We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kona Reef Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kona Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 510: English reviews
Johnsburg, Illinois
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Let me just say its a wonderful place no beach swimming but, if you are a smoker and follow there smoking rules expect to pay 260.42 for there cleaning charge. My husband NEVER smoked inside the unit and hardly ever had the sliding door open. Yet when I got home the told me they found cigarette butts and the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george6263
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, it is a policy of the resort that smoking is prohibited in all guest rooms and room lanais throughout the resort. Guests are advised of the policy upon check-in. You were given a copy of the houserules and were given a map of the smoking area locations. Unfortunately we received a complaint about smoking in your unit and after...

Aurora, Oregon
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We rented unit D-18 for a week and were impressed. It was in a quiet location within walking distance from town with great ocean view. We loved having two bedrooms with separate bathrooms. There was only one air conditioner (at the front of the unit), and it was far from the master bedroom at the back of the unit. Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve-h132
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, but Castle Hotels & Resorts does not manage the unit that you were staying in at the Kona Reef. My suggestion would be to contact the owner and find out where you can post your comments. Mahalo!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had never been to the big island so this was a new experience all the way around. We wanted to take our extended family so we were able to exchange our timeshare weeks for four 1-bedroom condo's at this resort through RCI. Although we were spread out through the resort, it still worked out well. We arrived late in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phillynda
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, but Castle Resorts & Hotels does not manage the unit that you were staying in at the Kona Reef. Thank you!

Unionville, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location, the people we met and the aloha spirit made our visit that much better. The sound of the waves crashing in the background in our ocean side unit washed away any stress we brought with us. We would be happy to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy Y
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you so much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor! I will certainly relay your comments to my staff. We hope that you will visit us again here at the Kona Reef in the near future. Mahalo!

san diego
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We rented unit D-26 through VRBO directly through the owners, Bruce and Alice. Cannot say enough wonderful things about their unit and the Kona Reef!! We have stayed at many properties on the various islands and by far, this one tops them all!!! Located oceanfront on the third floor the unit was very comfortable and extremely well furnished with tons...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gardenlady1
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Unit D-26 is not part of our rental pool, but we do thank you very much for your compliments about the beauty of the Kona Reef Resort! Mahalo!

Salina, Kansas
Reviewed 10 August 2012

room was clean-but the best part was the pleasant staff and people that live there. They made our trip enjoyable. They told us about good places to eat and and places to see. Very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Everyone made us feel at home.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joyce H
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments on Trip Advisor! We know that trips to the Big Island are very special and my staff strives to ensure that every one of our guests has the best possible stay while visiting. We look forward to your return!

San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My family and I have been staying at Kona Reef Resort for many years now; however, before last week, our most recent stay was about six years ago. Kona Reef Resort has always been a clean, cozy environment, conveniently located near town. We've always had a pleasant experience (although it's a frills-free kind of place), so we've continued to make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loprof
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! As a follow up to your letter and my response, I did follow up with my staff regarding your concerns and the problems were corrected before the next arrival. Thank you again for sharing these concerns with us so that our arriving guest was not inconvenienced. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was our 2nd stay for a 3 week vacation at the Kona Reef. We stayed in A15 before and was a wonderful, super nice experience. This time however we did not do so well. We stayed in A33. This unit has a super nice view, direct ocean front, and the location is fantastic for walking into the Kona village....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rbymail
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, A-33 is not managed by Castle Hotels & Resorts. My suggestion would be, to go directly to the owner of the unit or management company that you booked through and share with them your concerns so that they can follow up with you directly. Mahalo!

Fremont, California
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at room C11 for a total of 11 days. It was a partial ocean view and we love it. Everything in the room is quite new and works perfectly. The room is stock with everything you might need for an extended stay. We have two young boys and so having a frid, washer/dryers, and internet is so great....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kqvo
Kailua, Hawaii, United States
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed in a ocean view room. It was E-11. While it didnt have a full beach view, it was BEAUTIFUL what we could see from the Lanai. We had a corner room, and could see out over the pool area and the ocean front. We LOVED our stay there. Our dishwasher wouldn't work at first, within 10min of reporting...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kristi M

535 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
View from Room (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
BBQ Area (6)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Oceanfront Condo Unit (52)
Viewed
Oceanview Condo Unit (56)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.6 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,770 reviews
7.0 km away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
1,522 reviews
8.2 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: ₹ 10,723 - ₹ 23,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kona Reef Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Kona Reef Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A and F wings are ocean front away from the road. Grounds floors are less private as there is a public walk way in front.”
A1765YTsusanh, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Read all reviews. Contact owner and ask questions. Top floor rooms are best.”
MFP3, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front is the nicest but our room was poolside and it was fine.”
MarieP945, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not all units appear to be equal -- ours was perfect!”
ChezFit, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view”
LeonP703, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5