We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Puffin Inn

TripAdvisorUS$ 143*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 201*
US$ 143*
Great Deal
US$ 201*
US$ 200*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Puffin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Puffin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Called to check availability, polite warm welcome from the front desk personal, Katie was knowlage, nice, and very helpful. We got a great deal on a wonderful room. Will definitely be coming back. Thank you all for a wonderful experience.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beers1989
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Katie works so hard and I know she's going to be delighted to see your compliments! We're all about top-notch customer service, so it's great to hear that you think we're doing a good job. Thanks for the review. I can't wait to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I decided to stay at this because of budget despite despite very bad reviews. I had to call three times to confirm my reservation. Website advertises a rate of 86 dollars/night before taxes. I mentioned the 35% off deal on THEIR OWN WEBSITE and was told the reservation will be made with the discount. No confirmation was sent for two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zee L
PuffinManager, Manager at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience with our reservations staff. The 35% off ad does specify that it is taken off of our Rack - or standard- Rate and not off of our already discounted rates. It looks like the rate you were looking at on our website was a promo rate - which was indeed...

Wasilla, Alaska
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Booked online and upon reading reviews asks to be placed on the renovated section, was upgraded and placed on the first floor room 1109. Well, it was not worth the upgrade since that room is next to the exit room and all night long people were going in and out of the exit more than the front door. That was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myfaironepb
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you thought our staff was friendly, but disappointing that your location next to the exit kept you up at night. I would have been happy to get you another room, if we had additional availability. Thanks for the feedback here on Yelp. Next time you're in town, I hope you'll stay with us again. All...

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Delayed return flights from Outside kept me from using their room in the back end of a pre-paid park-and-fly reservation. Their adherence to a form and internal policy will not allow a even a partial refund for not using their room. So a shuttle and parking cost me $160. They've lost a customer. I hope you stay away too.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GoodCustomerGoesAway
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear that your flights were delayed, Jay. Right now, we offer our park and ride reservation as a package deal that includes the room. We do no have a lower option that allows guests to just park and ride in the event of a delayed flight. However, I apologize that you felt slighted by our policy....

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our second time staying at Puff Inn in winters and it was great. I really appreciate the flexibility and the hospitality of the staff here, the people are very helpful. And we would especially like to thank Katie and Chico (manager) for being so kind and generous and helping us in our reservations. A free shuttle is provided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chattiya
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It means so much to us that you would come back and stay with us again, Chittiya. Your wonderful compliments here on Yelp mean the world to us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in Alaska. Next time you need a vacation, stop in and visit us. Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a nice hotel, very convenient to everything. Morning breakfast was good. Staff friendly and helpful. We had set up another hotel close to the airport for our flight out but it turned out the Puffin was so close it didnt matter. We wished we could have stayed here twice. Will definitely stay here for the full trip next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cnorris12000
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Friendly staff, great location, tasty breakfast — that's what we're all about, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in Anchorage, we'd love for you to stay with us again. All the best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

San Francisco
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very comfortable room for the price @ a little over 50 dollars a bite. Like that IT'S 5 minutes from airport and a very nice continental breakfast included. Housekeeping could be a little better - clean bathroom sink. The check in area is comfy with nice fireplace and bear fur mounted on wall. Tees Alaskan!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dmlandis
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We're excited that you enjoyed our location and breakfast! It makes us very happy to help our guests discover the majesty of Alaska, so we're glad that you got the opportunity to stay with us. Thanks for the feedback. Next time you're in town, stop in and say hello! Till then, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Seward, Alaska
Reviewed 23 December 2013

staff is always friendly and helpful. rooms are clean and make you feel at home. price is great, everything is great. the breakfast is first class with free newspapers. free internet, HBO, some pet rooms. if you don't like staying in a pet friendly room just say so and get a room that is pet free.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cliff C
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the support, Cliff! We're all about friendly service and comfortable accommodations, so your support here on Yelp means the world to us! Next time you're in Anchorage, stop in and visit us. Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Central Florida
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you have a special rate they will insist you bring the brochure and if you fail they will change the rate to ridiculous high prices for this budget motel. Reserving EIGHT months in advance, you would think they could clarify rates.. Hesitant to stay at a place that kept waffling about a rate that was negotiated the very day...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Foxes999
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Honesty is our policy, so I'm very concerned to hear that you thought we were trying to overcharge you. I definitely plan on bringing this review up with my staff. Thanks for the support and I hope you'll give us another chance sometime soon. Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Brimfield, Illinois
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Had a quick overnighter while driving up to Fairbanks the next day. Nice hotel, very friendly staff. Continental Breakfast good. Just a block down from Iditarod headquarters. Definitely will try again when in the area longer.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deanintransit
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Dean! Are you coming back into town for the Iditarod? It would be great to have you back! All the best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.2 km away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#51 of 73 in Anchorage
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#48 of 73 in Anchorage
115 reviews
0.7 km away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 73 in Anchorage
235 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Address: 4400 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-2914
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range: ₹ 4,848 - ₹ 13,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Puffin Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Umatilla, Florida
Ephrata, Washington

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Puffin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“With a pet along the ground floor rooms were helpful.”
145jerryv, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Street noise, lack of microwave/fridge may be issues in annex and original building.”
_tclashlee, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quite similar, we were lucky to get a slightly larger room.”
716noraa, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book on line to get the lowest rates”
C6729OTbarbaras, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the "large rooms."”
Foxsan, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 143* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 201
Booking.comUS$ 200
PricelineUS$ 200
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates