We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harvard Square Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 685: English reviews
Start your review of Harvard Square Hotel
 Click to rate
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the HSH while visiting my kid at school. The front desk was wonderful. They let me in my room super early, gladly printed my boarding passes, and offered to store my luggage after checkout. The room was tiny but clean. It had everything I needed: working TV, desk, alarm clock, tiny but adequate closet and bathroom. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D J
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DJ: Thank you for your review of the Harvard Square Hotel. I apologize that your guest room was chilly during your stay. I will follow up. I am happy that you found our hotel location in Harvard Square near by all of your activities. I will check on the HVAC. Sincerely Richard Carbone General Manager and Business Owner

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well, the location is great. But not much else. Arrived to find my room was 90 degrees. Turned on the air conditioning and went for a walk. Retuned to discover temp still 90. Was told that air conditioning was only going to be turned on the following week. They gave me a fan but it made little difference. Slept with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Masood A
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Masood: Thank you for the review of the Harvard Square Hotel. I apologize that your guest room was warm. We do have the AC on now in our building. I am happy that you enjoyed our city center location. Thank you for your comments. They mean a lot to us. Sincerely, Richard Carbone Business Owner 12 years

Upper Montclair
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was small. Bathroom was small. Shower was terrible. All of which I could deal with for a much more reasonable rate. $350 plus is a lot to ask for when the room isn't half amazing. Staff was pleasant

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pattym880
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: Than you for your review of the Harvard Square Hotel. I apologize that you thought the price value to guest room size did not match up with your experience at my hotel. We try to price our rooms in the middle of the Harvard Square City Center Market. If you return please contact me directly so that...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Harvard Square Hotel is wonderfully located in Harvard Square. It is incredibly convenient to get to Harvard University and Cambridge in general. It is also very well-built with excellent sound-insulated rooms. What would make the stay better would be easy access to a microwave oven and more control over the temperature in the rooms (it was warm, but still only...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 897rossl
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel prior to working as a medical volunteer at the Boston Marathon. I have stayed here prior to previous marathons and not had a problem. This was a very hot weekend and there was no air conditioning in the hotel. They said there was no way it could be turned on until May. I have never...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
Oakwood Montgomery County, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved being right in Harvard Square. The room was fine. I came when the air conditioning was not on yet for the season and was very hot in the room. The staff did provide a fan, but it didn't help much. I would go there again because of location and it the accommodations were very nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivianj17
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you ver much for your kind review. We have now turned on the AC after a long winter and we welcome you back in the future. Thank you for commenting on our city center Harvard Square central location. Very much appreciated. Please contact me directly to make a future room reservation. My e-mail is rcarbone@collegiatehospitality.com Sincerely...

Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was dirty (bathroom especially) and the hotel itself is extremely loud. Absolutely not worth the hundreds of dollars to stay here. The Charles Hotel is across the street which looks like a formal hotel that you would expect for the amount that is paid.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aradk865
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: thank you for your review. I apologize that your bathroom was not cleaned properly and that you found our hotel to loud. We are a city center location and I do apologize that you were not happy with your stay. I have been the business owner for the past 12 years and we do price our hotel...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel location is great however the hotel is horrible. 1st room I got the keys would not work and could not get in. They then give me a 2nd room. This room has the furniture peeling and bubbling, stains on the rug, and I had a few gnats (bugs) in the room. Then I call down because the room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for your review. I apologize that you had a problem with your guest room key and that our AC was not working well in your room. I will follow up and appreciate your constructive comments. Sincerely Richard Carbone General Manager

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always enjoy our stay with you, and the hotel never disappoints. Very cordial and attentive staff, clean rooms, and hot coffee in the mornings. We have a freshman son at Harvard College, and I graduated in '82 and am headed back for a class reunion next month. We're staying with you, and trying to extend our stay even longer...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhdurham14
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for your loyalty to the Harvard Square Hotel and your very nice review of the Harvard Square Hotel. Please contact me directly about making a future reservation and I will see if we have any cancellations for the dates that you want next month. Safe Travels. My e-mail is rcarbone@collegiatehospitality.com Sincerely, Richard Carbone General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in the best part of Harvard Square. It is the place to stay, for the price and location. Yes there is no gym or restaurant, but if I needed these I would be paying much more. Staff is great. GM goes out of his way to assist all of his guests. Great place to stay for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mwhite321321
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mwhite321321: Valued Guest a very Big Thank you for your recent review about the Harvard Square Hotel. Thank you.. we do have a wonderful city center location and the nicest front desk and housekeeping staff around. We pride ourselves on personalized customer service. Also we do have a full guest room and lobby renovation planned for December 2017 all...

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (84)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
Standard King Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 km away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,493 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
486 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#8 of 20 in Cambridge
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,859 reviews
3.1 km away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
910 reviews
1.8 km away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Starbucks Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! We would like to thank our recent guests for their patience as we installed a brand new elevator. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Price Range: ₹ 16,833 - ₹ 28,397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harvard Square Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
New York City, New York
Houston, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Harvard Square Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only choose this hotel if the weather is such that you will not need to adjust the temperature in the room.”
dj371, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not sure I understand what to write here...”
pattym880, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Location Location Location Simple and Good Value and Great Service”
mwhite321321, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't know what you mean by 'Room tip'.”
AndrewJMM, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for back side, away from the square if you want quiet.”
LaJollaJoe, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5