We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,822 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,399: English reviews
Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This is the first time that we have stayed at the King Kamehameha Hotel since it became a Courtyard by Marriott. They have upgraded everything from the grounds to the rooms. The tap water has been converted to a Reverse Osmosis system so there is no need to buy bottled water like you usually do in Kailua-Kona. Great place to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Norm-in-Hilo
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Mahalo for your kind review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliments. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Friendly staff, very clean and comfortable, very well located. Beach access and daily visit of Mr. Turtle. Don't miss the Luau. Walking distance from shoppings, bars and restaurants. We stayed for 3 nights. Definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roselis S
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your wonderful comments. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location and our ocean front luau. We appreciate your compliments for our hotel and staff. Please visit us again soon it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything about the hotel and room were nice, except that you couldn't control/set the AC and it didn't seem to work very well. Our room was barely cool enough to sleep at night (but still humid), and unpleasantly warm during the day. I expected more for the price. Many properties in Kona don't have AC - you can just open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John J
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered with the air conditioning. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we hope that we can welcome you back again someday. Mahalo

alberta
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently booked one night at this hotel in April 2014. I have to admit to not being a big fan of old Kailua town, but it was our last night on the Big Island, and I wanted to stay as close to the airport as possible. We had been staying in a condo in South Kohala, but were unable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank luvjasperdog
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our hotel staff it is definitely disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you. We are grateful for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Mahalo

Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We chose this property because of where it is located. Right on the ocean, and within walking distance to restaurants and shops. The hotel was very clean, the staff was friendly, and would definately stay here again. We enjoyed getting coffee from the coffee shop, and sitting outside watching the town come to life.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue H
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your kind review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We were pleased to learn that you had a very nice time while staying with us and enjoyed our location in addition to the friendliness of our staff. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our two-week Hawaiian vacation. I had been looking forward to staying here for the entire trip (the places prior to this were a condo and a B&B) because I just knew it was going to be great. I was right. The staff here is over-the-top friendly. When we came down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hunnyjar
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Hawaiian vacation. It is our goal to create an exceptional experience for all our guests. We are delighted we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations and happy to hear that our staff took such good care of you while you were here. Your kind remarks for...

Dorrington, California
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We recently had a destination wedding at the King Kam. The majority of our guests stayed there. It was perfect for this purpose as it is right in the middle of Kailua action. The hotel itself offers so much for not as much $ as you might expect. The pool area, while not huge, is very nice with a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mtngranny
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We appreciate and value all guest feedback and would like to thank you for sharing your valuable perspective with us. We are truly sorry that there were a few concerns that arose at the time of your wedding but we are glad that your overall stay was enjoyable. We hope that you will return...

missouri
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived late and exhausted to find our room was a little smaller than I expected. The beds are comfy but there is a lot of wasted space when you first walk in that is just empty. The The bathroom, beds, and small chair are kind of crammed in. I had requested a 5th or 6th floor oceanfront view 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missourimom54
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our hotel staff and the wonderful views it is disappointing to learn that our room size did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will allow us to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the Big Island....

Melbourne, Florida
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our stay at this Marriott hotel was one of the best we've ever had. This includes our stays at the Marriott on the other islands. Every staff member we were in contact with was very friendly and helpful. We had a specific internet requirement and this need was accommodated prior to our stay and made our internet access successful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buswrb
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your feedback as well as your recommendation of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are thrilled you had a great time and enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including our staff, amenities, and pool area. I agree we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. Please visit us...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I would say that this hotel is excellent for its location directly in Kona. We spent a couple nights there and it was just perfect for its limited purpose. It was close to the harbor (if you are taking a morning tour) and walking distance for the whole town. They have a nice pool and it is close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travbud1
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are so delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location, pool area and dining at Honu’s on the Beach Restaurant. We appreciate your feedback as well as your recommendation; we hope that you will be back soon to explore even more of the Big Island....

1,669 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1448)
Viewed
View from Room (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (172)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (231)
Viewed
Bathroom (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (334)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (422)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (221)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,766 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: ₹ 12,307 - ₹ 21,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
76 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (76)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was on the 2nd floor (203) good view of beach, but it also had a lot of roof of the lower unit to look over.”
davidmM5034AC, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Worth the extra for oceanfront.”
DBasinger, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our "partial ocean-view" had a small balcony with a pleasant view of the waterfront.”
Bets54, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Partial ocean view for slight upgrade price, west tower.”
kcgray632, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If wanting to do a luau, book it with your room as a package deal as the savings are significant.”
dtoliphant7, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5