We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

French Market Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
French Market Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,080 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for French Market Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,040: English reviews
Toronto
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Actually found this place because of Trip Advisor. I was looking g for places to stay and this was definitely within our price point. I couldn't believe the location and affordability. Looked and some pics and reviews and took the plunge. I'm so glad we did. This place is beautiful. Fantastic character as well. The room is a little small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RacingGirl13
Kyla B, Public Relations Manager at French Market Inn, responded to this review

We're happy that you had a great time at the French Market Inn! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our central French Quarter location, affordability, accommodations, and staff service. Thank you for your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back to The Crescent City soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family stayed at the French Market Inn from December 26th to December 30th 2016. A good friend that lives in New Orleans recommended that I stay at the French Market Inn. I can certainly see why he recommended it! The rooms (we had two) were beautiful. Spotlessly clean, well appointed, and oozing with charm. The location could not be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob A
Kyla B, Public Relations Manager at French Market Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bob, thank you for sharing your kind words about your Christmas experience in the New Orleans French Quarter! We appreciate the kind words about our historic hotel, accommodations, location, and staff service. Our staff members are the core of our service, and we're pleased to hear you had a great experience at the French Market Inn. We appreciate your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful, old and well-kept property with a perfect location for seeing and experiencing the French Quarter. Check-in was a little slow and delayed with only one clerk behind the counter and 3 groups waiting. Staff was friendly, apologetic and very courteous. Our room was pristine and really cozy with exposed brick and what seemed to be a brand new bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordana K
Kyla B, Public Relations Manager at French Market Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jordana, thank you for choosing French Market Inn for your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed our location, friendly staff, and accommodations. We do recommend that our guests book directly with us to ensure their room type. Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Big Easy soon.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My spouse and I recently stayed at the French Market Inn in mid-December 2016 and we were really happy with our hotel choice. While our room didn't have any windows (which meant the room was pitch black when the lights were off), we didn't have really any other complaints. The room was small, but manageable as we were only there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4theluvofwine
Kyla B, Public Relations Manager at French Market Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the French Market Inn and taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy that you were pleased with your stay. We appreciate your kind words about our location and are glad you had a great experience at our French Quarter hotel.

Deerfield Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel because it looked nice in pictures and was one of the cheaper rates in the French quarter. The rooms were clean updated and we loved the decor. Pictures of the courtyard don't do it justice. The staff was super friendly, Minnie at the desk in particular. We even decided to stay an extra night which they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hotpinkyswear
Kyla B, Public Relations Manager at French Market Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the French Market Inn. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your kind words about our staff service and accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you for your next New Orleans visit!

Louisiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first visit to the French Quarter Inn and it was a pleasant surprise. We chose the Inn for the location since we were having dinner at Tujaques just down the street and it was a short walk. We had a balcony room which was a nice size and had a shared balcony on the street. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cuzn
Kyla B, Public Relations Manager at French Market Inn, responded to this review

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the French Market Inn. We appreciate your kind words about our staff service, accomodations, and central French Quarter location. We hope to welcome you back to New Orleans soon!

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a wonderful location right across Decatur Street from the Mississippi River and boardwalk, a few blocks off Canal Street, and several blocks away from the chaos of Bourbon Street. We were in room 403 which had two queen beds and faced a mellow side street. Our room was small but had everything we needed, and was very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DJess_11
Kyla B, Public Relations Manager at French Market Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing French Market Inn for your New Orleans visit and for taking the time to share this very informative review. We appreciate the kind comments about our central French Quarter location, accommodations, and staff service—especially your mention of Charlene. Our staff is encouraged to be helpful and share their recommendations with guests, but we apologize if you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the French Market Inn over Christmas week. What a great place to stay. The hotel, located on Decatur, was central to a great many locations in the French Quarter. We enjoyed many strolls there, down the Riverwalk, to the Harrah's Casino, BB Kings Blues Club, etc. I would recommend this place to stay to everyone!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick L
Kyla B, Public Relations Manager at French Market Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback about the French Market Inn, Rick. We look forward to welcoming you to the New Orleans French Quarter for your next visit!

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the main building just above the front desk, and our room was so cute! I loved the beamed ceiling and brick wall behind the bed. This hotel just feels historic and oozes charm throughout the rooms, courtyard, and all the different buildings. It is a bit of a maze though! This hotel is in a convenient, though...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank erin464
Kyla B, Public Relations Manager at French Market Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the French Market Inn, Erin! We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our historic French Quarter hotel. As we are always working to improve the experience of our guests, your feedback is appreicated. Please know that your comments have been shared with our nmanagement team. We look forward to welcoming you back to New Orleans!

Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved it! Can't beat the location! Has character. Just do not get a room beside the elevator. Comfortable bed. The rooms are a little small but you don't need more than it has. Cute patio in the back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Victoria M
Kyla B, Public Relations Manager at French Market Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the French Market Inn, Victoria! We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our historic French Quarter hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

662 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (566)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (155)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (248)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (84)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Standard Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4,058 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4,766 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
3,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
6,594 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
450 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about French Market Inn

Address: 509 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1027
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: ₹ 7,100 - ₹ 23,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — French Market Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your French Market Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Market Hotel New Orleans
Historic French Market Hotel
Hotel Historic French Market
Historic French Market Inn
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from French Market Inn staff and other travellers.
70 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
Karachi, Pakistan

See all questions (70)

Questions? Get answers from French Market Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“any room is a great room here”
 of 5 bubbles breakfastboy, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request an interior room (windowless) away from the elevator and on the highest floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JessicaM348, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Window rooms are much bigger”
 of 5 bubbles Dfloyo, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a room with a balcony facing the courtyard. It was fantastic!”
 of 5 bubbles boba507, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with a window or other natural light”
 of 5 bubbles jordanak598, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay