We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kanaloa at Kona

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kanaloa at Kona
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

795 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 710: English reviews
Start your review of Kanaloa at Kona
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The other review must be as outdated as the unit was supposed to have been. This place is beautiful and was really a small paradise. Very reasonably priced when considering the full bathrooms, soaking tubs and multiple large beds. We would definitely return to this updated and stunning unit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just finished a month's stay at this resort, and we highly recommend it. The location is great for playing golf at Kona Country Club with resort discount, nearby grocery store,drug store, restaurants, movie theater, post office and boutiques. Some people walk there. Marina is also nearby for all water activities & tours. There are beautiful gardens throughout; some units are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a room through Outrigger. My husband and I received unit 304 when we checked in (the actual check in desk is off property and we did not know, so beware...) Once we came back and walked in our unit, I instantly started sneezing. The carpet, bedding and mainly everything was OLD, like decades old! The place was two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney W
Littlestown
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

2 bedroom Ocean Front Room, fully furnished with new kitchen and laundry appliances. There was two laundry baskets for dirty laundry, multiple extra pillows sheets and blankets. I can't say enough good stuff about it. There were multiple pools, some for the family and some for the adults only. The whole place was very clean and quiet. There was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
indiana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

3 couples stayed in a 3 bed 3 bath ocean front condo at Kanaloa. Everything was amazing! We were in the ocean front pool everyday from sunup to watching the sunset. The complex is very clean and quiet. We will definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank theclayturtle
STEPHEN_KAK, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha, It is wonderful to hear that you had an amazing stay at Kanaloa. Our team works very hard to to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guests. On your next trip, if you have time stop by my office to say hello. I have lived in Kona since 1983 and I can answer most of your questions. Aloha...

Noumea
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been in the outtriger part (there's also a Caste&resorts part) The desk is not in the hotel but in the shopping center 5 min away.... Nice flats, with great facilities(real kitchen, laundry free wi fi...) looking dated but nicely maintained. Swimming pools and BBq avalaible. But look like a retirement house for third age. Everybody look at the window...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 113damienn
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewed 12 January 2017

This is the third time we've stayed at this complex; last time was 5 years ago. We stayed in a 2BR/2Ba unit (3A) which had new floors and washer/dryer, but the rest of the unit needs serious updating. Very tired, worn out, faded and dated. Skimpy on the towels, but at least we could wash and reuse them. We stored...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SycamoreMom
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 10 January 2017

This place was OK but really not outstanding in any way. Our unit was very tired and not particularly clean. Several things were broken. The location is good and there are shops very near by which is an advantage. We were a party of 3 families with kids, on day one we went to the Family Pool and within about...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank iamphilipwebb
STEPHEN_KAK, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha, Kanaloa At Kona has a very diverse group of guest visiting our property. I have 3 kids myself and know that they often are just being kids and having a good time. The games restricted at the pools generally involve yelling and throwing of ball or other objects, these rules are for the comfort and safety of all our...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We are probably spoiled after staying at a more well known chain of condos, but nonetheless we were very disappointed. The condo was advertised as having a king, a queen and twin beds in a three bedroom unit, but it actually had one king and the rest twins...that were way too short for us. Our feet hung over the end....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dorisjohnson30
STEPHEN_KAK, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha, There are multiple rental agents with units at Kanaloa. I am confident that beds come in a standard size regardless of the company you rented from. Not all companies have the same standards. The Front Desk team at our Maintenance team are quick to respond, it is disappointing that we did not respond to your concern. Generally when there...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed in Kanaloa for one week. Absolutely loved the places. We were so lucky to get one of the suites right in front of the ocean pool, with a fantastic view over the ocean and the sunset. The pools was great including small jacuzzi next to them. There is a good shopping mall close by, but like any other places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P

670 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (471)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (139)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Other (143)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Fairway View 2 BR (50)
Viewed
Ocean Front (58)
Viewed
Ocean View with Loft (53)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
9.0 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
50.2 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.8 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,707 reviews
5.8 km away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
559 reviews
40.7 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: ₹ 10,199 - ₹ 25,362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kanaloa at Kona staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Kanaloa at Kona staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get all the details about fees in advance, in writing, and bring the information with you!”
 of 5 bubbles SycamoreMom, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles iamphilipwebb, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“high rates for cleaning $69 one night”
 of 5 bubbles ronson2016, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had the sea shore view, which is rocky with great surf to watch.”
 of 5 bubbles haroldc718, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to request clean...”
 of 5 bubbles Lorisweetcheeks, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5