We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
E-mail hotel
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Hotel direct offer!Save 10% when booking direct with resort. Call or book online today!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Algotels
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3475)
Room & Suite (900)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 19/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Kona Resort
Updated 19/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

With its dramatic setting overlooking Kailua Bay, the Royal Kona Resort is an oceanfront landmark in the heart of Kona town, conveniently located just steps from many fine restaurants, shops, historical sites, and activities. Completed in 2021, guests will enjoy the $15-million renovation to the resort’s 436 guestrooms and suites, and oceanfront pool deck.

Drawing inspiration from the tropical surroundings and sheer beauty of the islands the new Deluxe guestrooms and suites are designed with modern coastal inspired décor and finishes, rich teak furnishings, colorful natural fabrics, and beautiful marble wet bars outfitted with coffee makers and mini refrigerators.

The relaxing open-air lobby, surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, leads out to an expansive newly refinished oceanfront sundeck impressively set directly above the ocean featuring luxurious teak loungers, beach umbrellas, and pool cabanas. The Resort also offers a private sandy beach cove and sheltered saltwater swimming lagoon perfect for beginner snorkeling.

Guests will find light meals and a variety of tropical beverages, including the Original Mai Tai, showcased in a world-class oceanside setting at the signature Don the Beachcomber Restaurant & Mai Tai Bar. With its open-air setting, right on the water’s edge, Don’s is the perfect spot to enjoy the sights and sounds of all the activity taking place on Kailua Bay, and it’s a great place to catch a breathtaking Kona sunset. Several nights a week, the Resort is home to Kona’s best oceanfront Luau, the "Voyagers of the Pacific Luau” presented by the award-winning Tihati productions.

Other resort amenities include four tennis courts available for day or evening play; rejuvenating massage and spa treatments; a fitness center; Hawaiian cultural activities; yoga classes; and a great sundry shop. Island specialists are available at the Resort’s Activities Desk to assist guests in booking tours and to recommend other island attractions, and specialists are also available on-property to assist couples with destination weddings and vow renewal ceremonies.

For a great location in the heart of Kailua-Kona, gracious Hawaiian hospitality and service, and the Big Island’s best value, choose the Royal Kona Resort.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Evening entertainment
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Rate:Save 10% when booking direct with resort. Call or book online today!
4613Reviews114Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,340
  • 1,785
  • 865
  • 374
  • 249
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Barbara S wrote a review Yesterday
Woodbridge, California, United States13 contributions21 helpful votes
We were there before the Ironman competition started so lots of athletes in town. The location is great because you are in easy walking distance of restaurants & shops. Our room had a great water view & could hear the waves crash. We always found a parking spot in their secured parking area which was easy to get in & out of. It was an easy check in/out process for our stay. The room could use a microwave & it would be a great if they would add a jacuzzi to the property. The hotel is located on the rocks so there is no beach. You can take a shuttle ride to get around town if needed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We requested a water view. & ended up with with a balcony near the water & a view of Kona
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded yesterday
Aloha!! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Hawaii.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
juliejulie52021 wrote a review Sep 2021
Gilbert, Arizona4 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
I loved the Royal Kona! They have big and spacious rooms, an amazing restaurant on the ocean, a great pool and lagoon area to swim in, and their staff was awesome! They were so friendly and helpful! I love that I could text them if I needed anything including checking out. They made everything so easy and enjoyable! I felt like I was part of the Royal Kona family! And the hotel is within walking distance of all the Kona shops and restaurants. I will definitely come back and stay again! I loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 27 Sep 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided wonderful service. We hope to welcome you back again real soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happiest Grandma wrote a review 5 Oct
Brentwood, California4 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
We chose Kona for our 43rd wedding anniversary trip. We ended up splurging for the Oceanfront Corner King room and that was a phenomenal choice. (room 648) We used the lanai/balcony every morning sipping our coffee while watching the waves, boats, swimmers (Ironman), and wildlife. We sat out every evening watching the sunset, or the moon rise...listening to the waves and feeling the gentle island breeze while sipping our Baileys. The room was spacious and the king sized bed was quite comfortable. There were ample amenities in the bathroom and there was also a bar sink next to the refrigerator. We had no problems with the thermostat, no noise from other guests, and no in-room pests. The location is perfect. The hotel is truly steps away from town. Plenty of shops and restaurants well within walking distance (we are 64 and 66). We took in the luau that is held right on the hotel property and luckily, was right below our room. We felt lucky to see the luau show several times during our stay from the luxury of our lanai. We enjoyed the pool and ended up renting a cabana every day. Well worth it if you don't want a lot of sun. Don's Mai Tai bar has great drinks and food. We had breakfast there several times and you are seated right at the water's edge. We also took a walk right into the hotel's lagoon, and just a note...you need water shoes for this if you have tender feet. Our favorite part of the hotel was definitely our oceanfront room. Our least favorite part sounds cliché but it was having to leave this wonderful tropical island paradise. We found a favorite local restaurant called Papa Kona and ate there three times during our weeklong stay. I also recommend Humpy's for breakfast and Kai Eats & Drinks for delicious tacos. Unfortunately, I do not recommend the Atlantis submarine ride. Too expensive for what you get...darkened sea water, two sunken boats, and a few fish. Next time we will parasail. Those folks looked to be having a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Any oceanfront room, but splurge for corner king if you can.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded yesterday
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be reviewing your concerns so we can give our guests the best service, we hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark D wrote a review 4 Oct
1 contribution
Easy check in for us but did see long lines later on with only one staff working check in desk. Parking was secure and always had an open spot. Now for our room, shower was hit and miss for cold water! Mostly hot and when you need to cool off jump in the ocean. Towels were rough, definitely need upgrade same with bed sheets and comforters. Lack of lighting in room. Had twin beds because they ran out of king. One bed hard the other soft. The restaurant was amazing if you could get a spot (first come first serve) two nights we were not able to eat dinner because they were full. Out of six nights there was supposed to be three luaus on the property but had only one. This is our second time staying here but most likely our last, we’ll try somewhere else. Also had resort fees, why?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are sorry to read that we did not exceed your expectations this time. Your feedback regarding the bedding and towels are valuable and will ensure that this is improved. Bedding at the resort is based on availability and is not guaranteed in advance. The luau is held every Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. At times the luau does get cancelled due to inclement weather however that unfortunately it is the hands of mother nature. We hope that you had a lovely time on the Big Island and will consider joining us again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Russell S wrote a review 4 Oct
Greenville, South Carolina33 contributions11 helpful votes
If you're staying in Kailua-Kona, make sure you stay at Royal Kona. It's the best place to stay in downtown. You have plenty of walking access to everything downtown and everything is a short drive or uber away otherwise. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant was always well staffed and lively. The drinks are reasonably priced as is the food. We had a Deluxe Corner Oceanview King Room. The room was well cleaned and decorated, but not overly done. While the interior of the room had been updated, the exterior of the resort definitely needs some repair work as there are literal cracks showing. The view from our room was incredible. We could hear the rocks crashing on the waves and watch the sunset from our balcony. The in room coffee is horrible. We had washcloths the first day in our room and did not after our towels and linens were replaced. We left a note the next day asking for some washcloths but none were left. The day after that, without a note, there were washcloths provided. The bed was a little hard but still comfortable. I wish there were more plugs or USBs next to the bed on both sides. Only one side had a plug close to it in order to charge a phone overnight and have it sit on the bedside table. The pool is small but they will bring out more chairs if all the loungers are taken. I had a great stay here and would stay there again if and when we return to Kona.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get the Deluxe Corner Oceanfront King for the best view and a king bed guaranteed. Ask for the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing your positive review! We are so happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and loved the beautiful panoramic views. We are so sorry about the inconvenience with the washcloths and will share your feedback with our team. We hope to welcome you back again in the future for another wonderful stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin D wrote a review 4 Oct
Rockaway, New Jersey53 contributions30 helpful votes
I feel bad for anyone who honeymoons here. Our beds were like rocks. The air blew ice cold all night no matter what temp we put it on. There were no additional blankets so we covered ourselves with towels to keep warm. Our waitress and the hostesses for dinner were great. Food was average and only one small restraurant to service the entire resort! Breakfast hostess was VERY rude and our waitress was curt. Jenny from the support staff was wonderful. Front desk staff was what you would expect from a resort but nothing special. Parking was a nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your beds and that your air conditioning unit was too cold. We would have been happy to move your room had we known that you were unhappy. We want every guest to have a comfortable experience. We hope to welcome you back again for an improved experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Craig MacLeod wrote a review 2 Oct
Lacombe, Canada4 contributions
Staff were helpful and friendly, nice location on the ocean. Food was tasty also but would be nice to have buffet options also. Weight room is very lacking for equipment for this price. Rooms could use a refresh, older carpets and bathroom was a little tired.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Surcharge for parking seems excessive
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be reviewing you concerns so we can give our guests the best service, we hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark P wrote a review 2 Oct
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Pros: My wife and I booked an oceanfront room for our anniversary. We were originally placed into a room with double beds, but they were so tiny that my feet were hanging over the end. We asked if we could be moved to a room with a king-size bed, but none were available. The front desk was very helpful and was able to place us in another room with a king-size bed the next day. The new room was much more comfortable and we were grateful to the staff for working with us. Both oceanfront rooms had great views. We also felt like all of our interactions with hotel staff were positive ones. We were appreciative of the laundry area too. Use of the machines required a smartphone app, but it was much easier than tracking down quarters. Cons: One reason we booked with Royal Kona was because their website advertised their rooms as being fully renovated. Our rooms sure didn’t look or feel renovated. The interior doors had rusty hinges, the exterior doors didn’t seal well and were corroded, the paint was caked on everywhere and peeling inside the room and on the outside of the buildings, and condensation was running down the wall from the air conditioning vent. Everything just looked and felt rundown. We felt deceived by the “fully renovated” claims and would have stayed elsewhere if we had known the true condition of the property. We’ve been traveling to the Hawaiian islands for years and the Royal Kona is in worse shape than any hotel we’ve ever stayed at. We also had a hard time finding a parking spot on the luau nights, which was super frustrating. Our final gripe about the property is the $100 per night credit card hold for incidentals. Getting hit up with nearly $1,000 in charges for parking and holds for incidentals at check-in was unexpected and upsetting. We would prefer an option to not allow things to be billed to my room vs. the hold for Incidentals. In summary: The staff at the Royal Kona was great, but the property itself fell way short of our expectations of what was advertised as a “fully renovated” property. After two years of waiting for pandemic restrictions to be lifted for travel, we just wish we had booked a different hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to get your car parked before the luaus start or after they’re over. We found ourselves...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at the Royal Kona Resort. We are extremely sorry to have disappointed you. We will be forwarding your review to the management team to resolve the concerns you have listed so we can improve our service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol S wrote a review 1 Oct
Kearny, New Jersey, United States5 contributions2 helpful votes
It was a basic room that felt like 5 star. Very clean linens on our king size with a lot of space to walk around. The coffee was the same Kona brand sold in the sundries' shop in the lobby. The smoke detector started beeping. Within 10 minutes of calling the front desk, a maintenance workers came and changed the battery! All the employees were very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 4 days ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed it and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna wrote a review 1 Oct
1 contribution
Every detail was perfect. The room was beautiful and my Deluxe partial view of the water was much greater than I anticipated. The service provided was impeccable. I really liked staying here and would do so again in a heartbeat. It should be rated 5 star instead of 4 star. Thank you again to all the staff for my lovely 5 day stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Mahalo! We appreciate your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$270 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal kona hotel kailua-kona, royal kona kailua
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
436
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Kona Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Kona Resort?
Nearby attractions include Royal Kona Resort (0.08 km), Don's Mai Tai Bar (0.05 km), and Huggo's on the Rocks (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Kona Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Kona Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Kona Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Kona Resort?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Kona Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gypsea Gelato, Island Ono Loa Grill, and Basik Acai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Kona Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Kona Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Kona Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Kona Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Kona Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kamakahonu (1.2 km), Ahuena Heiau (1.1 km), and Ohi'a Cave Historic Preserve (1.3 km).