We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Hotel Richmond Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We were 2 families traveling down to Florida and decided to stay overnight after a long day of driving from Montreal. Rooms were clean, we had asked to stay pool side and management were very accommodating. Pool was great and we were able to get served our supper right on the pool deck. Great service. I know where to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Eric J: Thank you so much for this great review. We loved having you with us. We are happy that you got enjoy supper by the pool as well. Please come back to see us soon. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 26 July 2016

I am a Richmond native. I just wanted to lay up on the outskirts of the city. The room was immaculate. The service impeccable and the location was perfect. Nacho Mama is a nice little quaint spot right in the hotel which cut down on travel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrence M
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Terrence M: Thank you for taking the time out to review our property. I'm so happy you enjoyed your accommodations with us. Please remember us each time you need a "in-town getaway". We can't wait to welcome you back. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 26 July 2016

A friend and I were only staying 1 night so it was doable, but overall I was disappointed. There was a funky smell in our room, no included breakfast (isn't that pretty much standard these days?), the wifi wouldn't connect, and it was hot as heck in our room. The fridge was also not working. If you know someone is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seregon O
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Seregon O: Thank you so much for giving our hotel a try and for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate this very much. I'm so sorry your room was not up to par. In the future, please contact the front desk if you have any issues so we can either correct those issues for you, or switch you...

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

In most cases Clarion is the step above in the Choice Hotel line, not this location. We have been to this hotel the last 4 years to attend the Beer, Bourbon & BBQ Fest. We chose the location because it is close to the venue. We are not fancy people, but cleanliness in accommodations is important. The room was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cyndib91
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear cyndib91: Thank you for returning to our hotel for another year and for reviewing our property. We sorry we failed to exceed your expectations. We are actually trying to improve each year. I will forward your review to the general manager. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located off of I-95. Easy access from I-95 N and I-95 S Front desk staff were busy and professional Greeted each guest and was available to answer all questions The hotel lobby offers a sitting area as well as a full service restaurant which closes at 10p during the week and midnight on weekends . Across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Joseph S: Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our property. We appreciate this good review. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations here along with our guest services team. Please come back to see us when you are in town. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

The name and brand of this motel sounds nice but it is in the heart of the hood. Even the front desk people have an attitude. The police was there when I was checking in investigating a stolen phone. I had stuff stolen from my truck and trash on it in the morning. I could go on but don't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelbQ8296UM
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear michaelbQ8296UM: Thank you for staying at our hotel and for this review. I'm sorry, but I will have to disagree. This neighborhood and Compton California is quite different. We are actually surrounded by 4 very nice neighborhoods in town, Sherwood Park, Lakeside, The Fan & Museum District. The street we are on has a few abandoned buildings, but they...

Reviewed 5 July 2016

VERY VERY DISSAPOINTING! I stayed at the Clarion July 2, 2016. I should have known there would be an issue when I found a dried dirty washcloth still hanging in the shower as well as trash on the bathroom floor. My boyfriend woke up in the middle of the night scratching fiercely all over. After showering he ended up going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Korbyn L
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Korbyn L: Wow. I'm sorry to hear you had a issue with bugs on your last visit to our hotel. I'm glad you let our front desk staff know so we can have the room treated. I do hope you have been refunded for your stay. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Pretty ok hotel overall, but the elevator and hallway (3rd floor) wreaked. The smells was comparable to cat urine. The room was clean, though, which was most important. Interestingly, there were A LOT of dogs staying at this hotel. This wasn't a problem, just heard the occasional bark. This hotel could definitely use some updates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Andrea C: In many reviews on here guest says the elevator smells like cat waste, but it is in fact hydraulic oil underneath the elevator car in the elevator shaft, and not within the elevator car. The more use the elevator gets, the more oil that's being used which makes the smell stronger. We do apologize for the smell,...

Reviewed 2 July 2016

I stayed at the hotel on the evening of June 29, 2016 and had an uneventful evening. However, the next morning I found that I had been the main course for an infestation of bedbugs. I am covered from head to toe with over 70 bites. My heads, arms, legs, feet, neck, back, stomach and rear. I called and left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Roger C: I'm sorry to hear about what you endured at our hotel. I just got word today from the GM that he offered you a half priced night for a future stay. Please contact me on here when you are ready to redeem that, and I will make all of the arrangements. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Middletown, New York
Reviewed 26 June 2016

One of the first amenities that is encountered is the on site restaurant. Many properties do not have restaurants anymore. Unfortunately, because there is an on site restaurant, there is no complimentary breakfast. We miss the complimentary breakfast for convenience and not having an extra expense for breakfast. We are accustomed to waking, putting on some clothes, and walking to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Doug F: Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time out to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate it. We are sorry that we do not offer a free continental breakfast. Our restaurant, Nacho Mama's Bar & Grill offers a 10% discount to hotel guests for all meals. Everything is hot and made to order....

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
12.7 km away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
5.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#39 of 81 in Richmond
214 reviews
6.6 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#32 of 81 in Richmond
126 reviews
12.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Clarion Hotel Richmond Central....Close To Everything...Far From Ordinary! Richmond's most centrally located hotel is just off I-95 & I-64 in the heart of Virginia's state capital. Closet Hotel to Greyhound Bus Lines, The Diamond and Race Track. One of the city's convention properties, we are just minutes from the Greater Richmond Convention Center. The historic and financial districts (including numerous Fortune 500 companies, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia Union University and the vast array of 'Museums on the Boulevard' are minutes from our door! The Richmond Raceway Complex, home to twice yearly NASCAR races is within miles of our hotel, and we are within walking distance of the Arthur Ashe Center. Clarion Hotel Richmond Central offers 176 deluxe accommodations, including three suites. The Executive King building with 32" Flat Screen LCD and Mirco/Fridge. We unveiled our new 'queen/queen' guest rooms! ZODIAC Restaurant & Lounge is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Our parking is plentiful - and complimentary! High -speed wireless Internet access is free and available property wide. . Our flexible meeting space can accommodate groups up to 600! At Clarion Richmond Central- memorable guest experiences happen daily! ** On To Richmond!' ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Richmond Central

Address: 3207 North Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Holiday Inn Central)
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: ₹ 3,824 - ₹ 7,448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Richmond Central 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Hotel Richmond Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond
Central Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel Richmond Central staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
York Haven, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel Richmond Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the C block are farthest away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyH365, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you care about your health, stay at a different hotel”
  • Bedbug after it was killed on the side of the bed in room 114
 of 5 bubbles T4332WVmaryt, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“avoid building next to freeway”
 of 5 bubbles 417maryellenm, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the four-story annex, not on the ground floor rooms near the pool, which was loud with lots of foot traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles Chaz343, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try a room closer to lobby area for a good Wi-fi signal”
 of 5 bubbles Jazsi1, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5