We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Kona Resort

Save
Share
Traveller (2245)
Room & Suite (721)
Pool & Beach (247)
Overview
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310 See on map
AMENITIES
Wifi
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (3,326)
Filter reviews
2,994 results
Traveller rating
677
1,164
654
295
204
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
677
1,164
654
295
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate lagoonalii towermai tai bardon the beachcombercorner kingocean frontmain towerthe big islandsalt water lagoonan ocean view roomshops and restaurantson the rocksan older hotelopen airwaves crashingparking feeour honeymoon
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 2,994 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We were there for our nephew's destination wedding at the Royal Kona Resort. This is an older hotel set right on the shore of the Pacific Ocean. So don't expect multiple outlets for all your devices. But it's comfortable, clean and walkable to many shops....More

Thank greatestmom10
Reviewed 2 days ago

We have a VERY busy life in the LA Area. After 10 years of not having a "real" couple vacation, my husband and I were thrilled to visit the Royal Kona Resort. It's hard to put your finger on the ambience - but it goes...More

Thank Christine V
Reviewed 3 days ago

This was the 5th return visit and stay at the Royal Kona Resort. This time stayed four nights. Not a single thing to complain about and only many compliments about the staff and resort! PROS: -great location in Kona, ocean-front property -friendly and helpful staff...More

Thank traveller187B
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona ResortResponded 2 days ago

Aloha Thank you for your review of our resort. We love that you have stay with us five times already, we appreciate your loyalty and we love that you had such a wonderful stay here with us. We hope to welcome you again soon. Warmest...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Nothing was too much if requested. Room spacious, quiet, ocean views if requested, breakfast has the widest selection of foods I've ever seen, views and location superb. Five minute walk to most of the restaurants and shopping. Could do with TV update and Netflix availability.More

Thank Rae K
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona ResortResponded 3 days ago

Aloha, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your time with us. We are so very happy that you had such a great time at our resort. We have a prime ocean front location to shops and dining. We...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Rooms were a little old but large and clean. Lovely lady who patiently booked trips for us which we then had to cancel as we had to leave early due to the arrival of the hurricane. Lovely view from the balcony.More

Thank 52aussie
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona ResortResponded 5 days ago

Aloha Thank you for your review of our resort. We are sorry to see your vacation was cut short due to the hurricane. We are delighted to see that even though you only stayed with us for a short time with us that you enjoyed...More

View more reviews
About
Food & drink at the hotel
Don the Beachcomber
730 reviews
Cuisines: Seafood
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Restaurant
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Style
On the Beach
,
Top resorts Hotels
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
On the Beach
,
Top resorts Hotels
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
436
Price range
US$ 153 - US$ 310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
,
Royal Kona Kailua
,
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Location
United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel class
Hotel Style
On the Beach
,
Top resorts Hotels
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
436
Price range
US$ 153 - US$ 310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
,
Royal Kona Kailua
,
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Location
United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Photos
Traveller (2,245)
Room & Suite (721)
Pool & Beach (247)
Dining (144)
Amenities (64)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 hotels in Island of Hawaii
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
553 reviews
.77 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
558 reviews
.82 km away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
881 reviews
.89 km away
Kona Tiki Hotel
450 reviews
.92 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,012 restaurants in Island of Hawaii
Basik Acai
409 reviews
.15 km away
Foster's Kitchen
460 reviews
.34 km away
Evolution Bakery and Cafe
163 reviews
.31 km away
Gypsea Gelato
53 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,133 attractions in Island of Hawaii
St. Michael the Archangel Church
135 reviews
.58 km away
Ali'i Drive
787 reviews
.64 km away
Kona Farmers Market
222 reviews
.62 km away
Kona Inn Shopping Village
68 reviews
.73 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gary T
30 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HHR_CustomerService | Property representative |
Aloha, We have comfortable Serta mattresses. They are not pillow top but they are neither too soft or hard. We hope this helps with your question. Mahalo!
1
Vote
13Jomama
14 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from HHR_CustomerService | Property representative |
Aloha, Our resort does not have a beach we are on lava rock, however we do have a beautiful man made lagoon. We are also very close to near by beaches. Mahalo
1
Vote
Grahame E
5 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from HHR_CustomerService | Property representative |
Aloha As other travelers have suggested it may be a better and cheaper option to hire a car , even if it is only for the day of your exploration. Mahalo Tara
1
Vote
Room Tips
"7th floor is great."
Read review
"get ocean view for spectacular views"
Read review
"Best and quietest rooms."
Read review
"If you will hang around the hotel, a room facing the ocean would be worth the price"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing