We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gentry House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gentry House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gentry House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Four of us stayed in Saint Louis apartment and the place could even fit more, at least one person or a couple (we were two couples staying there so one bed was empty). Brian and Charlotte both welcomed us as soon as we got there, showed us around. We were pleasantly surprised how spacious it is and everything looked much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anam_vu
Largo, Florida
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My three friends and I stayed in the St. Louis room this past weekend (8/2/13-8/5/13) and I have to say, the experience was amazing! You can't beat the price for the location (just blocks from Bourbon St!), plus you get a fully-functional kitchen and delicious croissants delivered every morning. I would HIGHLY recommend this for anyone traveling to NOLA in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica A
Bowling Green, KY, United States
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in the Toulouse #3 apartment and found it changed the entire NOLA experience for us. It felt as if we actually were living in the Quarter. The owners were perfectly lovely and helpful and even brought breakfast pastries each morning. The Toulouse apartment is cozy, but you must be able to negotiate the steps to get into it....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jack M
Fountain Valley, California
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at The Gentry House July 5 - July 10 2013. It was perfect location. We stayed in the largest of the rooms - The St. Ann - It was roomy and the temperature of the rooms was excellent. The croissants each morning was lovely. My only complaint is the beds were not very comfortable. The queen bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KellyLininger
GentryHouse, Owner at Gentry House, responded to this review

We really enjoyed having them as guests, and the opportunity to share with them our enthusiasm for New Orleans ... even in July. We sure wish that one mattress would do for all ... we chose "hard" because that's what most seem to find most comfortable (at least judging from the comments we get), and because it's what we use...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 30 June 2013

It was cozy, in the perfect location, and it felt like old New Orleans! Loved the fresh croissants in the morning, and the little courtyard. It was in walking distance of everything in the French Quarter. I loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lcjeffery
St. Paul, MN
Reviewed 23 June 2013

It was several years ago now that a group of us rented this place (TripAdvisor won't allow me to choose a date that's more than a year in the past..but it was more like 3 years ago.) We felt at home and really enjoyed our entire stay. Great location. Great price. Great croissants in the morning. A lovely courtyard. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grinchers
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Visited New Orleans for the first time, and stayed at the Gentry House so we could be in the French Quarter. Brian was a wonderful host with many tips and of course hot croissants in the morning. Courtyard is attractive and staying in a 150+ year old building was great. If you are driving you will have to park a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margot S
New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I managed to get a reservation here during a fairly busy week when most other places seemed booked up for a holiday and several conferences. I'm so glad I came! My boyfriend and I stayed in both the Toulouse and the St. Louis suites, which are almost identical. The price is quite reasonable compared to some other hotels and B&Bs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank threestudies
Tyler, Texas
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Our host Brian greeted us as arranged. The suite, St Anns, was as descibed with 4 beds, Clean clean. Angel was great ,giving beads to the little one. Lovely courtyard. These are historical buildings. The croisants were fresh,plentiful and delicious. Location is an easy walk to jackson Square. Perfect for family.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Felschurch
Winnipeg
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at this lovely all suite B&B in the French Quarter for four nights right after Mardi Gras in February, 2013. Our private entrance was off the courtyard garden which I'm sure would be very pretty in the summer. The hosts, Brian & Charlotte, were very pleasant & helpful. Charlotte delivered fresh yummy croissants to us every morning which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandi F

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#35 of 162 in New Orleans
477 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
450 reviews
French Quarter
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
#138 of 162 in New Orleans
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#96 of 162 in New Orleans
437 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
1,166 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#32 of 139 in New Orleans
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning

Additional Information about Gentry House

Address: 1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gentry House Hotel New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gentry House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
cheyenne
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Gentry House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to the gated area of the address; we rang the doorbell of the facility next door by accident!”
 of 5 bubbles topshelfmischief, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“No need for transportation. Owers happy to setup tours and/or cabs.”
 of 5 bubbles jevette, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The St louis has one one AC that cools the entire unit so keep the bedroom doors open to cool off the room.”
 of 5 bubbles BonieryB, 13 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Just take a look on their website and ask them if you have any questions. Toulouse sleeps up to six but only has 1 bedroom, so it's good for families/good friends. It was nice that it's on the top floor too.”
 of 5 bubbles N5968LPsarahs, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the #2 apt and it could sleep up to 5 or even 6. Just remember there is only 1 bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles janiceAlberta, 9 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5