We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Fontana

Show Prices
#1 of 2 Hotels in Buzet
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Fontana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent location just a short walk from the 'pits'. Friendly staff who tolerated our muddy boots and clothing with ease ! Excellent breakfast.. We reserved our accommodation at the Fontana on the day of our arrival due to problems with the hotel we had previously booked. I will always remember this place for their cherry tea ! Sorry to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toad1956
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

My stay in this hotel was with an organised walking group. The room was a good size but noisy being sited on a busy road with shops underneath the hotel.The ensuite was a little tired with a damaged toilet seat but the shower was hot and worked very efficiently. The meals however were poor. At breakfast the cereals were of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susan3332016
Sheffield
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My room was quite sparse with dusty areas, in particular on the floor under the bed which housed a number of dead stink bugs/shield bugs. I was there for one week as part of a HF walking group. The food served to our group was by far the biggest concern. Everything was bland and unimaginatively presented. The vegetables served daily...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CEGSheffield
FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana, responded to this review

Respected Ms CEGSheffield, Thank you for your kind review. I am sad to hear that you didn't liked our hotel, rooms, food,.... I am quite surprised to hear that, because you (and all of HF group) were asked on a daily basic if everything was ok - and there was never a problem with anything: *Somebody wants a bigger room,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

A fairly gaunt modern-ish building, given warmth & character by the local Staff Team, making for a pleasant week-long stay. The climb up to the old town is a big haul, but worth it! The food is OK but not outstanding. If you like vin ordinaire, you can get a litre of local wine as cheap as chips, and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gladys70
FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana, responded to this review

Respected Ms gladys70, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel, in Buzet and it's surroundings. Hotel is newly renovated, but there are still more things to do, always to look on the details. We are trying to make every guest feel as welcomed as possible, and we will try...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Quiet with a comfortable bed. I was here with a HF holiday tour for seven nights. Staff is accommodating and understands English well. On September 10th, there is the truffle festival, so expect music, children merry-go-rounds, and fireworks. To me, this was a plus. Otherwise, it is quiet. No swimming pool. Nice buffet breakfast with great breads, cheeses, sweets, fruits,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan S
FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana, responded to this review

Dear Mr Susan S, Thank you for your good review. We are very happy to hear that you liked Buzet & it's surrounding, our hotel and hotel staff. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and the whole group you were with. We try to treat each of our guests as an individual, with its own needs and wishes, and...

Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We had a nice stay for 5 nights at the end of august in this hotel. The hotel is nice, clean and safe. It's also quiet although during summer it's very busy with tourist groups visiting Istria. The rooms are nice and cosy, cleaned daily. The only minus would be that they lack a balcony. However the terrace at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana, responded to this review

Dear Ms Maria P, Thank you for your good review. We are very happy to hear that you liked Buzet & it's surrounding, our hotel and hotel staff. It was our pleasure to accommodate you. We try to treat each of our guests as an individual, with its own needs and wishes, and to stay at your service at any...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

It is 3star, but the staff makes you feel like it is a 5star hotel! They are extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. Our room was freshly renovated, except the TV set which was a bit too small (I would not have cared usually, but it was Olympics time). The hotel was quiet and the room had a lovely view to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivana I
FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana, responded to this review

Respected Ivana I, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you liked our hotel and its surroundings. We have renovated our hotel a couple of years ago, and we are aware that our job is not done jet. Every winter we make some changes and renevue some part of hotel, and try to make our guests...

South Holland Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed for 5 nights at Hotel Fontana. The staff was really friendly and knew their English. Breakfast offers a great choice of mostly fresh food. The members of the hotel staff pay attention to guests. The rooms are nice (just a bit outdated) and cleaned every day. We had a nice view on the old centre of the city....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Starino
FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana, responded to this review

Respected Mr Starino, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel, in Buzet and it's surroundings. Hotel is newly renovated, but there are still more things to do, and we will not stop here. We are trying to make every guest feel as welcomed as possible, and we will try...

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Verry good hotel! Also the stuff is verry friendly,good english speaker. The food is good, and the hotel in verry clean. Nearby the old city, bank also the market is near. Good accomodation in a good area, and the city is beautiful. Not so many things to do in Buzet. But overall the hotel is verry good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allynutza S
HotelFontanaBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana, responded to this review

Respected Allynutza S, Thank you for your good review. We are happy to hear that you liked our hotel and Buzet in general. There isn't much to do in Buzet, we are aware of this,but for guests that like outdoor sports is perfect. We are trying hard to make our guests feel welcome, and we will try even harder to...

Timisoara, Romania
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Modern, discreet staff , kind, nice , good food , clean, everything you want to have in concediu.Locatie central , quiet, intimate town Buzet is .Ese friendly small town but perfect location for a starting point to other destinations

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kovacita
FontanaHotelBuzet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontana, responded to this review

Respected Ms Kovacita, Thank you for your good review. We are happy to hear that you liked our hotel and its surroundings. We are trying hard to make our guests feel welcome, and we will try even harder to bring our service to higher level. We hope some day you will be our dear guest again. With kindest regards from...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buzet
13.3 km away
Hotel Kastel
Hotel Kastel
#1 of 1 in Motovun
193 reviews
35.6 km away
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
26.9 km away
San Rocco Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 km away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#13 of 33 in Porec
246 reviews
21.5 km away
Marino
Marino
#1 of 1 in Momjan
5 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Vela Vrata
Hotel Vela Vrata
#1 of 3 in Buzet
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel „Fontana“*** is situated in the town centre of Buzet-the city of truffles, just below the very old nut of the old Medieval town, in the Fontana square. It is believed that the ancient hotel „Albergo alla Fontana“ was built long time ago, in 1838, when not even famous Opatija didn't have its own hotel. The actual hotel „Fontana“ is built on the foundations of the oldest hotel in Istria in 1981. From the end of 2008, the hotel is owned by Vilstroj d.o.o. Company, from Buzet.As the new owners, we gave a new touch to this hotel, a touch of freshness and provided new facilities for our customers. We want that the guests always feel pleasant so they will like to come back. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Address: Trg Fontana 1 | Buzet, Buzet 52420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Buzet
Price Range: ₹ 4,843 - ₹ 6,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Fontana staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Denver, Colorado, United States

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Fontana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room on the opposite side to the road.”
 of 5 bubbles susan3332016, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room furthest away from the church bells which ring every morning at 6.00 am.”
 of 5 bubbles CEGSheffield, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid noisy rooms in the 'front' over-looking the main road. Choose a room with terrace on the third floor at the 'back'.”
 of 5 bubbles gladys70, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suggest a view of the old city. But I was fine with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanS201, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very nice view from the rooms facing the old town”
  • Old town seen through the window
 of 5 bubbles mariapM786XL, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay