We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Hotel Richmond Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
Golconda, Illinois
Reviewed 27 August 2016

this is a good hotel but was disappointed that the bar and restaurant was closed this caused a lot of in convenient to find places to eat and to have a social drink without traveling some distance to do so, and to put up with insane traffic!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prince9540
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear prince9540: Thank you for staying at our hotel and for leaving valuable feedback. I'm sorry the restaurant put you in such a bind. You must did not know that there is a restaurant right across the street from the hotel called Kitchen 64. We apologize for making you aware of this. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Harriman, Tennessee
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed for the cost of the room and they didn't even offer continental breakfast. The Room was dissent nothing spectacular I most likely won't be staying at this location again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Matt T: Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry we were not able to offer you a free continental breakfast to make the room more of a value for you. We appreciate your feedback. Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Indianapolis
Reviewed 23 August 2016

If I had to visit Richmond again, I might stay here. But I'd probably upgrade to another chain. This was another chain and it's supposedly now renovated, but it doesn't look like the renovations are finished. The restaurant closed August 1 and no on told our group about that, which made it not great for finding breakfast. Pool is tiny...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan F
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Susan F: Thank you for staying with us and for leaving us valuable feedback. It is greatly appreciated. Although our major renovations have been completed, we always strive to improve our hotel. I'm sorry you had difficulty finding breakfast, and you felt our pool was small. I am happy we were able to provide you with clean, comfortable accommodations....

MD
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

To make this short. My boyfriend and his friend booked this hotel for a short stay. To my dismay I had to suck it up. I slept on top of the covers in my clothing in the one clean bed. Dust all over, Dust in curtains, Dirty toilet seat , Bugs in room Smell in hallway, Wifi SUCKS, Elevator doesn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronishia11368
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear ronishia11368: Thank you for giving our hotel a try and for providing us with valuable feedback. I'm sorry for putting you in such deplorable accommodations. That was not our intention. I wish you would have let us know so we could have moved you to a better room. I hope you at least briefed our staff on these issues...

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We stopped at this hotel on our way to Myrtle Beach . The person at the desk acknowledge me at a gold card member which no other Clarion Inn has done. I thought this was great to be acknowledged in this way. We had connecting rooms . My grandkids thought this was awesome. The rooms were great . We used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s3blazer
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear s3blazer: Thank you for such a great review. I think you intended to give us 5 stars, but you only gave us 1 star. That's fine though. We were glad to have you. Bhumi was the agent who checked you in and recognized your elite status. I let her know how grateful you are. Please, do come back to...

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We were 2 families traveling down to Florida and decided to stay overnight after a long day of driving from Montreal. Rooms were clean, we had asked to stay pool side and management were very accommodating. Pool was great and we were able to get served our supper right on the pool deck. Great service. I know where to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Eric J: Thank you so much for this great review. We loved having you with us. We are happy that you got enjoy supper by the pool as well. Please come back to see us soon. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 26 July 2016

I am a Richmond native. I just wanted to lay up on the outskirts of the city. The room was immaculate. The service impeccable and the location was perfect. Nacho Mama is a nice little quaint spot right in the hotel which cut down on travel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrence M
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Terrence M: Thank you for taking the time out to review our property. I'm so happy you enjoyed your accommodations with us. Please remember us each time you need a "in-town getaway". We can't wait to welcome you back. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 26 July 2016

A friend and I were only staying 1 night so it was doable, but overall I was disappointed. There was a funky smell in our room, no included breakfast (isn't that pretty much standard these days?), the wifi wouldn't connect, and it was hot as heck in our room. The fridge was also not working. If you know someone is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seregon O
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Seregon O: Thank you so much for giving our hotel a try and for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate this very much. I'm so sorry your room was not up to par. In the future, please contact the front desk if you have any issues so we can either correct those issues for you, or switch you...

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

In most cases Clarion is the step above in the Choice Hotel line, not this location. We have been to this hotel the last 4 years to attend the Beer, Bourbon & BBQ Fest. We chose the location because it is close to the venue. We are not fancy people, but cleanliness in accommodations is important. The room was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cyndib91
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear cyndib91: Thank you for returning to our hotel for another year and for reviewing our property. We sorry we failed to exceed your expectations. We are actually trying to improve each year. I will forward your review to the general manager. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located off of I-95. Easy access from I-95 N and I-95 S Front desk staff were busy and professional Greeted each guest and was available to answer all questions The hotel lobby offers a sitting area as well as a full service restaurant which closes at 10p during the week and midnight on weekends . Across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Joseph S: Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our property. We appreciate this good review. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations here along with our guest services team. Please come back to see us when you are in town. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
1.6 km away
ENYS Hotel
ENYS Hotel
#49 of 83 in Richmond
3 reviews
5.4 km away
Speco Hotels Richmond
Speco Hotels Richmond
#46 of 83 in Richmond
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#39 of 83 in Richmond
209 reviews
6.6 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#34 of 83 in Richmond
122 reviews
12.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Clarion Hotel Richmond Central....Close To Everything...Far From Ordinary! Richmond's most centrally located hotel is just off I-95 & I-64 in the heart of Virginia's state capital. Closet Hotel to Greyhound Bus Lines, The Diamond and Race Track. One of the city's convention properties, we are just minutes from the Greater Richmond Convention Center. The historic and financial districts (including numerous Fortune 500 companies, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia Union University and the vast array of 'Museums on the Boulevard' are minutes from our door! The Richmond Raceway Complex, home to twice yearly NASCAR races is within miles of our hotel, and we are within walking distance of the Arthur Ashe Center. Clarion Hotel Richmond Central offers 176 deluxe accommodations, including three suites. The Executive King building with 32" Flat Screen LCD and Mirco/Fridge. We unveiled our new 'queen/queen' guest rooms! ZODIAC Restaurant & Lounge is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Our parking is plentiful - and complimentary! High -speed wireless Internet access is free and available property wide. . Our flexible meeting space can accommodate groups up to 600! At Clarion Richmond Central- memorable guest experiences happen daily! ** On To Richmond!' ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Richmond Central

Address: 3207 N Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23230-4225 (Formerly Holiday Inn Central)
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: ₹ 3,882 - ₹ 6,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Richmond Central 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Hotel Richmond Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond
Central Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel Richmond Central staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
York Haven, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel Richmond Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid building next to freeway”
 of 5 bubbles 417maryellenm, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the four-story annex, not on the ground floor rooms near the pool, which was loud with lots of foot traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles Chaz343, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try a room closer to lobby area for a good Wi-fi signal”
 of 5 bubbles Jazsi1, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“check with the front desk”
 of 5 bubbles prince9540, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Building C away from pool”
 of 5 bubbles 29SusanF, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay