Royal Kona Resort

Traveller (4307)
New room decor features rich teak furnishings and colorful natural fabrics.
Room & Suite (980)
Royal Kona Resort
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
₹20,098
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
₹21,615
₹19,031
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 5 resorts in Kailua-Kona
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice

With its dramatic setting overlooking Kailua Bay, the Royal Kona Resort is an oceanfront landmark in the heart of Kona town, conveniently located just steps from many fine restaurants, shops, historical sites, and activities. Completed in 2021, guests will enjoy the $15-million renovation to the resort’s 436 guestrooms and suites, and oceanfront pool deck.

Drawing inspiration from the tropical surroundings and sheer beauty of the islands the new Deluxe guestrooms and suites are designed with modern coastal inspired décor and finishes, rich teak furnishings, colorful natural fabrics, and beautiful marble wet bars outfitted with coffee makers and mini refrigerators.

The relaxing open-air lobby, surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, leads out to an expansive newly refinished oceanfront sundeck impressively set directly above the ocean featuring luxurious teak loungers, beach umbrellas, and pool cabanas. The Resort also offers a private sandy beach cove and sheltered saltwater swimming lagoon perfect for beginner snorkeling.

Guests will find light meals and a variety of tropical beverages, including the Original Mai Tai, showcased in a world-class oceanside setting at the signature Don the Beachcomber Restaurant & Mai Tai Bar. With its open-air setting, right on the water’s edge, Don’s is the perfect spot to enjoy the sights and sounds of all the activity taking place on Kailua Bay, and it’s a great place to catch a breathtaking Kona sunset. Several nights a week, the Resort is home to Kona’s best oceanfront Luau, the "Voyagers of the Pacific Luau” presented by the award-winning Tihati productions.

Other resort amenities include four tennis courts available for day or evening play; rejuvenating massage and spa treatments; a fitness center; Hawaiian cultural activities; yoga classes; and a great sundry shop. Island specialists are available at the Resort’s Activities Desk to assist guests in booking tours and to recommend other island attractions, and specialists are also available on-property to assist couples with destination weddings and vow renewal ceremonies.

For a great location in the heart of Kailua-Kona, gracious Hawaiian hospitality and service, and the Big Island’s best value, choose the Royal Kona Resort.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Evening entertainment
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Rate:10% Off Best Available Room Rates

Location

75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles5,344 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Royal Kona Resort garners accolades for its stellar service and enviable location close to dining, shopping, and the beach, according to some guests. However, the resort's atmosphere receives mixed reviews, with live music and cultural events being a hit, while noise levels and dated decor draw criticism. While many visitors appreciate the well-maintained rooms and grounds, others suggest the need for modernization. The resort's amenities, including the pool and ocean views, are popular, but calls for updates persist. Room experiences vary with praise for the vistas but frustration over maintenance and noise. Additionally, the value proposition is debated, with some guests finding the pricing reasonable and others discouraged by additional fees.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Relaxing
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
5,344Reviews128Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,704
  • 2,036
  • 922
  • 404
  • 279
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BolDert wrote a review May 2023
Snohomish, Washington4 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First timers to the Big Island and Royal Kona Resort. We were not disappointed. We knew in advance that it was not a sandy beach setting. Rather, the resort is located on a beautiful lava rock outcropping. There are plenty of places to relax next to the wave action, which was mesmerizing and peaceful. There are sandy beach areas up and down the coast, but we preferred relaxing at the resort.
We also knew in advance that one of the resort towers was under renovation, and we were accommodated away from that area. The resort went to great lengths to keep disruption to a minimum, and we never even heard any construction noise.
We stayed in one of the deluxe corner rooms. These have very large lanai's and perfect ocean and sunset views. If there was more outdoor furniture on the large lanai, we may have simply stayed there the whole time! We also saw other room types and it seemed that any with a water view were worthwhile.
We enjoyed several meals at the resort's restaurant which is right at water's edge as well. One evening we listened to a live performance there at the restaurant by Henry Kapono, which was entertaining.
We also enjoyed several days with a poolside cabana, super nice for enjoying the sunshine in moderation.
All of the resort staff were excellent, from the moment we arrived and checked in, and throughout our stay. Everyone there was friendly and good at what they do.
All of this, combined with the fact that the resort retains that Hawaii vibe that we like to feel, is why we will return to the Royal Kona Resort!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HHR_CustomerService, CSR at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 12 May 2023
Aloha!! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Hawaii.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Riverboatfinder wrote a review Jan 2020
Fresno, California15 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Royal Kona Resort for 5 days, 4 nights. We had perfect weather for our January getaway. Temperatures range from 70 to 77 degrees F. We did not have a rental car during our stay so we used Uber-like transfer to the hotel; our visits into town were by foot or the Kona Trolley. We had a very relaxing stay at the Royal Kona Resort. It is an older property. Hotel staff were very welcoming. Some rooms offer better views and are away from generator noise. From our first room we could hear a high pitched generator. We moved to another room on the reception side of the tower which also gave us views of the pool and stage. We had a very nice buffet breakfast at the hotel Beachcomber Restaurant, looking out over the water and seeing sunrise. My favorite experience is swimming in the hotel's private protected lagoon with the little fish. The lagoon is shallow (3.5-4 feet deep), no floating debris, sandy bottom about midway out. The lagoon water is cool and relaxing. My other favorite activity is sitting out on the hotel chairs, with a cool drink, looking at the incoming waves and watching the beautiful sunset!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Aloha, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your 4 nights with us and that you found your whole stay to be relaxing. We are delighted that you were able to take in the gorgeous views that our hotel offers and we thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the honor of welcoming your return to our hotel on your next trip to the Big Island! Mahalo, Javier
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
917maui wrote a review Mar 2020
Roseville, California29 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the Royal Kona is an older hotel it is very nicely appointed and situated on the quieter end of Kailua. What the hotel lacks in beach it makes up for with beautiful views. The Voyagers lua at the hotel is a nice show with talented performers and a variety of dances. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet has a nice variety with very attentive staff to fill your coffee and clear your table. Overall a nice place that is very walkable to shops and eateries in Kailua Kona.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Aloha, Thank you for your warm review of our hotel. We are joyful that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take in the great view that our property is able to offer. We hope to have the honor of welcoming your return to our hotel on your next trip to the Big Island! Mahalo, Javier
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rich n Alice wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
While there is so much to like and love about the Royal Kona, it's location is the best aspect of this resort. It's an easy walk to every fun shop, restaurant, bar, and scenic viewpoint within Kailua Harbor.

........but don't forget that the Royal Kona's own restaurant, shops, bar, and pool have some of the most picturesque views in all of Kailua already!

The four rooms we have stayed at over the years at Royal Kona are comfy, fairly quiet, and frequently cleaned. The only recommendations are to pursue installing larger bathtubs and find a way (might be impossible) to keep the in-room AC quieter. Three of the four rooms have been oceanfront with large subdecks. They cost more, but the views are wonderful.

In the last trip we saw Royal Kona put a lot of effort into repairing / remodeling their buildings; a mandatory process as hotel buildings can and will age when located mere feet away from the Pacific Ocean. Presumably their construction efforts will result in the Royal Kona continuing to be a preferred and highly recommended booking for us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Oceanview is worth it. Superior to a standard room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Aloha, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are joyful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a great experience with us. We thank you for being a loyal guest and we thank you for returning to our hotel once again. We eagerly await the honor of welcoming your return to our hotel once again. Mahalo, Javier
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PDX-to-CDG wrote a review Apr 2021
Oregon408 contributions130 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Royal Kona in an Ocean View Deluxe room (#513) over Spring Break. Perhaps it was a mistake to come to Hawaii during Spring Break expecting peace and quiet. One thing I have to say about the Big Island in general is that I felt extremely safe traveling there during the pandemic. Mask usage was almost 100%, even when outside walking around. And the testing requirements to enter the island made me feel like I could somewhat trust being around strangers briefly, such as in an elevator. Anyway, here are the pros and cons of our stay:

Pros:

House keeping was great! Our room was sparkling clean each day, including beds being made and clean towels, which I know other hotels have cut back on doing during the pandemic. It was appreciated.

We enjoyed the view from our lanai and loved being able to watch the luau without having to pay for it :) I could hear the ocean waves hitting the rocks below, even with the doors shut.

The restaurant has great views, friendly service, good drinks and decent food, although at tourist prices. We especially enjoyed the special Easter brunch.

We never had trouble finding parking in the paid lot. It is $18/day for self park.

The front desk staff were pleasant. Check in took a while because of all of the pandemic protocols and having to help walk guests through how to log onto their Safe Hawaii accounts to pull up their test results, etc. I'm sure the front desk staff are ready for the pandemic to be over, as we all are!

Cons:

The biggest issue we had, and why I am rating our stay three stars vs five is that we had major issues with our neighbors. Our neighbors two doors down smoked weed on their balcony constantly. Morning, noon and night. The first night they were up until 2 am talking loudly and smoking weed. The smell was so prevalent that it saturated our room even with the doors closed. I called the front desk and they said that they would send up security, but I never heard anyone walk by (and I could hear everyone walk by our room because of the poor sound quality).

A few nights later, we had some more troublesome neighbors check in, this time next door. They sounded like young college kids and they were up laughing and talking loudly and slamming doors well into the morning hours. Again, I called the front desk, again they said they would send up security, and again I don't believe they did. Luckily, this was our last night.

Anyway, I know that noisy neighbors are always a risk when staying at a big hotel like this with other rooms surrounding you. And I think maybe the price point for this hotel and location near the bars in Kona make it attractive for partiers. Probably next time we come to Kona we'll try to find a condo in a quieter complex. Minus the noise issues, we had a lovely time at Royal Kona.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool if you want to be able to watch the luau for free!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Aloha, Thank you for providing your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant, the sound of the waves crashing, and the housekeeping. We are very sorry about the neighbors. We can guarantee that the smoking neighbors did not go unnoticed and neither did the loud neighbor next door. We apologize this was an issue during your stay and hope you enjoyed your time of the island otherwise. Although we missed the mark this time, we hope you will consider us on your next visit to Kona. Mahalo, Fatima
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Max wrote a review Jan 2020
Atlanta, Georgia6 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband stayed here for 4 nights after a week at the Westin in Maui. While the view from the pool and bar area is beautiful especially at sunset and the hotel is very convenient to town but we were so disappointed with the actual hotel. The room reminded us of an old roadside Best Western or Howard Johnson's motel. The carpet was stained. The furniture was old. There were bugs that came out around the sink at night. The bathroom was tiny. The towels were small and thin. The comforter on the bed was old and fraying. The thermostat for the air conditioner did not work properly. No matter how high you raised it, the air conditioner came on. The only way to stop it was to power off the system. The pool is tiny. There is no towel desk. You pick up towels in the gift shop and take them back to your room at the end of the day. Consequently there were usually no towels available if you went to get any in the morning and they couldn't tell you when there would be more. When this hotel was built it was probably beautiful but it is in DESPERATE need of updating.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Aloha, Thank you for sharing your review. We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We do our best to provide the best of service and a relaxing stay and we would have been happy to move your room had we known that you were unhappy. We are in the process of renovating the rooms currently and do hope that you will join us in the future to see our updates and improvements. Mahalo, Zareena
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larry G wrote a review Jun 2022
Des Plaines, Illinois286 contributions224 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed the stay. Great and friendly staff.
Our view of the ocean was 5 out of 5 stars, the sounds of ocean waves were hypnotic.
Our large balcony has two comfortable chairs and a table.
The location is great, park the car and walk to restaurants, souvenir shops, art galleries and convenience shops.
The bathroom needs a vent so steam can escape during a shower.
Balcony cracks are abundant but the structure appears strong.
Room could use a fresh coat of paint and/or deep cleaning.
Common hallways felt humid.
The views from the outdoor were great, and we watch the sunset during our dinner.
Pools not too crowded, you might need to wait for a padded lounge chair at the pool in the afternoon
Parking is $25.00 a day in a secure lot.
Suntan lotion was available at the pool, which is part of the "resort fee".
Would I stay here again? Yes, but I would also check around first at other places before booking.
I did not hear any noise from my next door neighbors, maybe there were not any.
Our room was away from the elevator, our hallway noise minimal.
If you have deep financial pockets, you might be disappointed, but for the average person, the place was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 23 Jun 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback regarding the updates we need. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bbballiet wrote a review Feb 2020
Martinez, Georgia26 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel because of its proximity to the downtown area in Kona. We were able to walk to all the places we wanted to go. Also, the bar at the hotel was great. Beautiful views, great happy hour, decent food.
The problem was that the rooms are in horrendous repair. The carpets are dirty. The bathrooms need to be thoroughly cleaned. Housekeeping needed to replace sheets that were dirty after the room was "cleaned."
In all fairness, they are in the process of remodeling beginning with the Bay Tower which is where we stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We truly apologize that our hotel did not meet your full expectations. As you may know, we are currently undergoing enhancements to make improvements. We hope you give us the opportunity in the future to show you the new improvements. Mahalo!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cara V wrote a review Jun 2021
Kansas City, Missouri23 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Royal Kona is a great hotel to stay a week on the Big Island! It is right in the heart of downtown Kona. You can walk to so many restaurants but the parking is easy too. David at the front desk made us feel welcome. He is an asset to the hotel. We were in an Ocean Front room in the Bay Tower on the 4th floor & the views were breath taking! Seeing sunsets, turtles & fish from the balcony is a real treat! The rooms were updated & spotless. The housekeeping staff was attentive bringing blankets & towels in a matter of minutes after calling. Being an older resort the bathroom is small but one thing I would suggest is to add a full-length mirror to the room. This would help so two people don’t have to get ready in the small bathroom. The bar staff were top notch, friendly & made great drinks. The pool was a bit small for this size of resort & could add more chairs to accommodate more people. The lagoon was a great way to get into the ocean without leaving the resort. I loved that they lighted torches every night, it really added to the atmosphere of the resort. It was a great hotel with many amenities for the price per night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Aloha, Thank you for sharing your kind review of our resort! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided great service! We appreciate your suggestion regarding the mirror in the room. We hope to welcome you back again in the future! Mahalo, Zareena
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LisaMarie wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Walls are super thin… had two crazy loud fighting neighbors on the one side almost entire 7 day stay. They argued 100% there with extreme foul language until late night and early morning and cursed out security who came up to ask them to keep it down.

Balconies have minimal privacy….hard to enjoy quiet mornings with coffee with loud talkers next to you on balcony.

Since the resort is on a super busy street …. City workers decided the week we were there to trim trees starting at 6 am the morning after we had a late arrival. Traffics noise and motorcycles were pretty loud most of the time from our room.

Employee break room was outside our balcony 7 floors down, but they carried on loudly.

No room service…which was a bummer.

No microwave, which was a bummer…

Parking was worth the price ….however the trolley is out front was not the best…came every hour ….and was a slow mover… you could walk faster anywhere. LOL

Front desk and housekeeping were AWESOME!! Check in and check out was great. Texting with front desk was great. Beds were comfortable, not amazing but we slept well.

Bar drinks were not outrageously expensive, which was nice. Grounds were clean and plenty of seating around.

Pool folks should not allow people to leave crap on chairs Allllllll day when they aren’t there. Pull folks should monitor and remove belongs to a table near towels. Several chairs were dropped with towels and stuff and went unused for hours at a time.

Pool service would be great and more pool tables so people can eat / drink at the pool without having to leave their poolside.

Beachfront view at pool was super nice and amazing.

Filtered water machine was great bonus… should put on every floor near ice machines so we don’t have to go to front desk each time.

Eliminate MASKS we are all open air outside …we don’t need them outside.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 17 Feb 2022
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be addressing your concerns to make sure we offer the best service to our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Cathleen A
Boston, Massachusetts16 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed in February 2024 and there was no microwave.
Jeff Y asked a question Feb 2024
Cambridge, United Kingdom36 contributions81 helpful votes
HI, can anyone advise how much a taxi costs from the airport to the hotel. Thx
kellach3 asked a question Jan 2024
Fonthill, Canada34 contributions5 helpful votes
Are there mini fridges in the lagoon tower standard rooms?
Answer from Julie P
5 contributions4 helpful votes
I am unable to answer this question as I didn't stay in the Lagoon Tower. I did however contact the hotel directly regarding another matter and found the staff very helpful in answering questions prior to my stay.
Answer from Sandy McCa
San Diego, California7 contributions1 helpful vote
Lagoon tower was under construction when I was there. I'd say it definitely has the worst views of the 3 towers - especially if you're on a lower floor. Looking north, you see the luau grounds and utility sheds, looking straight out you see the trees blocking your view, looking left you can see the ocean. The center tower is placed farther out than the other 2 towers so that center tower would have the best unobstructed views.
David-from-CT wrote a tip 11 Apr
Hebron, Connecticut121 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make reservations for meals!"
Read full review
Malinda M wrote a tip 8 Apr
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for soft bed if they have it. Go to breakfast and any meals in restaurant earlier or you will wait a while. "
Read full review
K25billyzone wrote a tip 4 Apr
Fargo, North Dakota31 contributions79 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"look elsewhere."
Read full review
A4A wrote a tip Feb 2024
Sunshine Coast, Canada277 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Thursday nights music line-up....The Legends of Hawaii. Go early, get a seat, the musicians are very good."
Read full review
11Paul11 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Rancho Santa Fe, California51 contributions71 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you don’t get blindsided by all of the non disclosed fees. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kailua-Kona area.
PRICE RANGE
₹19,118 - ₹24,879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal kona hotel kailua-kona, royal kona kailua
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
436
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL KONA RESORT (₹̶ ̶2̶4̶,̶6̶0̶0̶) ₹ 20,180 (Hawaii/Kailua-Kona) Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Kona Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Kona Resort?
Nearby attractions include Royal Kona Resort (0.08 km), Huggo's on the Rocks (0.2 km), and Don's Mai Tai Bar (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Kona Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Kona Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Kona Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Kona Resort?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Kona Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gypsea Gelato, Basik Acai, and Island Ono Loa Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Kona Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Kona Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Kona Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Kona Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Kona Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hulihe'e Palace (0.9 km), Kamakahonu National Historic Landmark (1.2 km), and Ahuena Heiau (1.1 km).
All Kailua-Kona HotelsKailua-Kona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire