are happy that you decided to stay and gave us 5 stars for the experience. Your comments on Janet are appreciated as it is always great to see staff members get mentioned...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After an awful experience on the way down to Florida, our return trip was so much better. The front desk service was quick and polite. Small room and beds, but it was spotless.. I actually tipped housekeeping!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry F C
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. It always makes my day when a customer gives us a try and agrees that we are a great value. I have been hearing a little more lately from guests that they really like our new style of room too. I very much appreciate...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stay away from this hole. Absolutely horrible place. Don't even use computers. A guy is just going through a pile of paper reservations. Takes forever. Ancient heating system. Loud air conditioning. There's a door into the next room and you can hear everything. I mean everything.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fiddler777
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. February has been a good month like many others where we have had some good results in our guest satisfaction surveys so this is a disappointment. We work very hard to get positive recommendation from all our guests so it hurts us to see negative comments...

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here before and came back because I like the location, the accommodations, and the price. I still like it for these reasons, but my most recent visit left me feeling disappointed in some respects. I stayed in room 114 on January 30. Housekeeping was shoddy this time around. It looked like the carpet had not been vacuumed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your feelings and experience. I sincerely apologize for this last experience not being quite what you typically experience. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand and this property. I will be sharing this with my team and the housekeeper that runs that section to make sure we are...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I reserved this hotel through Hotwire as Hotwire said it was 95% recommended. I did not know the name of the hotel until it was paid for. When we arrived, it looked like a cheap motel. Receptionist was unfriendly. Room was an outside room, like a motel. We were given a room at the back of the hotel, near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank concernedmom12
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here. We work hard to give guests an experience that is better that they expect in economy lodging. I am sorry that you booked a room with Hotwire and it ended up this way. We have so many satisfied customers that it is a disappointment to me and the staff...

Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This Red Roof Inn was advertised as a Plus+ but I dont think so! Room was very small. Bathroom you could barley stand in. Noisy. Shower had mold in corners, Shower dripped. Looked like New sink was just put over the old one. I would not stay here again! No breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerriwhitcomb
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. It is a disappointment to me & my team that you feel the need to tell others not to stay here. I will look at our website to see if a mistake has been made because unfortunately we are not a Plus+ property. I am not...

Reviewed 28 December 2016

We were in Richmond for the weekend and decided to stay here. The room and bathroom were clean and the receptionist was friendly. We were close to a lot of shopping centers as well.If your in town and need a inexpensive place to stay, this is your place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryant and Laur... G
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Red Roof Inns and taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate your comments on our cleanliness and service. We work hard to provide a very good value for those looking to stay in our price range. For even better deals you can look on the intranet for discounted promotional...

New York
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Stayed at the Red Roof for a Quick snooze while traveling from NY to FL. It was affordable, clean and covienent, what more can you ask for while traveling. I had King size bed, room had tv, fridge, microwave and was clean. And PET Friendly!!!!'

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony G
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Red Roof Inns on your East Coast travels. I am very happy that you gave us an opportunity when it was time to stop driving and take a snooze. I appreciate your recommendation and comments on our cleanliness, price, and location. Our rates create a very good value especially when you...

Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Seems to be decent accommodations, overpriced for what you get. Dogs stay free. Paid $70 for a $40 room.... saw 2 drug deals in parking lot after checked in, another lady driving through looking for someone, no in room shampoo etc, minimal towels, one of the towels in our bathroom has already been used, front desk lady wasn't the friendliest,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose H
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I appreciate you sharing your experience including your concerns about your recent stay. We work hard to make this property and our guests stay more than just a decent one. I apologize for us falling short on your expectations. Our rates are a good value within our market and we constantly shop our competitors to keep our prices in the...

BALTIMORE
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable. The bathtub was dirty. The windows and walls were not soundproof. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The location is mostly industrial. Not an area I would choose to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WNJS
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry that the experience was “just okay” and not better than that. I appreciate your comments on our cleanliness and comfortability. I do apologize about the one quality issue and can assure you we will work on that. We are located in an industrial area but many guests...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 km away
No photo provided
20.0 km away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#39 of 81 in Richmond
214 reviews
7.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Richmond South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Hampton Inn Richmond South
#28 of 81 in Richmond
384 reviews
13.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
10.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Address: 4350 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: ₹ 4,118 - ₹ 5,556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Richmond South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Richmond Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#27 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn - Richmond South staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Amelia Island, Florida
over a year ago
Pocomoke City, Maryland
7 months ago
Pocomoke City, Maryland
7 months ago
Levittown, New York
10 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn - Richmond South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid, pick a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ClemsonEngineer, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the back side of the hotel. They're quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles PvtMudflap, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel is next to the highway, rooms towards the road are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles N5712NXpauls, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for first floor, there are no elevators!”
 of 5 bubbles dimensionsound, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Better choose a second floor (flies)”
 of 5 bubbles amosb76, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5