We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carpenter Street Hotel

Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (6)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Our downtown boutique property is located in the growing Springfield Medical District, only one block from the St. Johns Hospital campus. Our hotel is also in close proximity to the following local attractions: Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum Illinois State Capitol Lincoln Home National Historic Site Dana-Thomas House by Frank Lloyd Wright Abraham Lincoln's Tomb Illinois State Fair Feel at home in our stylish guest rooms, with contemporary boutique-style décor and furnishings. Of course a flat-panel HDTV, 1-cup coffee maker, refrigerator/microwave, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and expanded cable television are included in all rooms, along with these other full-service offerings: Complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily Complimentary hotel-wide wireless high-speed access Complimentary weekday shuttle within 5 miles radius, upon availability
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Airport Transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
271Reviews
46Photos
5Q+A
44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 98
  • 30
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel is in walking distance of the train station. There was supposed to be a shuttle. It does not run on the weekend. I don't recall any notation of that when I booked. It was raining when I left and it was parked outside. There were two people at the desk, I think someone
Read more
Response from Vicky O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel
Responded 1 Dec 2018
So sorry to hear that you missed seeing that our shuttle only works weekdays. Even if there are two people at the hotel, legally we can only have drivers that are on our company auto insurance. We do make exceptions for the train station or airport on the weekend if we have a licensed approved employee here. We also have a rotating breakfast menu, sorry that we didn't have your liking on the menu that day. However, thank you for staying with us and for providing feedback.
Read more
Very nice hotel with good rates when staying for a hospital patient visit. Pleasant staff with helpful people and clean rooms. Breakfast was good and we felt safe in this hotel. They even had cookies at the front desk in the evening. I would recommend this hotel if visiting the
Read more
Response from Vicky O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. We also have packages should you return for a visit and not for a hospital stay.
Read more
Very friendly staff. Comfortable room. Great location to walk to Lincoln Museum and Library and avoid parking lot expense. Very pleased with package that included hotel and Museum entry tickets as well as "snack bag" - great treats for our road trip and visit.
Read more
Response from Vicky O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Lincoln Museum package. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Should you return to Springfield, we would be happy to accommodate you.
Read more
We were happy with the convenience of the location to all the Lincoln related items we were visiting. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was your typical hotel offerings (waffles, cereal, sausage\biscuit, yogurt, fruit) When we arrived, we found a couple of individuals hanging
Read more
Response from Vicky O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel
Responded 16 Oct 2018
Thank you for staying with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were approached for a handout, we definitely don't approve of that. We appreciate your feedback.
Read more
I stayed here 2 weeknights while checking out Springfield sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The King room was comfortable. Unlike another reviewer i heard no traffic noise at all. My room was at the end of the hall, on the backside, overlooking an adjacent
Read more
Response from Vicky O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2018
Thank you for staying with us, we are happy to see that you not only enjoyed your stay with us but that you enjoyed touring our City. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementCarpenter Street Hotel
King Suite Bedroom
Notre chambre avec ses deux lits queen size
PreviousNext
12345
We are only about 5-7 minutes away from the fairgrounds and our shuttle service is definitely able to transport you there. It runs Monday - Friday from 5 a.m. - 10 p.m.
0 votes
Show all answers
They are very helpful....email or ring them.
0 votes
Show all answers
I stayed at the Carpenter Hotel this spring (2016) for 5 days, 6 nights. I felt safe there. I live in a major city so I exercise caution wherever I go. Be aware of my surroundings. Don't leave things in view in my car. Lock my car. Stuff like that.
0 votes
Show all answers
We used the shuttle at 5 am on a Monday. We were very pleased with their service, they came and picked us up when we called for a ride. The driver was very concerned and warmed up the shuttle for us, took us right to the door we needed to go to. Hope this helps
0 votes
Show all answers
"Our room was quiet and faced the back of the building. I would also recommend an upper floor."
"Rooms at the end of the hall, on the same side as the elevator, are quiet as they are away from the busy intersection."
"Second floor rooms have better access to ice and vending machines"
"No great views, so doesn't really matter. Just use this hotel as your base."
"If you use Amtrak,this motel will take you to station in its free shuttle"
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$ 94 - US$ 116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisSpringfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing