We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

940 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 914: English reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Spent 5 nights there. First 2-bedroom suite was very smelly, poorly vented (one of the bedrooms was not receiving cold air) and noisy. They finally changed our room on day 2 to an acceptable suite. Serviced was uneven depending on attendant (excellent to poor). Courtyard area is plagued with smoke from smokers through which you must walk to get anywhere......

Thank Belmichel
Brittany C, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings from New Orleans Residence Inn! Thank yous so much for staying with us! We do appreciate your feedback and we are hopeful that you were able to enjoy New Orleans and make wonderful memories. We are grateful for your candid feedback and we apologize for any issue that may have been less than exceptional for you. Please allow us...

Harker Heights, Texas, United States
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Room was perfect and clean. Not outdated like a lot of places. Beds were comfortable. Was very nice having the kitchen as well. Staff was very friendly and welcoming of us with our service dog unlike other places we have stayed that do not understand the difference between service dog and a pet. Will definitely stay here again...

Thank Nicki L
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I have to say Ms Greta made my stay one of the best ever! Due to BREAKFAST! Breakfast doesn't start till 6:30am but I had to leave a little early. Passed by the breakfast area for a cup of coffee and Ms Greta made sure I had proper nutrition! Awesome!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

The first thing I noticed was the mildew smell in the bathroom. It was like you forgot about laundry and opened the washer lid after a few days...I smelled the towels and it wasn't them. It was very strong and unappealing. That was problem number one. There were marks on the tile in the shower area...not sure what was leaking...

Thank Jessica F
Brittany C, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings from New Orleans Residence Inn! Thank you so much for spending your week with us while in New Orleans! We are grateful to know that you did enjoy the complimentary, hot breakfast daily and the location of our hotel in the heart of the warehouse district. Thanks for bringing the concerns to our attention in regards to the odor...

San Ramon, California
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Front desk staff friendly, lobby is small but clean. room was nice and clean pretty good size, bathroom clean and no musty smell. Breakfast daily helped a lot. Thank you Greta-Duane and his helpers. I have stayed in many hotels 3+stars - 5 stars and the rooms are the same or smaller. most hotels does not include complimentary breakfast, some...

1Thank CstarA
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

You feel at home from the moment you step in the lobby. The staff is friendly and helpful. You room includes daily breakfast. The chief, Duane Greta, is the best host. The food is fresh and prepared with care, kept replenished, from 6:30 -9:30, great variety for everyone's taste. Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday's are nightly social "mix" perfect "Southern" hospitality.

Thank Eva H
Lyman, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

When we first arrived it was very crowded for some reason but, when we checked in we were informed that there was a family reunion coincidentally from the same state we're from, SC. When we arrived at our first room we became quickly annoyed by the constant dog barking next door so we were moved with no problem. Our second...

Thank Jamal S
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Breakfast in most hotels are ok, but this Residence Inn had the best I've had. The man in charge of the Breakfast room is Duane Greta. He serves a variety of food most places don't serve. He is also super friendly and makes sure you are happy. One day, we went a bit early for breakfast, and he took the...

Thank P3534YLjohnm
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This Residence Inn had a broken bed frame, old worn out mattress and "pilled" sheets. The pillows were worn out polyester. The kitchen was equipped with 1 fork, 2 glasses, no teaspoons when the information states it serves 4. There were 2 water glasses, 2 wine glasses, 2 coffee cups and 2 plates. The cupboard doors were broken and did...

Thank TravelConnoisseurs
Brittany C, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings from New Orleans Residence Inn! It was such a pleasure to have you as our guest and we certainly appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Please be rest assured that our goal is to provide you with a spacious suite with a fully equipped kitchen for your use. I understand how frustrating it can be to not have...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Duane and the kitchen personnel are exceptional! Everyone has been very courteous and hospitable for the entire stay. Breakfast buffet is great. We loved the rooms! We will be staying here everytime we visit New Orleans.

Thank Tiffany L

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (172)
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Bathroom (9)
Room/Suite (49)
View from Room (6)
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Dining (2)
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (32)
Room/Suite (13)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Dining (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Arts District / Warehouse District

Neighbourhood Profile
Arts District / Warehouse District
Once a thriving industrial zone, today this district is home to a buzzing arts scene with an amazing assortment of galleries, boutiques, and studios having moved in and set up shop throughout the disused warehouses for which the area is so well known. Much of the art you'll come across here is local in scope, ownership and inspiration. However, among the many old brick warehouses are modern structures of steel and glass housing large-scale cultural institutions of national prominence such as the National World War II Museum, the Contemporary Arts Center, and the Ogden Museum of Southern Art. Just as eye catching as what’s on view inside the galleries and museums is the chance to see your ship come in at the Julia Street Cruise Terminal, which serves as a wistful reminder of the city’s historic maritime prominence.
Explore this neighbourhood


  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Address: 345 St. Joseph Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Price Range: ₹ 8,490 - ₹ 26,742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
5 days ago
West Brooklyn,IL

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on the 4th floor overlooking the pool and have no complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles kevingJ5045DJ, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a one bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles 194chuckr, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“find out if your room faces the courtyard, which could get noisy depending on the time of year.”
 of 5 bubbles PhiladelphiaJordan, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had two rooms and both were nice. Use the municipal and private parking lots and garages to save a ton of money on parking.”
 of 5 bubbles DanQ838, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As noted above ask for a room on the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles amarilloannie, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5