We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Save
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast
 Click to rate
Daphne, Alabama
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My family and I stayed here once. $500 dollars was stolen in the middle of the night from my mother in her locked room. I hate to think what might have happened if we would have woke up during the robbery. Do night put your family at risk. I was told by the owner that we would recieve a $500...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank mapacho
Maryland
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We stayed here twice, once in 2007 and previously in 2006, since we like Kona so much. The first year was okay, all things considered. The owner is not at the property, and it had changed hands sometime around 2005-2006. The previous owner(s) must have sold the place "as is." The raggedy ann and andy dolls mentioned in other reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RollingstoneMD
Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2007

There was a death in the family and we had to cancel our stay at Kiwi Gardens. All other hotels were very accommadating, but Kiwi Gardens kept our money - all of it! We were appauled. Don't stay here, they are crooks...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Worldtraveller711
florida
Reviewed 5 June 2005

My husband and I are planning another trip to Hawaii. As I was again looking for B&B's, I remembered the horrible experience we had last year on our honeymoon. My husband and I booked this B&B for the last night of our honeymoon. We were running late for check in due to the fact that there was bad weather traveling...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank asil73
Management response:

We definitately have an ocean view, sorry their late night arrival and no full moon did not lend to ocean viewing, as far the breeze, I cannot control the weather... The Master Suite is located at the left end of the house,Total privacy there on that end of lanai and then the front of lani is screened in showing back...

Toronto, ON
Reviewed 3 June 2005

We did not enjoy our stay at Kiwi Gardens at all. To say that the people have eclectic tastes would be an understatement. I love character, but this was a little extreme. I think the thing that freaked my wife out the most was that there were Raggedy Ann (sp?) dolls, decorations, books, knick-knacks, etc absolutely everywhere. She couldn't sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank aadams01
Management response:

The Master Suite has a large solid stand up screen (8 sections) separating the bathroom from the bedroom. There is not one raggedy doll in the Master Suite. I am a raggedy doll colector and display two dozen in the huge family room......Over the 15 years of greeting guests in our beautiful bed and breakfast I have heard sooo many...

Tampa, FL
Reviewed 4 May 2005

This was a very nice place to stay. We had the master suite, which was clean and nice sized. We were also allowed to store our stuff in their garage when we went over to stay in Volcano for the night. We picked it up the next day before our flight out of Kona. Very convenient!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank GoGatorsTampa_FL
A TripAdvisor Member
Kauai, Hawaii
1 review
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2005

The Kiwi Gardens B and B was the perfect place to relax, relax, relax! We three "native" islanders know what "aloha" is and Shirlee and Ron have plenty of it! Ron even fixed our car! Shirlee's breakfasts were awesome and we enjoyed chatting with her and the other guests. As islanders who have not stayed at B and B's before,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 19 April 2005

My husband and I have returned several times to Kiwi Gardens and have never had an unpleasant experience there. The warm welcome, explanation of house rules, the excellant breakfasts, the cleanliness of the rooms, the beautiful grounds, reasonable rates, and the friendliness that the hosts give throughout the entire visit keeps us coming back for more. We have recommended Kiwi...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank 484joanns
A TripAdvisor Member
oakland california
1 review
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2005

I cant get enough of this place=Ron and Shirlee are the most gracious couple I have met in all my travels=everything is spotless=the breakfasts are to die for and there is always plenty=more than enough to make it to dinner=if i am in a bind they always arrange for a rental car for me and help me locate any places...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2005

Boy, did I have a different, and much less positive experience than the other reviewers. To understand what made this experience so awful, I need to provide a little background. My girlfriend and I flew in from Los Angeles, arriving at Kona Airport around 9 in the evening. United was scrimping on costs, so we got an unexpectedly minimal dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

I find it amazing that this individual was so upset because he helped himself to our private refrigerator and I was not pleased with his "hunger" behavior. Since he had not prepaid for his three night reservation and he was so upset, perhaps he should have left after the first night. Also amazing that he would be so upset because...

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Additional Information about A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74-4920 Kiwi St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-8124
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: ₹ 4,254 - ₹ 5,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
A-Kiwi Gardens Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?