We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Show Prices
#12 of 83 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

812 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 799: English reviews
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Wonderful stay if only for 1 night... Would like to single out the front desk staff and Bell Man, Valet, + Coach Driver; Tamas. He is the epitome of high quality front line service and he creates a very positive face of the Hotel. Nice hotel, great place to stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scoglo
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Scogio for providing your valuable feedback. I know that our entire Valet/shuttle team will be excited to hear you comments and will hope you return soon.

Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Tamas Steindel was a fantastic driver for us. Very personable and excellent service. He is a very valuable asset to the company. We needed several rides to local restaurant. We will stay here again in a few weeks because of the total over experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin C
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Kevin for your valuable feedback. I know that Tomas and our entire team will be excited to hear your comments. We are looking forward to your return.

Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

The front desk really took care of my lady and I. Very professional and thoughtful. Parking, breakfast, and great service. Wonderful experience! I recommend this spot to all the couples who enjoy a good time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K. Anthony B
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you K. Anthony B for providing your valuable feedback. A "Wonderful Experience" is our goal. I know that Renee, Jeanie and our entire Front Office team will be excited to hear your feedback. Please return soon for another Wonderful Experience.

Williamsburg
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

Wanda is the best Front Desk Agent ever! We checked in late unexpected no one to be nice to us but Wanda had a wonderful smile and personality and made us feel welcome as tired as we were thank you Wanda!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fred J
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Fred for your wonderful comments. I know Wanda and our entire Front Desk team will be excited to hear your feedback. Please return soon for more wonderful smiles.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 7 January 2016

My (new) husband and I selected the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown for our out-of-town guests to stay at for our New Year's Day wedding. Prior to the wedding, we had a wonderful experience working with Casey McNutt in the sales department - she was so kind and accommodating. She was very speedy at answering all of our questions and flexible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyEller
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Fantastic Kimberly, this is exactly what a new couple deserves, a wonderful experience! I know Casey will be excited to hear your feedback and we all wish you the best!

Dallas, Georgia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Hotel shuttle picked us up at airport at midnight, great service! When we checked in we were greeted with a smile by the staff, in particular a lady named Wanda. It is always a pleasure to be assisted by someone who has a great attitude and are excellent at what they do! Overall enjoyed our short stay, room clean, comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurami2016
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you laurai2016, for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay. Our entire team including Wanda will be excited to hear your feedback. We are hoping you will have a chance to reeturn soon.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 4 January 2016

I used to stay at The Hilton Grand Garden, but was put here one week and have since returned every week. The staff is great: Edgar, Darrell, and of course Crystal, always treat me great. There has been a couple weeks when I had an issue with my room, but Susie and Scott went above and beyond to not only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel G
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Joel G, my sincere thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. As a every week valued customer I feel you do have a chance to get to know our staff and services. Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Loyal customer and we are all looking forward to seeing you in the weeks to come...

Philadelphia
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Just going to write bullet points about my experience: -hot tub scalding hot- couldnt even get in. -then got in pool and there was a dirty bandaid on the side. -elevators malfunctioned -ac/ thermostat in room not working -wanted room service and no menu. So called front desk- no one responded. -ice machine on my floor did not work -highlight...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shiggiephila
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Shiggiephila, thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. My sincere apology that anyone would have an experience such as your recent stay with our property. If allowed I would like to contect you directly in order to work toward making up for this experience. Again thank you for providing feedback that our team will today...

Virginia
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We went for the night and it was nicer than I expected. While there were loud patrons next to us, our room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a shuttle bus that will take you from the hotel to area restaurants making it easy to enjoy a cocktail or two.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank off2thekeys
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you offto the keys for taking the time to provide your feedback concerning your recent stay with our property. We apologize that you had loud patrons next door to your room. Our staff will appreciate your feedback and I know will be hoping that you return soon for a few more cocktails.

Lake Forest Park, Washington
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

It was ok. Check in was easy enough. My husband is Spire Elite so we usually get a little extra special treatment. Not here and that was ok, not a big deal. Opted for the $15 a day parking. Lady at the front desk told us to just swipe our key card. We tried every possible way...no luck. Oh well,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geneva H
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear GenevaHale, as a Spire Elite member you deserve very special treatment. I would like to apologize that our hotel failed to accomplish our goal. I would like to contact you directly if possible to try and make up for your experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback that our team will work hard to...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 83 in Richmond
1,644 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.6 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 83 in Richmond
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#10 of 83 in Richmond
677 reviews
0.8 km away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 83 in Richmond
1,115 reviews
0.7 km away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#16 of 83 in Richmond
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visit the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown and discover all that downtown Richmond has to offer. You are in the heart of the financial district, shopping, dining, and entertainment. You are within easy walking distance of Shockoe Slip, Shockoe Bottom and many of Virginia s Fortune 500 Companies.The Crowne Plaza overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and the Tredegar Civil War Museum. We are centrally located to many of Richmond's attractions with convenient access to Interstates 95 and 64, only 9.8 miles from Richmond International Airport. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and 7 layers of comfort bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Considering these options, the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown is the superior choice when deciding on a facility that has style and class, yet is ideal in location for anyone. Now open The Great Room proudly serving Starbucks Coffee, fresh pastries, gourmet sandwiches and soups, The Great Room features soft seating, large screen TV, wired and wireless free high-speed Internet connections--a great place to start or end your day! Attractions: The Carpenter Center for Performing Arts, Landmark Theatre, the Governor s Mansion, Kings Dominion, Busch Gardens, Richmond Ballet, Richmond Convention Center, Virginia Science Museum, Shockoe Slip. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: ₹ 7,283 - ₹ 14,498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner room was unique and awesome; suite room was luxurious.”
 of 5 bubbles 628peng, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor on the river side.”
 of 5 bubbles VAGirl1, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not sure if thre is a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles tommyl651, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive rooms with river views have lots of windows and are quite nice.”
 of 5 bubbles DMN_12, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to book a room on the James River side.”
 of 5 bubbles jjmyers421, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay