We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gasthof zur Post

121 reviews
Save
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (6)
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cable car”(11 reviews)
“village square”(3 reviews)
“lovely hotel”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (121)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
50
23
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
50
23
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable carvillage squarelovely hotelthird floorthe buslarge numberminute walk to the lakelambvisited stmost nightscourse mealhotel is locateda great place to staybeautiful villagechristmas marketlounge areaeach evening
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Stayed at the Zur Post once again and it never disappoints. Lovely hotel right in the village square opposite the quaint town hall. Service is very friendly with all staff making you feel special and welcome. The food is first class and the restaurant is...More

Thank adrian50
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I stayed for 4 nights at Gasthof Zur Post and had a fabulous time. The hotel is located at the center of St Gilgen and easily reachable from the bus station and the ferry terminal. The Christmas market is right in front of the hotel....More

Thank PrasunChoudhury
Response from Norbert L, Geschäftsführer at Gasthof zur PostResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Mr. Prasun Choudhury, thank you for your Review and your nice words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Family Leitner & team

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, not our first choice but simply because there’s no availability elsewhere due to very last minute booking. We are out most of the time and only needed a place to sleep. Great ambience, cozy, modernistic + traditionalist decor combi...More

Thank G_filled
Response from Norbert L, Angelika Rezeptionist at Gasthof zur PostResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your nice words! Family Leitner & Team

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Stay here with a friend for a week on half board, the evening meal was very varied and catered for vegetarians, we were also provided with a packed lunch. The rooms were large, clean and we also had a balcony, that was an added bonus....More

1  Thank jean m
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

we stayed there as a family with my mother in law. the location is great close to the city centre and lots of closeby attractions, the staff are very friendly and helpful. we loved the rich breakfast served.

1  Thank nalana
Response from Norbert L, Inhaber at Gasthof zur PostResponded 17 July 2017

Great that you and your Family had a nice stay in St. Gilgen! Thank you for taking time to write about us. Hope to see you again soon.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345617
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room Service
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Babysitting
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
US$ 187 - US$ 278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 187 - US$ 278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
HullGirl246
3 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from adrian50 | Reviewed this property |
There are chairs outside however, they also have a solarium on the top floor with large loungers. This is just beside the Sauna.
0
Votes
HullGirl246
18 December 2017|
Answer
Response from jean m | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I don't know the answer
0
Votes
Room Tips
"One with a balcony"
Read review
"The nicest rooms overlook the Mozart Square are the largest and have large balconies ."
Read review
"Worth paying a little extra for a balcony"
Read review
"Perhaps rooms that are not to the front would be less noisy. Don't book half board."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing