We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,824 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,401: English reviews
Shanghai
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Checked in on December 26, check in was very quick and efficient. The front desk staff were great. Had a 5th floor room in the East Tower, which faced the West tower and had views of the ocean. The room was a 2 queen bed room, with a spacious balcony. The room was clean and well maintained. The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kdssmorse
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you expressed an appreciation for our location and hotel staff, it is definitely disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you. We are grateful for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back again someday. Mahalo

Khartoum, Sudan
Reviewed 2 January 2015

This hotel is something I would expect on the Jersey Shore or in Virginia Beach. It's not a bad place, per se, it simply is not what comes to mind when you think of an Hawaiian Resort. The beach and pool are both small and forgettable. The hotel itself is very large (there was a youth basketball tournament in town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCW703
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your review of out hotel. Our Hotel is located in the heart of Kailua town. We apologize if you were under the impression to be visiting a resort since our hotel is truly a hotel and not a resort. Our Sand Beach while not the largest is the only hotel Beach in Kailua Town. Thank...

Reviewed 2 January 2015

We stayed at this hotel for two nights to begin our week long honeymoon on the big island. The best part was its location close to the KONA airport, so that we didn't have to drive far when arriving. The hotel was clean and the staff were helpful though I dd notice an overwhelming air freshener smell in the hallways....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, congratulations on your Marriage and thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your visit to our hotel. We do hope that for your next visit we will be able to deliver something special to you, as it is what we aim to deliver to our guests. Mahalo

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We stayed here for almost 1 week and it was a fantastic location. Right outside the side entrance is the pool with access to a beautiful sandy beach and small bay you can swim in. You are very close to all the restaurants and shops in Kona as well. Its approximately 0.6 mile to walk to Lava Java (really good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janevictoria2014
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Great location, nice open air restaurant, but a bit expensive. Huge rooms. The only view of the ocean is from the balcony, so a bit misleading in terms of saying ocean view room. Also, the picture on the website is deceptive as it implies a larger area for the hotel but much of that shown in the picture is not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BruceUSA
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your stay in Kona. We appreciate and value all guest feedback and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. However, it is disappointing to hear that did not fully impress you in terms of the view and hope that this did not impact...

Ny
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We are platinum Marriott members. Don't expect to be treated like one. Customer service is not at all what you would expect. Very disappointed. We could have stayed anywhere but choose marriott for status. At check in they could not be ruder. Rooms are okay. The hotel is a wind tunnel you need to sleep with a towel under the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLV7
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Let me assure you that we value you as a guest and are disappointed that your experience was not one to remember. I was very sorry to hear that you felt you were not appreciated as a Marriott Rewards Platinum member. I agree that the service that you...

Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

Lots of previous reviewers have mentioned the smell.... Well mystery solved it's chemical pest control. Which I understand is necessary these days due to many international travellers and pesky bugs. However, chemicals should not be sprayed in rooms while guests are using them. The hotel posted a notice in the elevator the day of the spraying and took it down...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Hdhthy
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We couldn’t be more disappointed than to hear that your recent stay was not as you had anticipated. It is our goal to ensure a seamless experience for all our guests, and we do apologize that your stay did not reflect that. Our pest control measurement is intended to protect our guests. All guest feedback is taken seriously and...

aussies going to europe
Reviewed 30 December 2014

We recently spent a few nights at this hotel. We were lucky to have ocean/beach views from our room. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed reasonably comfortable. The local area was filled with small shops and plenty of restaurants. We did not require a car during our stay. Cruise ships ferry people into Kona from just off...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lb2007
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review for Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including our location, hotel amenities, and spending time at our beach. We love sharing Hawaii’s culture and history with our guests and the luau is a wonderfully entertaining way to learn...

Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewed 28 December 2014

A great location, right in the middle of town, easy access to anything Kona has to offer and easy access from the airport. There is ample (though not free parking). Reception and housekeeping were very friendly. The hotel is average, not in a bad way at all, but just wasn't anything special. The rooms were clean and surprisingly spacious. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jonathan J
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. However, it is disappointing to hear that our bedding did not meet your expectations but we are glad that your overall stay was enjoyable. Thank you for alerting us to your experience, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and exceed all your expectations. Mahalo

North Pole, Alaska
Reviewed 26 December 2014

As many have already posted, this is an older hotel, but it is still very nice and seems to be well kept. We stayed here one night before our drive to the Hilo side of the island. The view from our room, we could see the harbor and very nice banyan tree. The bed was very comfortable and overall everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laterisers
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. Although your expressed an appreciation for our convenient location, and hotel amenities. It is however regrettable that the sounds originating from outside your room were disruptive; we apologize for the inconvenience and we hope that it did not impact your overall experience. We appreciate your feedback...

1,672 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1451)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (335)
Viewed
Bathroom (81)
Viewed
View from Room (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (172)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (231)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (422)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (221)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,768 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: ₹ 12,411 - ₹ 21,719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
76 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (76)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the road and the parking lot are noisy. Go for an ocean view.”
  • Some cleaning needed here
  • Some scraping and painting needed here
Yog-Sothoth, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the 2nd floor (203) good view of beach, but it also had a lot of roof of the lower unit to look over.”
davidmM5034AC, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Worth the extra for oceanfront.”
DBasinger, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our "partial ocean-view" had a small balcony with a pleasant view of the waterfront.”
Bets54, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Partial ocean view for slight upgrade price, west tower.”
kcgray632, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5